We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“motel ok, except bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House
Ranked #1 of 1 Prospect B&B and Inns
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“motel ok, except bed”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed in room #4 of the motel (one that has been recommended by others). The room was clean and fairly spacious...a nice, basic room. We had dinner in the dining room, which we really enjoyed...the food was delicious and they have a nice wine list. Everything was just fine until we went to bed. I had read that the beds are "firm", which was a positive to me, as I have a bad back and usually think the firmer, the better. This bed was not firm, it was hard! It was like sleeping on concrete, except you could feel the metal springs...terribly uncomfortable. When the desk clerk asked me about our stay, I mentioned that the bed was way too firm and she laughed!
The staff was friendly...we did not meet the owners. I would like to give a higher rating, but the awful bed makes that impossible. Note--breakfast is not included with the motel rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripplanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    110
    39
    22
    10
See reviews for
61
155
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Finger Lakes, New York
Level Contributor
278 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed one night in this historic hotel that's been brought back from shambles & turned into a combination B&B/motel/dinner house approximately 40 miles from Crater Lake, OR.

We stayed in the main building, and YES, the rooms are small and not fitted out with modern amenities (TV, hair dryers, etc.), although these things could be requested. You've got to be looking forward to staying in an old-but-updated coach stop to enjoy the experience. If you've got lots of kids, or lots of gear (no closets in our room), consider the motel component of the property.

Long, steep stairs lead from the front entry to the 2nd floor rooms. We pruned our overnight bags to what we needed, since we didn't want to schlep large duffels up those stairs. Take the hint if you stay in the main building. Comfortable queen bed, sloping ceiling, not a lot of room, but we knew what we'd reserved. Unlike other reviews from those travelers who must not have paid close attention when they considered this hotel, it was a completely okay experience for us.

There are not a lot of dining options in metro Prospect, so we had their in-house dinner. Just better than average, and just slightly overpriced for what we got. But the ambience was acceptable, the food was well-prepared, the wines were thoughtfully chosen, and it was a fine experience. The alternative is the diner up the road to the left, or a significant drive to any alternative.

Choose the Prospect Historic Hotel wisely. If it's what you want to experience, you'll enjoy it. If you still think you're in the big city & expect chain hotel amenities, you'll join the small-but-noisy chorus of complainers about the place.

If we could rate it a 3.5, we would; temper the "4" rating with our comments.

Room Tip: Main house for the experience; motel annex for modern amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westlakeroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel is a historic hotel that has been turned into a gorgeous B&B with a motel at the back. We stayed at the B&B which is lovely. The rooms are small but beautifully decorated. We chose this place because we wanted to go to Crater Lake which was about 30-35 miles away. That worked perfectly for us. There is an attached restaurant which made eating dinner easy after a day of hiking. Also, breakfast was served there.The staff was very friendly and helpful and suggested waterfalls closeby to hike. A special treat was cookies in the late afternoon- big and delicious! In the common area there was hot tea, hot chocolate, and coffee. The staff was eager to make sure that these were always available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan35057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Great alternative if not able to stay at Crater Lake Lodge. Its definitely away from the National Park so be sure to plan your travels to start or end the day here as it was about an hour drive. The Inn had a great staff, clean rooms and lots of history. Loved all the seating on the front porch for a relaxing way to end & start the day. Stayed in Roosevelt room as we thought Roosevelt actually stayed in that room- still not sure if that was the case or not. Probably would reco a room with an attached bathroom vs. history ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACouplefromCMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, nc
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Agree with all of Ronald's comments, "Lovely Facility, Tiny Room. The setting is beautiful, room clean and this a good second choice if the Crater Lake Lodge no longer has reservations. Breakfast was included but, timing may be an issue depending on your travel plans or time zone. Restaurant is pretty good with limited wine menu.
A bit pricey for a very tiny room, no closet or place to set items as the effects of the famous named person that each room is named after is on all available surfaces. Bring your own hair dryer as there is not one provided in the rooms. Noise is loud as the rooms are close to the stairway and you wake up with the first person up and stay awake until the porch group goes to bed.
Didn't see the motel rooms but, that could be an option (again, need a hair dryer as I saw a women with kids all with wet hair) for families.
For the lack of amenities, space, cost and noise have to give it 3 stars but, if none of these are issues.....could be a four star location.

Room Tip: Upper floor or motel might be bigger and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wharfsuggestion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I really feel guilty giving this place only an "average" rating. The setting and the historic hotel were lovely, the staff was super-friendly, the room was clean, and the restaurant was really quite good, both for the (included) breakfast and for dinner. Indeed, were we ever in the vicinity again, we would no doubt stay there again. However, we would ask for a room in the adjacent motel rather than in the historic hotel.

We simply needed (much) more space, particularly since we were on a long trip with lots of gear. Perhaps some of the other rooms in the hotel were larger, but ours barely gave us sleeping space once we stashed our luggage around the walls. Another issue was that we had no control over the temperature in our room (not surprising for an historic structure) with the result that, despite the warm weather, we were frozen in our room when the air conditioning was on. Perhaps that was preferable to no air-conditioning (which is often the case in antique facilities), but we were nonetheless frozen. Before we left, I got a glance at one of the motel rooms. It actually looked quite nice. It was roomy, and it had its own air-conditioning unit. We would have been much happier there.

I realize that many travelers are drawn to antique facilities, particularly those with interesting histories. And, others simply have no problem with tight quarters. For those folks, the Prospect Hotel could easily rate five stars. Alas, for us the lack of room space detracted a great deal from the overall experience.

Room Tip: If you love historic inns, stay in the hotel, but if you want space, ask for the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our two night stay was very enjoyable. We knew ahead of time that the rooms were small, so we expected that we would not have much room. But our bed( London room) was comfortable--that was important. Breakfast was delicious--one morning we ate hazelnut huckleberry pancakes and the second morning it was an egg souffle. Both came with fresh fruit, OJ, good coffee, and either an egg or hash browns. Our hostess was very helpful in telling us about nearby hikes and waterfalls.

Room Tip: Check there website to view the rooms. We saw one room which did not have a bath. You had to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prospect
19.0 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#2 of 3 in Shady Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
11.1 mi away
Union Creek Resort
Union Creek Resort
#1 of 4 in Prospect
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
20.8 mi away
Crater Lake Lodge
Crater Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crater Lake National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#1 of 3 in Shady Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
62.1 mi away
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Crescent Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House

Property: Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House
Address: 391 Mill Creek Dr, PO Box 50, Prospect, OR 97536-9756
Location: United States > Oregon > Prospect
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Prospect
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crater Lake National Park's closest full-service town is showcased by the nationally registered Prospect Historic Hotel-Motel and Dinner House. The Historic Hotel is a ten-room Bed and Breakfast Inn with private baths and beautiful quilts on every bed. Hearty, full, breakfasts greet you in the morning. Take a short stroll to the Rogue River and three water falls. Situated for Hiking, Biking, Rafting, Fishing, Boating, Birding, Hunting, Cross Country Skiing or Snowshoeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Travelocity so you can book your Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing