We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House
Ranked #1 of 1 Prospect B&B and Inns
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Nice Stay”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay in Prospect.

Location: This is a great place to stay just outside Crater Lake. Make sure to make a stop at the Rogue River Gorge if you stay here. There is also a nice waterfall walk right behind the hotel.

Price: We had to pay for a larger room because all the smaller rooms were booked. Still, the price was not bad. Dinner and Breakfast are excellent but a bit pricey. Not sure the hotel should be classifed as a B&B because breakfast is not included.

Service: Extremely friendly and helpful front desk personnel.

Room: Very spacious and comfortable. Sink and mirror outside bathroom is a plus.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaelynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    110
    40
    22
    10
See reviews for
61
156
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay. It is a beautiful place in a very odd town. It is roughly 30 miles from the west entrance to Crater Lake NP. Our room, Boothby, was clean and cozy. The bed takes up a lot of the room, there is a small chair in one corner and a sink in the other. The bathroom is a shower and toilet, no tub.

One of the best features of the house is the wrap around porch. A nice place to hang out with drink and read or chat with other guests. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was good. Not the best restaurant I had eaten ate, but good. I hear it is the best restaurant in town.

The hotel grounds were nicely kept.

Recommend the place for folks coming to/from Crater Lake. Be aware though that the town is virtually non-existant.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 50StatesBy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hill, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

This hotel was perfectly located for us. We left Bend in the morning, saw Crater Lake, and continued on to the Prospect Hotel. Fortunately for us, the Crater Lake Lodge was full, otherwise we would have missed this most enjoyable experience.

I could see how people expecting the most modern hotel accommodations might be somewhat disappointed, but the rooms are attractive, the bed was comfortable, and the shower entirely adequate. It is true that the rooms are small, but we had lots of luggage, and space was sufficient. We stayed in the Pearson room.

Karen and Fred were very friendly during our three day stay. They and their staff also run a fine restaurant, and I understand that Karen is the cook. The complimentary breakfast is the same for everyone, but changes each day. We enjoyed it each time. We also had dinner there each day, and found our various menu choices to always be very well prepared. Make sure you bring a good appetite to dinner, because there would be an additional charge to order one meal and split it.

The owners have done the traveling community a real favor by restoring this hotel. They have also done the small town of Prospect a real favor as they provide employment to a considerable number of its residents. The staff we encountered were also very friendly and helpful.

Oh, I almost forgot the excellent home baked cookies provided to guests each day.

Tony and Susie

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Stayed in the VERY small Grieve Room one night for $140. We must have had the original Grieve double bed - very uncomfortable and squeaked with each slight move. Light bulb out. No hair dryer. No morning coffee available at the time announced - had to wait with nine others for coffee. Breakfast was one cold hard-boiled egg, piece of sausage, and bread served with syrup. The waitress said, "It's sort of like French toast." This was not a good value and not at all like the promotional brochure described.

Room Tip: Try the motel instead of the old historic lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kimfac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOInnKeeper, Manager at Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
We are quite sorry that the guest did not enjoy their stay with us.
As the Nationally Registered Historic Hotel was built in the late 1880s, people were smaller than and the rooms were never very large to begin with. With the ground up restoration in 1988-89; private baths were added to all of the rooms. Depending on the room and bath combination some of the rooms are quite large, some are smaller. The room these guests stayed in is one of our smaller rooms. We do furnish in period furniture, many of the items being antiques. Some of these older beds will creak. Most of our guests think of this as part of the appeal of staying in a Historic Hotel.
Since some of the original lamps NEVER had electric lights, they may have cord switches. The light along side the bed in the Grieve room is one of those lamps. The switch is very close to the base, but apparently the guests didn't see the switch. In an old building such as this, located in a rural mountain area, the power to the building can be minimal. We do have several hair dryers available at the front desk. But to keep all the dryers from all turning on at once and putting the guests in the dark, we specifically do not put one in every room. A call to the front desk is all that is required.
Coffee is out a minimum of 30 minutes prior to breakfast time. Always. Of course if nine people hit the pot at the same time it may run out. Since our industrial size pot brews coffee very quickly, the wait could not have been more than a couple of minutes
Gee most people absolutely love our Whole Wheat Hazel Nut French Toast. Many of our guests specifically request it. It is served with a hot (right out of the pot) Medium Boiled Egg and citrus cured sausage. Our brand new breakfast server (a young local girl), was befuddled by this guests demands, and simply spurted out the basic info. Now with some time with us, she is very clear on how to please demanding guest and what we serve. I am not sure why the hot medium boiled egg was cold, though if left to sit too long everything gets cold. It is unfortunate that they didn't enjoy their stay. Most of our guests do. It does help to understand and have an appreciation of what a Historic Hotel is all about. Perhaps they will give us a second chance in the future. We would like that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Can't say enough good things about Prospect Hotel. We had originally hoped to stay at Crater Lake but I am so glad we found this place instead. The hotel history is fascinating and the town of Prospect has so much to offer in terms of hiking, swimming, fishing, etc, we really didn't feel at all bad about not spending more time at the Lake (although for sheer "wow" factor, the Lake should not be missed). We stayed in the "motel" area with our family, so we were a big party of 5 adults and 8 children. We found the rooms spacious, clean and comfortable, and they had all the amenities we needed to have a good time. Don't get me wrong--the place is not "luxurious," but it is excellent value. Most important, the owners showed extra concern when our son got sick--called emergency services, stayed with us till he was taken care of, and then held the kitchen open late so we could have a good meal when we returned from the hospital in Medford, an hour away. Thank you Fred and Karen and staff. You really run a lovely place.

Room Tip: If you have a large party, or kids, ask for the 2-room suites in the motel section. They are really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DrPoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We arrived in Prospect after a fruitless day of trying to see Crater Lake. It was in April and the snow at the lake was falling so hard that all we could see was the snow. When we finally got to the hotel we were greeted by the owners who were quite friendly and helpful. Since it was off season they offered to let us have any room of our choosing, but since my husband is a Theodore Roosevelt fan, we stayed in his name sake room. The room was small and the bath was not attached ( the only room in the hotel that didn't have the bath attached). We had looked in all the other rooms and all had handmade quilts on the bed and were nicely furnish in antique furniture. The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. In the morning we were presented with a delicious breakfast and friendly conversation.

We really enjoyed our stay at this unique and historic hotel and if we have an opportunity to return to the Crater Lake area (hopefully the next time we will be able to see the lake) we would once again stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morningskywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife booked a room in the motel part of the hotel in August 2011 and at the same time reserved a table for two in the restaurant. She requested motel room number 4 (based on reports given to Tripadvisor) in the event we were allocated motel room number 1, when my wife said she had requested room 4, the woman in reception said in her opinion room 1 was better because it was bigger than number 4! Now if the woman was telling the truth room 4 must be incredible small. Room 1 did not have enough space for us to have two suitcases open at the same time. The hanging rail only had four hangers, of poor quality, and the bed was hard and the worse bed I have ever tried to sleep in. The shower was very poor. The only good thing about the room was the efficient (though noisy) air-conditioning unit. We noticed all the other rooms were provided with two chairs and a small table situated outside the room, ours was the only one without.
Also room 1 is situated on the main path to the hotel/restaurant so people were constantly going past our windows.

When we went to the restaurant and said we had reserved a table the man in charge showed us to the smallest table in the restaurant. All the other tables for two were large square tables, the one we were allocated was a small oblong one placed right against a wall. When I protested and pointed to one of the large square tables set for two, the reply was “that is reserved” I pointed out my wife had reserved a table last August so we had a “reserved” table. The (presumably head waiter) refused to give us a table that was empty but said he was clear a table that had just been vacated. We were given two menu's and asked to wait in the lounge area. As the atmosphere in the restaurant was not congenial, we decided the cancel the reservation and eat in the nearby bar/cafe the event the cafe was closed, but the woman in the bar gave us a warm welcome and made us two of the nicest been sandwiches we had had in America.
We spoke to another couple from England, who had eaten in the restaurant and ere told it was the worse prawn meal the woman had ever had, and her husband was far from satisfied with his prime rib meal. Nobody came to ask (during their meal) if everything was all right. However the woman was so angry she found the chap in charge and told him what she thought about both their meals. Thy were not offered a refund. They were booked for another two nights in the hotel and planned to eat elsewhere for the nest two nights. We were lucky as we were only booked for one night!

My advice to anybody considering booking a room (or a table in restaurant) is do yourself a favour
DON'T!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gorpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOInnKeeper, Manager at Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
It is unfortunate that this guest did not enjoy his stay. We accommodate folks in a room that is the same type as their original request if we do not have the one asked for available. A room with a single queen bed is the same rate regardless of location. Some of our returning guests will request a specific room. Room number 1 is one that is requested quite frequently. Room number 4 is also popular. Had the guest specifically requested room four we would have kept them there. Since we did have a guest specifically request room 4 for a multiple night stay, we accommodated their request, and moved this reviewer to room 1. None of our rooms are huge massive expanses; however some are larger than others. We have found over time that guests are not here to hide out in their rooms; they want to explore all the wonders of the Rogue River National Forest and Crater Lake National Park. I can’t imagine the size of these folk’s suit cases that they couldn’t open them up at once. Yow, they must have been mini-apartments! Our beds are firm (soft mattresses aren’t supposed to be good for your back) and many returning folks request room 1 because they love the bed. I don’t know what he means by the shower being poor. We have up to 75 pounds of water pressure and unlimited hot water available in a standard tub shower combination. Those that have commented like our showers.

This guest did reserve a table in our restaurant. No specific table, just one that would accommodate two people. On the other hand several of our guests do request specific tables after having dined with us previously or when they tour the Dinner House upon check in (corner and window tables are most popular). We do reserve their table for them. Our staff knows that a table has been specifically allocated via our seating chart. They will NOT give up a requested table to someone else. If a customer wants THAT specific table – we hold it for them. Many of us have been in a situation where the table chosen by the establishment is not to our liking. This is fine. This guest was presented alternate options. They picked one just vacated, were escorted to a waiting area with menus in hand while the table was being cleaned and reset. In a few minutes they were escorted to the table that had just been cleaned for them. He groused loudly about not getting one of the other tables, moved everything about on their table and then got up and walked out while the server was out of the room. If the atmosphere was not congenial in our Dinner House it was because he created that situation. The other guests had a great time that night, some even mentioned they were glad he had left because of his attitude.

None of the misinformation from the other couple should be published here. None of what he says is from first hand experience or is accurate. We don’t serve Prawns. We do offer Garlic Lime Shrimp (our 4th most popular dish). There is a big difference between Prawns and Shrimp. The lady only complained about her food, AFTER she had consumed most of it. A blatant attempt to get the meal free. Had we made a mistake on her dinner, (we are human and mistakes are made) and it was ‘the worst prawn meal she had ever had’ we would have gladly adjusted it to another meal or replaced it. But don’t eat it till you are full and then complain! The lady never found the ‘chap in charge’; that would have been ME. In fact these guests never complained to any of us, except during her attempt to get a free dinner. Our Dinner House is known all over Southern Oregon for our Prime Rib and our delicious meals. I doubt the husband was unsatisfied with his Prime Rib. Sunset Magazine said we are ‘the best Dinner House between Crater Lake and Medford’. Sunset doesn’t say this about just any old restaurant.

This reviewer has posted this mis-information based on hearsay from a guest that tried to pull one over on us, and didn’t get away with it. This reviewer NEVER ate in our restaurant. How can they comment and review our food?

I am surprised that TripAdvisor has published most of the guest’s dining review. They have a strict policy about utilizing hearsay information. However numerous attempts on our part to have TripAdvisor revise the parts that were not directly related to their experience have been met with a deaf ear.


I am disappointed that the guest felt this way. I am even more disappointed that the guest never brought any of this to our attention. We are human and so is our staff. Mistakes do get made, and we do correct them. IF we know about them.
In looking at the other postings this reviewer has made, there seems to be a trend to grouse about many things at many of the places he has stayed. We do our best to provide a great place to stay and dine. Most of our reviews are quite positive, and the journals in our rooms are full of extremely positive comments. Unfortunately you can’t please all the people all the time. But we do try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prospect
19.0 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#2 of 3 in Shady Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
11.1 mi away
Union Creek Resort
Union Creek Resort
#1 of 4 in Prospect
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
20.8 mi away
Crater Lake Lodge
Crater Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crater Lake National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#1 of 3 in Shady Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
62.1 mi away
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Crescent Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House

Property: Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House
Address: 391 Mill Creek Dr, PO Box 50, Prospect, OR 97536-9756
Location: United States > Oregon > Prospect
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Prospect
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crater Lake National Park's closest full-service town is showcased by the nationally registered Prospect Historic Hotel-Motel and Dinner House. The Historic Hotel is a ten-room Bed and Breakfast Inn with private baths and beautiful quilts on every bed. Hearty, full, breakfasts greet you in the morning. Take a short stroll to the Rogue River and three water falls. Situated for Hiking, Biking, Rafting, Fishing, Boating, Birding, Hunting, Cross Country Skiing or Snowshoeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Travelocity so you can book your Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing