We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in the woods near Crater Lake and waterfalls”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Union Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Union Creek Resort
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location in the woods near Crater Lake and waterfalls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2011

If you are travelling to Crater Lake and want a peaceful and convenient location to explore the area, this is a great find. There is a charming restaurant just across the street, Beckie's, with good food and great pies. I stayed in Rm #6 which is new but feels rustic. Very nicely decorated. King bed, full kitchen and a fireplace. Rm #21 overlooks Union Creek and will be my choice next time. I spent an extra day to explore the waterfalls of the area. The resort offers detailed info about how to get to all the nearby waterfalls and sites along the Rogue River. Justice was the manager on site the day I checked in and he was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilyn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    190
    78
    36
    46
See reviews for
180
190
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington,DC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

Absolutely wonderful experience. We almost stayed at Prospect House B&B but luckily for us there was no one around and the place was locked up. No one answered the "emergency" phone there and the number listed on the door was just for messages. That left us with the only other alternative for miles around, Union Creek. What a gem! We had cabin 6, a renovated unit with a huge king sized bed, enormous tiled shower and a little kitchen area. Justice, who checked us in and then out again the following moring was so welcoming to weary travellers. He really made you feel as if you were wanted. He left us the emergency contact number, lit the gas fireplace for us and generally was the kind of staff member seldom found. He too is a gem. Thanks to Fred at Prospect House for not calling back while we had cell service, which by the way is spotty in the mountains. We would not have though to stay here. Apparently there are new owners since some of the reviews on other sites and it really seems to have made a difference. Comfortable bed and room and Beckie's restaurant across the road is great for a filling breakfast in the morning with pleasant service. Thanks again folks, we loved it. I don't normally give 5s across the board but there was nothing wrong with the place or the service

Room Tip: Pick a cabin. Romantic and private. Great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

My husband and I just got home from union creek. We had an amazing time. The staff was very welcoming and warm. When we got there they gave us a free upgrade. Our room was beautiful to say the least. It had bunk beds and a daybed with trundle. Our room had a queen bed. A full size kitchen with pots, pans, baking sheets, silverware. Everything you need for a home away from home. The bathroom was very large with a large shower. My husband and I are already planning our trip back with the kids. There are in the process of remodling some of the cabins. There is no TV or Internet or cell service which we loved. Thank you Union Creek!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelleyboothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed in the lodge for our anniversary. It was very nice. The room was small but so cozy. No phone or TV, perfect for one on one time. There was a fridge, microwave, coffee pot, table and a sink. You did have to share a bathroom. One for men and one for women. They were remodeled very clean and simple. The entire place was very clean. They are remodeling the cabins and they are incredible. 4 to 5 * quality. The staff was there to take care of our every need. They built us a fire in the fireplace in the rec. room. We played pool and Foosball. The fireside room (that's what I call it) was clean, and inviting. We ended up playing cards with another couple that was staying there. The scenery was breath taking. The creek with snow all around it. We were even offered a bottle of wine because of it being our anniversary. The new owners are dedicated to taking care of this historic building and it's surrounding cabins. Very friendly and kind people.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queensusie1227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

We took a trip to Union Creek Resort last summer and cannot wait until we can return for another stay! When you live in a concrete jungle like Dallas, Texas, you can really appreciate a place with so much beauty! Our large cabin was comfortable and had a complete kitchen with pots, pans, utensils, plates, glasses, etc. Outside our cabin was a firepit and plenty of wood to burn. We sat around a fire every night and listened to the rushing water of the creek, the wind rustling through the trees and the sounds of the wildlife. During the day, we hiked the trails along the breathtaking beauty of the Rogue River Gorge and explored the forest all around Union Creek. One day, we drove up to see the picture perfect Crater Lake which was only about 30 minutes from Union Creek Resort. During the evening we gathered at the Lodge in the den where there is a large rock fireplace and plenty of books, board games, pool table, and other activities. The Lodge also has a general store where you can get most anything you would need such as a toothbrush, medicine, snacks, or souvenirs. Across the street from the Lodge is Beckie's Cafe where you get huge portions of delicious food and a choice of about 12 different fantastic homemade pies. They also have the most delectable homemade cinnamon rolls we have ever tasted! We found the staff and owners to very friendly and helpful. This was a wonderful vacation for us and our kids because we had a break from our fast-paced schedules and technology and got to relax and enjoy nature!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeltaDawn61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2010

This our second stay in cabin 21. The cabin is right next to the creek and you can hear the water rushing by. Spending a couple of nights at Union Creek has been a Christmas tradition for 20 years. The new owners, Kent and Sandy are gracious hosts, very friendly and willing to accomodate our needs. The entire staff was very helpful and friendly. We can hardly wait until our next stay there. Pat and Bob

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wikdcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2010

This resort has old rustic cabins retaining there original flavor set among beautiful trees and streams of rushing water. It also has some of the best food to be found at Beckies Restaurant. Pies and cinnamon rolls out of this world. The staff was very accommodating. During our stay, we took several hikes and were amazed at the beauty of the Rogue river only a short distance from our cabin. We found there is nothing quite like the peace and quiet of the forest of great pines surrounding Union Creek Resort. For us Flatland west Texans, this was a refreshing change and we look forward to going back again. Texans, Anna & N.L.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skippybuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prospect
15.3 mi away
Crater Lake Lodge
Crater Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crater Lake National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
51.2 mi away
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Crescent Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
11.1 mi away
Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Union Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Union Creek Resort

Property: Union Creek Resort
Address: 56484 Ore. 62, Prospect, OR 97536
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Prospect
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Prospect
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Union Creek Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s a resort that hearkens back to a simpler era. We call it rustic comfort; similar to what you would find in the 1920s when it was first built, but now with modern conveniences and charm. You won’t find golf courses, spa services, or salons. But you will find a well-appointed, authentic lodge set amongst towering Douglas Firs in the Rogue River National Forest. It’s an ideal location to experience Oregon’s great outdoors in a simple, yet comfortably updated resort.All around is the smell of pine needles and the sounds of birds and rushing creek waters. The stunning natural setting includes distinctive Union Creek and the Wild & Scenic Rogue River, hiking trails amongst spectacular 700-year-old Douglas Firs in old growth forests, and nearby Crater Lake National Park – truly a must-see destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Union Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Union Creek Hotel Prospect

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing