We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House
Ranked #1 of 1 Prospect B&B and Inns
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delightful historic hotel”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We arrived in Prospect after a fruitless day of trying to see Crater Lake. It was in April and the snow at the lake was falling so hard that all we could see was the snow. When we finally got to the hotel we were greeted by the owners who were quite friendly and helpful. Since it was off season they offered to let us have any room of our choosing, but since my husband is a Theodore Roosevelt fan, we stayed in his name sake room. The room was small and the bath was not attached ( the only room in the hotel that didn't have the bath attached). We had looked in all the other rooms and all had handmade quilts on the bed and were nicely furnish in antique furniture. The bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. In the morning we were presented with a delicious breakfast and friendly conversation.

We really enjoyed our stay at this unique and historic hotel and if we have an opportunity to return to the Crater Lake area (hopefully the next time we will be able to see the lake) we would once again stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morningskywoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    110
    40
    22
    10
See reviews for
61
156
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

My wife booked a room in the motel part of the hotel in August 2011 and at the same time reserved a table for two in the restaurant. She requested motel room number 4 (based on reports given to Tripadvisor) in the event we were allocated motel room number 1, when my wife said she had requested room 4, the woman in reception said in her opinion room 1 was better because it was bigger than number 4! Now if the woman was telling the truth room 4 must be incredible small. Room 1 did not have enough space for us to have two suitcases open at the same time. The hanging rail only had four hangers, of poor quality, and the bed was hard and the worse bed I have ever tried to sleep in. The shower was very poor. The only good thing about the room was the efficient (though noisy) air-conditioning unit. We noticed all the other rooms were provided with two chairs and a small table situated outside the room, ours was the only one without.
Also room 1 is situated on the main path to the hotel/restaurant so people were constantly going past our windows.

When we went to the restaurant and said we had reserved a table the man in charge showed us to the smallest table in the restaurant. All the other tables for two were large square tables, the one we were allocated was a small oblong one placed right against a wall. When I protested and pointed to one of the large square tables set for two, the reply was “that is reserved” I pointed out my wife had reserved a table last August so we had a “reserved” table. The (presumably head waiter) refused to give us a table that was empty but said he was clear a table that had just been vacated. We were given two menu's and asked to wait in the lounge area. As the atmosphere in the restaurant was not congenial, we decided the cancel the reservation and eat in the nearby bar/cafe the event the cafe was closed, but the woman in the bar gave us a warm welcome and made us two of the nicest been sandwiches we had had in America.
We spoke to another couple from England, who had eaten in the restaurant and ere told it was the worse prawn meal the woman had ever had, and her husband was far from satisfied with his prime rib meal. Nobody came to ask (during their meal) if everything was all right. However the woman was so angry she found the chap in charge and told him what she thought about both their meals. Thy were not offered a refund. They were booked for another two nights in the hotel and planned to eat elsewhere for the nest two nights. We were lucky as we were only booked for one night!

My advice to anybody considering booking a room (or a table in restaurant) is do yourself a favour
DON'T!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gorpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOInnKeeper, Manager at Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
It is unfortunate that this guest did not enjoy his stay. We accommodate folks in a room that is the same type as their original request if we do not have the one asked for available. A room with a single queen bed is the same rate regardless of location. Some of our returning guests will request a specific room. Room number 1 is one that is requested quite frequently. Room number 4 is also popular. Had the guest specifically requested room four we would have kept them there. Since we did have a guest specifically request room 4 for a multiple night stay, we accommodated their request, and moved this reviewer to room 1. None of our rooms are huge massive expanses; however some are larger than others. We have found over time that guests are not here to hide out in their rooms; they want to explore all the wonders of the Rogue River National Forest and Crater Lake National Park. I can’t imagine the size of these folk’s suit cases that they couldn’t open them up at once. Yow, they must have been mini-apartments! Our beds are firm (soft mattresses aren’t supposed to be good for your back) and many returning folks request room 1 because they love the bed. I don’t know what he means by the shower being poor. We have up to 75 pounds of water pressure and unlimited hot water available in a standard tub shower combination. Those that have commented like our showers.

This guest did reserve a table in our restaurant. No specific table, just one that would accommodate two people. On the other hand several of our guests do request specific tables after having dined with us previously or when they tour the Dinner House upon check in (corner and window tables are most popular). We do reserve their table for them. Our staff knows that a table has been specifically allocated via our seating chart. They will NOT give up a requested table to someone else. If a customer wants THAT specific table – we hold it for them. Many of us have been in a situation where the table chosen by the establishment is not to our liking. This is fine. This guest was presented alternate options. They picked one just vacated, were escorted to a waiting area with menus in hand while the table was being cleaned and reset. In a few minutes they were escorted to the table that had just been cleaned for them. He groused loudly about not getting one of the other tables, moved everything about on their table and then got up and walked out while the server was out of the room. If the atmosphere was not congenial in our Dinner House it was because he created that situation. The other guests had a great time that night, some even mentioned they were glad he had left because of his attitude.

None of the misinformation from the other couple should be published here. None of what he says is from first hand experience or is accurate. We don’t serve Prawns. We do offer Garlic Lime Shrimp (our 4th most popular dish). There is a big difference between Prawns and Shrimp. The lady only complained about her food, AFTER she had consumed most of it. A blatant attempt to get the meal free. Had we made a mistake on her dinner, (we are human and mistakes are made) and it was ‘the worst prawn meal she had ever had’ we would have gladly adjusted it to another meal or replaced it. But don’t eat it till you are full and then complain! The lady never found the ‘chap in charge’; that would have been ME. In fact these guests never complained to any of us, except during her attempt to get a free dinner. Our Dinner House is known all over Southern Oregon for our Prime Rib and our delicious meals. I doubt the husband was unsatisfied with his Prime Rib. Sunset Magazine said we are ‘the best Dinner House between Crater Lake and Medford’. Sunset doesn’t say this about just any old restaurant.

This reviewer has posted this mis-information based on hearsay from a guest that tried to pull one over on us, and didn’t get away with it. This reviewer NEVER ate in our restaurant. How can they comment and review our food?

I am surprised that TripAdvisor has published most of the guest’s dining review. They have a strict policy about utilizing hearsay information. However numerous attempts on our part to have TripAdvisor revise the parts that were not directly related to their experience have been met with a deaf ear.


I am disappointed that the guest felt this way. I am even more disappointed that the guest never brought any of this to our attention. We are human and so is our staff. Mistakes do get made, and we do correct them. IF we know about them.
In looking at the other postings this reviewer has made, there seems to be a trend to grouse about many things at many of the places he has stayed. We do our best to provide a great place to stay and dine. Most of our reviews are quite positive, and the journals in our rooms are full of extremely positive comments. Unfortunately you can’t please all the people all the time. But we do try!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheridan, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I am so glad we stayed in Prospect on our way to Crater Lake a week ago. We stayed in the motel behind the inn. The room was the one with 2 queens and 2 twins and it was extremely clean. The kitchenette was older but still clean. The property was charming and we looked in all the rooms that were unoccupied in the old hotel and the quilts were amazing. The owner was quite nice. The dinnerhouse was pretty and the food was very good. I felt the price was reasonable. I really could imagine what it must have been like when people first started coming west and settling in this remote beautiful part of our country. It was snowing at Crater Lake the next morning and at check out the lady at the front desk advised us to take our time and so we walked down to nearby Pearsony Falls. Beautiful! Thank you for keeping this historic hotel alive! Kelly 07/09/2012

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelly2012trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Prospect is a tiny town off the highway to Crater Lake - only the post office, hotel, a bar, store and gas station. We were absolutely delighted with our stay in the Prospect Hotel on our two day visit to Crater Lake in late June. The walls have pictures of the hotel over the years and the staff will tell you the history. There are two beautiful waterfalls that are a short hike from the hotel - the receptionist gave us a map and other helpful information when we arrived.

We stayed in the old hotel in the Jack London room (there are also motel type rooms in the back of the property). The room was small and the sink was in the bedroom, but there was a little desk and bedside tables on both sides of the queen sized bed. The bathroom was modern and clean. The wallpaper was period and there were red sheets on the bed! While the room was at the front of the hotel and there are other rooms nearby that were not ensuite, the hotel was very quiet. There were Jack London books in the room to read and chocolate on the bedside table...

We arrived in the late afternoon and hiked to the waterfall. Then read the books from out room on the wide veranda with a glass of wine before dinner. The food was good – salad and dessert comes with the entrée. Small but good wine list with good wines by the glass. Breakfast is preset, but ask what it is and you can modify if you want (we were served pancakes one day, but the table next to us asked for scrambled eggs).

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Earl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed in the Jack London room. We appreciated the history of the building, and updated bathroom. This was our first bed and breakfast, so maybe we were just not used to it, but the ability to hear the snoring from another room made it hard to sleep. Also, somehow the heat of the room became too much around 2 am and that kept us up too. However, the amazing breakfast of huckleberry hazelnut pancakes, fresh fruit, and sausage made us forget all of our lack of sleep. The current owners were very friendly and the dining room service was very good. Don't leave the area without walking down to the nearby Pearsony waterfalls.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pth138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

From Crescent City CA we headed North to Crater Lake..Great drive and you must stop in Jacksonville OR and spend afew hours in this Historic town.. We stayed in Prospect for two nights @ the Prospect Historic Hotel and may I say this is one charming place that is reasonable priced and well looked after. First night we had dinner in their dinning room [prime rib, advertised as the best in Oregon..in my opion maybe not the best but above average] and had dessert with coffee on their porch. Don't believe a breakfast is served but we ate next door @ the Prospect Cafe with the locals.
We loved this location as we planned a day @ Crater Lake
Highly recommend this place..best of all the places we stayed

Room Tip: Stayed in the motel part but saw their Hotel rooms....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank princer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Hood Parkdale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

The Prospect Historic Hotel Bed and Breakfast Inn is an ideal lodging establishment when visiting Crater Lake and the nearby sites. This ten room hotel was once a stage coach inn, the historic character has been kept with modern conveniences added. All rooms have private baths and comfy beds, each named after a noted visitor. We enjoyed the Jack London Room, the Roosevelt Room was nearby. Associated with the hotel is a 14 unit motel which accommodates larger groups and pets, with beautiful grounds and a stream available to all guests. There is even a geocache somewhere on site! Wonderful breakfasts and dinners are served in the Dinner House. In addition to Crater Lake, a traveler can have many other experiences in the area. Gracious hosts Fred and Karen are available with suggestions, maps, etc. We hope we can take advantage of their hospitality again, the next time we would stay longer than two nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baldbutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prospect
19.0 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#2 of 3 in Shady Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
11.1 mi away
Union Creek Resort
Union Creek Resort
#1 of 4 in Prospect
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
20.8 mi away
Crater Lake Lodge
Crater Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crater Lake National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
Maple Leaf Motel
Maple Leaf Motel
#1 of 3 in Shady Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
62.1 mi away
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Crescent Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House

Property: Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House
Address: 391 Mill Creek Dr, PO Box 50, Prospect, OR 97536-9756
Location: United States > Oregon > Prospect
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Prospect
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crater Lake National Park's closest full-service town is showcased by the nationally registered Prospect Historic Hotel-Motel and Dinner House. The Historic Hotel is a ten-room Bed and Breakfast Inn with private baths and beautiful quilts on every bed. Hearty, full, breakfasts greet you in the morning. Take a short stroll to the Rogue River and three water falls. Situated for Hiking, Biking, Rafting, Fishing, Boating, Birding, Hunting, Cross Country Skiing or Snowshoeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Travelocity so you can book your Prospect Historic Hotel - Motel and Dinner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing