We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in the wilderness and motorcycle friendly!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House
Ranked #1 of 1 Prospect B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Oasis in the wilderness and motorcycle friendly!”
Reviewed June 22, 2009

Myself and some friends were out on our annual motorcycle trip around No Cal/So OR, typically 1100-1400 miles. We stayed at the Prospect Inn as a staging point for a morning ride up to Crater Lake the next morning. It was terrific! We have stayed in all sorts of places in The-Middle-of-Nowhere and this place is truly a gem. It started before we arrived as I made reservations - as Fred is a fellow motorcycle rider, he offered advice on what to expect in weather and roads. When we arrived, after a day of thunderstorms and hail, we were quite late for our dinner reservation but no problem. Fred told us to get a hot shower (more than plenty of very hot water by the way!), and come on over for dinner when we were ready. And what a dinner it was - great food, great beer, and a great wine list. I live in the Sonoma/Napa area and am a member of 5 wine clubs and I can say that Fred has assembled a fine wine list at very reasonable prices. All done in a very well appointed, but not stuffy, dining room. Breakfast the next morning was great too. Fred's wife is a chef and clearly a very accomplished one.

We stayed in the motel section, which was very clean and plenty roomy, so that we could have the bike's right out front for loading and unloading (another suggestion of Fred's). As an added attraction, there is a low-key neighborhood pub a few minutes walk away to drink a beer and tell some lies about the day's adventures.

Prospect isn't much more than a wide spot in the woods about 30-40 minutes from Crater Lake. But between the Inn and the pub, it has everything you could need for a short stay. We will definitely stay here again if we're in the area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twistandsh0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    119
    47
    23
    11
See reviews for
64
174
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

The people were super and almost too friendly and helpful. The Inn looked charming but we stayed in the motel. It was clean but kind of stingily supplied, with many printed notes admonishing correct care of things and behavior. Ice available only after a trip back to the Inn. Old coffee still in the pot and no new supplies. A few wire hangers.

The restaurant is separately owned, and very pretty and pink! Lots of silk flowers and antique looking furnishings. The menu was pretty much price fixed except for the steaks, and the food was like the room, overly gussied up. Good choice of wines by the glass and bottle. Perhaps, guests could do better in the Trophy Room in the next block. I am sure the food is probably very ordinary but the atmosphere more likely to be real. We had breakfast there and enjoyed the place. I'd recommend looking at the menus in both places before deciding, if the Dinner Place is not too busy to take a chance of going hungry. I am told that the Inn and Motel are quite full in the summer months. There were no guests in the Inn when we were there for the one night, and the motel about a third full.
The grounds are interesting with big specimen trees, a trout pond and other things, and there are hikes to water fall right nearby. It was another experience for us, but I am negative on the place largely due to the bed being so darn hard! Had to take something to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlanneNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

We'd recommend the motel as a good place to stay for Crater Lake, especially if, like us, you're too late to book a place any nearer.

We stayed 3 nights at the motel. Our unit was two rooms, plus bathroom. Both rooms had two beds - double beds in the larger room and single beds in the smaller. The front door opened directly into the larger room, the other room and bathroom opening off that. In the larger room were a TV, a fridge and a very basic cooker. There were no chairs to sit on while eating; in fact we couldn't even watch TV without lounging on the beds.

The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. No problems with noise. We had two meals in the hotel restaurant - breakfast and supper; both were excellent. The rest of our meals we prepared in our room. There's a useful village store along the street. There are good easy walks, straight from the hotel. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The hotel grounds are attractive.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Furniture & facilities in rooms
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Opinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Outside the W.J. Bryan room are two large air conditioning units and the groaning compressor for the kitchen's cooler. Beneath the room is the kitchen. During the "busy season" expect no sleep except between 1:00 am and 5:30 am. The small ( about 8x10 ) room should not be rented when the kitchen runs extended hours to serve the busy summer season.
We suffered through one night and canceled the second for which we were scheduled. Quaint and folksy aren't substitutes for a night's sleep.

Sleepless

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank Leonwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOInnKeeper, Manager at Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House, responded to this review, November 13, 2008
The 120 year old Nationally Registered Prospect Historic Hotel is just exactly that – Historic. People were smaller then and so were rooms when it was built. During the complete restoration, 20 years ago, private bathrooms were installed for all 10 rooms. Consequently some rooms were affected. Fortunately during the restoration double pane glass (which reduces noise and heat loss) and central heat and air conditioning were installed. Air conditioning units have to be placed somewhere, and none of them are ever perfectly quiet. With one’s window open you may hear them. If one is a particularly light sleeper this might be annoying.
In July we had a total of 25 (out of 31 possible) nights where the W.J. Bryan room was occupied (it was full most nights all season). Many guests stay one night with us on their journey to Crater Lake. Those wishing to explore our wonderful area spend multiple nights. In July we had 4 couples spend 2 nights and one couple spent 3 nights in the same room. NONE of the other 24 couple expressed any complaints about the noise or the size of the room. None of the 27 couples in the room right next door expressed any issues either!
We run a fine but relaxed dining DinnerHouse on the first floor of the Hotel. Seating stops at 9:00pm with quiet time in the kitchen from 10:00pm on. However it is not possible to be completely silent. Our full breakfast is served from 7:30am to 9:30am. Breakfast cooks start prep no earlier than 6-6:30am. They too maintain a quiet time! Some guests are more sensitive to noise than others. We inform those room guests at check in that there may be some noise during the operating hours.
When this guest expressed his dissatisfaction with our accommodations we pleasantly refunded his next night’s stay. We are sorry that it was not to his liking. For whatever it is worth, it must be noted that this reviewer waited 3 months after his stay and has contributed a total of ONE review on any establishment. However, “you cannot please all the people all of the time”. We try, but once in a while we fail. 24 other couples (48 guests) in the month of July alone had a pleasant stay in this room.

As he said, we are “Quaint and folksy”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2008

Stayed for 2 nights so we could go to the Crater Lake National Park. We were in the Roosevelt room, with our own little deck area and a seperate bathroom down the hall.
Service and accommodation were excellent and the home made cookies superb! Food was good and easily catered for vegetarians.
Only negative was the noise from the traffic outside which seemed to get going at about 5am - whether this was because of the number of fire-fighters in the area or not? If the cars in the US didn't all sound like articulated trucks I am sure it would have been a lot better.

  • Liked — location near Crater lake
  • Disliked — noise from traffic
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rizur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Stayed at the motel as we were traveling with our son. We did take a tour of the B & B and were able to peek in the rooms not occupied. Lots of antiques. The staff are all friendly and helpful. Went out of their way to make sure my son had an internet connection. Dinner at the B & B was great and the surrounding falls and trails were beautiful and peaceful. Around a 30 minute drive from the entrance of crater lake.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rehmy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We booked the last motel room with a weeks notice because of it's convenience to Crater Lake National Park, about 30 miles away. The motel is located behind the Hotel, B&B in the quiet, no traffic light, town with the same name.
Our checkin, with Lisa, was smooth and informative. Lisa, if she had more time, could be an excellent area tour guide, she was that helpful. Our meals, dinner and breakfast (both require reservations and breakfast is prepaid) were excellent and dinner is popular with the locals wanting more than burgers and fries.
Our room, #15 ,was a very clean two bed room with one queen and two single beds. All three beds had very firm mattresses. The air conditioner/heating unit was independently controlled and the bar sized refrigerator was appreciated. The tub/shower had a hand held shower head in addition to the standard shower head. The linens were of the standard quality.
The accommodations, convenience to Crater Lake and on-site breakfast and dinner made this a worthwile choice for in season rate of $90 not including the dinner (less that $50 for two) and breakfast ($12pp).

Stayed August 2008
Helpful?
Thank RoamingToes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prospect
19.0 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#2 of 3 in Shady Cove
140 reviews
19.7 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#1 of 3 in Shady Cove
200 reviews
11.1 mi away
Union Creek Resort
Union Creek Resort
#1 of 4 in Prospect
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House

Property: Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House
Address: 391 Mill Creek Dr, PO Box 50, Prospect, OR 97536-9756
Location: United States > Oregon > Prospect
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Prospect
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crater Lake National Park's closest full-service town is showcased by the nationally registered Prospect Historic Hotel-Motel and Dinner House. The Historic Hotel is a ten-room Bed and Breakfast Inn with private baths and beautiful quilts on every bed. Hearty, full, breakfasts greet you in the morning. Take a short stroll to the Rogue River and three water falls. Situated for Hiking, Biking, Rafting, Fishing, Boating, Birding, Hunting, Cross Country Skiing or Snowshoeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing