We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”
Review of Union Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Union Creek Resort
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We booked to stay here early-mid November for 2 nights. We booked a small room and were happily surprised when they upgraded us to a self-sufficient cabin. It was a great free standing cabin with a queen size bed, full fridge, oven with stove and microwave. Don't expect a TV-There is too much to do outside! Crater Lake was about 30-40 mins drive away. Be prepared. It can be a very icy and snowy drive. You need to carry chains. There is also some great hiking around. 2 of the 3 staff we met were extremely friendly and very informative. It is not the typical 'resort' you may think when you hear the word. No swimming pool etc, but when you have been driving all day, it is a paradise.

Room Tip: If you have the cash, the cabins are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cat a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 545 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2013

Crater Lake's web site didn't really make it clear that their lodge was closed for the season, so I ended up in the middle of nowhere with no hotel one evening. So my choices were limited, but I was pleasantly surprised by the lodge rooms with shared bathrooms located above the general store. The staff was helpful and friendly, the store had camping-style provisions for dinner and breakfast, so everything worked out great. This was November, and the heater barely kept up, so perhaps not the best choice for winter. The bed was comfortable, the shared bathroom was clean, and there was a sink and a small seating area by the window. I am not sure the lodge would be too quiet with a bunch of people up there, but it was fine with only three rooms occupied. If you have stayed in pensions in Europe, this place feels just like that, but with the woodsy/pine walls feel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erk42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

The owners are so friendly! This place is just like camping and is near hiking areas and just outside of Crater Lake. A small store has all your last minute items and if you decide you don't want to cook, a restaurant is right across the road! Recommend!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank YearoftheRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We no longer want to pitch a tent, nor do we want to haul an RV. The answer is to rent a cottage at Union Creek Resort. Yes, it is quiet and rustic. No phone service, very limited Internet and limited supplies. But this is what camping is all about,right? We stayed in cabin #7 which has 2 bedrooms and a huge kitchen and bathroom. Behind the cabin is a firepit so that you can make your own fire and roast marshmellows. Great hiking within walking distance and of course, Crater Lake is nearby. Awesome management. There is a restaurant there, but we brought all our own food. Very reasonably priced and available. There is no TV (you can rent one if you want), no room service, swimming pool or spa. But you are snug as a bug in your cabin and surrounded by wilderness and the great outdoors. A perfect get away! Leave your cell phone, curling iron and computers at home. Bring your hiking boots, fishing poles, camping food and a good book.

Room Tip: Check out pics on web site to help you figure out what cabin you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nurseop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Cabin 7 has a beautiful bathroom and comfy beds. I wish we would have stayed here another night instead of springing for a night at crater lake lodge. It's better than 'rustic', and a fire pit, stream view and great restaurant across the street are all perks. Don't miss the natural bridge down the road. Breathtaking views with just a few minutes down a paved path.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We made our reservation driving enroute to Crater Lake, and felt lucky to get a room. The lady on the phone (and in person once we arrived) was helpful and accommodating. We stayed in duplex-cabin 15 which, if you were to remove the 'rustic' log 4-post bed, the room would be dumpy (they should just throw out the carpet though). Things were clean, they were just worn out & tired. Other than that, the place served its purpose - a place to ride our bikes into the park, around Crater Lake and back. The lady at the desk was kind enough to let us park our truck all day, on site, after check-out while we were out riding.
Though we did not indulge, we heard good things about the restaurant and ice cream shop right across the road.
Considering the location, we had no problem with the price, and we would stay there again.

Room Tip: The cabins are of various sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

we had a large group and the resort has 9 single rooms w/ 2 shared baths above the store.
They also allow the guest to use the kitchen, Billiards- eating area, another bath and living room. We never did ask to use the billiards equipment or borrow the games. T he roomsare dated but the price was fair.
There are stone fire pits and Union Creek runs right next to the property- So bring some firewood.
A good place to walk out the door and explore amazing nature. Lots a tent camping right across the street.
The baths are adequate, the beds are ok- just not very plush, the carpet is old but it didn't smell- but it was the first week of Sept so all the windows were wide open.
I did not eat at Beckies across the street but some did and they said it was great.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travlin-momma01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Union Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Creek Resort

Address: 56484 Ore. 62, Prospect, OR 97536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Prospect
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Prospect
Price Range: $62 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s a resort that hearkens back to a simpler era. We call it rustic comfort; similar to what you would find in the 1920s when it was first built, but now with modern conveniences and charm. You won’t find golf courses, spa services, or salons. But you will find a well-appointed, authentic lodge set amongst towering Douglas Firs in the Rogue River National Forest. It’s an ideal location to experience Oregon’s great outdoors in a simple, yet comfortably updated resort.All around is the smell of pine needles and the sounds of birds and rushing creek waters. The stunning natural setting includes distinctive Union Creek and the Wild & Scenic Rogue River, hiking trails amongst spectacular 700-year-old Douglas Firs in old growth forests, and nearby Crater Lake National Park – truly a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Union Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Creek Hotel Prospect

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing