We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Beckie's Cafe

Beckie's Cafe
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Prospect
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Richmond, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Had dinner and breakfast the next morning. Great food/service. Pan cakes are great, egg breakfast was great. Recommend to all

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 631kirbyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    181
    48
    15
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Unique Setting and Experience”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is one of those "you just have to stop" places. Located on Highway 62 in the tall pines on the way to Crater Lake, my wife and I have driven past about a hundred times, but the other day we finally stopped for breakfast. The place is small, and the only food for miles (assuming you don't want pay the premium for food at Crater Lake) so be prepared to wait for a table on weekends. The food is pretty much what you'd expect... average or slightly better than average diner fare, but the food is just an excuse to stop and enjoy a slice of Oregon history.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Worth a stop, but not as good as I remembered”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We've stopped for lunch here every few years since 1972 because of the good basic food and to-die-for huckleberry pie. This time my hamburger was overdone (and I usually like well-done) and my wife's BLT came on burned toast. The homemade potato chips were thick and hard enough to crack teeth, and they said they wouldn't have any huckleberry pie until the berries came on in September. I wondered why I remembered all those July visits with huckleberry pie. Maybe they used to pick more and freeze them. Anyway, I went with cherry pie which had lots of good filling, but in a typical grocery-store bakery crust. After a fairly long wait to order and to get our food, we couldn't help but think this place used to be better. They were really busy and maybe just breaking in a new cook or having a bad day. One so-so experience is not enough to make us forget all the great lunches we've had here. We'll be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“convenient, cheap and tasty”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was on the way to and from our hotel in Prospect. We ate there twice and were satisfied and full when we were done. Nothing fancy but the pies a la mode looked great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank guilford104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun stop”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stopped at Beckie's after a day at Crater Lake. We didn't expect anything fancy and weren't disappointed. We were quickly greeted at the door and told we could pick our table. Our server was quick and business-like (welcome as we were hungry!). The food was good enough and the pies (one chocolate peanut butter and a boysenberry) were really fantastic! The peanut butter pie ended up being the talk of the trip for our 9 yo son! He loved it! He tried this pie at several other restaurants during our week in Oregon but they didn't hold a candle to the one he had at Beckie's! We were too early for huckleberry pies (they are available in September). In short, a good place to get a non-fussy dinner!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moonville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beckie's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Beckie's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing