We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet, restful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House
Ranked #1 of 1 Prospect B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Discovered this property online and would like to highly recommend for anyone looking to stay in a quiet B & B. Very helpful staff, excellent breakfast. Rooms are small, but quiet and nice to have your own private bathroom. Very convenient to visiting Crater Lake.
Will definitely recommend to friends and would love to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debskalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 321 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stopped for the night nice clean room , had a wonderful supper . The staff were amazing for the short time we were there , I plan on going back soon . I was very impressed, ask my wife that's hard to do :).

Stayed: July 2013
Thank Travis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband, niece & I stayed in the motel for 2 nights. It was very clean with comfortable beds. We loved the quiet, and the pretty grounds. The staff, from the receptionist to housekeeping, were welcoming, smiley, and so accommodating! We were in the area to visit Crater Lake & planned lots of hiking, & the staff made us wonderful sack lunches to carry along upon our request. It was such a great & delicious convenience! We were not especially impressed with our meal in the dinner house, but the service was good.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Deedaree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was the first place we stopped on our first long vacation with our dog, and what a nice welcome she received. There is a huge lawn for dogs to run around and do their biz, plus the nice doggy welcome bag she received upon checkin. The locale is beautiful with several charming waterfall hikes nearby. We stayed here while visiting Crater Lake, it is the closest place southwest of the national park. The restaurant was understaffed but the food was good, with several good local wines on the list. The bed and breakfast house is furnished in a sweet B&B oldfashioned way, plastic plants could have been omitted though. Some of the best features are the beautiful wrap around porch, free wifi and friendly, helpful staff. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Hello folks, I stayed only one night at the Prospect Hotel - last november. I was very happy with one of the cheaper motel rooms in the back. Everything was clean and I felt very safe and secure. I had dinner in the impressive looking restaurant in the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the prime rib I had was just awesome. After dinner I enjoyed a nice chat with the owners.
Overall I was very happy with that place. Well its not exactly cheap but it was the only available accomodation close to the Crater Lake back then - so it was a no brainer. I would definately come here again!.


Thomas Roemhild

from
Erfurt, Germany

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank soulseeker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great hosts and staff from greeting to some very helpful touring tips around the area. Close enough as stopping point for visit to Crater Lake (approx. 30 minutes by car). Hotel rooms, which we chose (Frances Pearson room) involve stairs, the all ground floor motel units (in which our friends stayed) is a good alternative if carrying bags up stairs is a problem. Hotel rooms are nicely decorated but very limited clothes hanging space in our room. Not all hotel rooms have their own ensuite (ours did), so choose carefully. We had a lovely sleep with no disturbance in this very peaceful rural environment. Evening meal in the hotel restaurant was most enjoyable and a lovely setting. Has full bar service which includes choice of local beer and wine with solid menu choice. If staying in the hotel, your tariff includes breakfast, it is extra if staying in the motel. Breakfast was very filling with mix of hot and cold served to your table in dining room. Glad we had the opportunity to enjoy this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were traveling with friends who wanted a nice place to stay outside Crater Lake, having stayed at the Prospect Hotel on previous trips, I recommended it. We decided to stay in the motel section so we did not have to carry our gear into and up the stairs in the historic hotel section. The motel rooms were spacious, clean and quiet. One of the best reasons to stay here is the dinner house, wonderful food and good wine list, the grounds are also beautiful with large flowering plants and trees with lots of shade. Small town but has everything you need for a nice relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitbuell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prospect
19.0 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#2 of 3 in Shady Cove
147 reviews
19.7 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#1 of 3 in Shady Cove
214 reviews
11.1 mi away
Union Creek Resort
Union Creek Resort
#1 of 4 in Prospect
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Crater Lake Lodge
Crater Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crater Lake National Park
938 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House

Address: 391 Mill Creek Dr, PO Box 50, Prospect, OR 97536-9756
Location: United States > Oregon > Prospect
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Prospect
Price Range: $118 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crater Lake National Park's closest full-service town is showcased by the nationally registered Prospect Historic Hotel-Motel and Dinner House. The Historic Hotel is a ten-room Bed and Breakfast Inn with private baths and beautiful quilts on every bed. Hearty, full, breakfasts greet you in the morning. Take a short stroll to the Rogue River and three water falls. Situated for Hiking, Biking, Rafting, Fishing, Boating, Birding, Hunting, Cross Country Skiing or Snowshoeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing