We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westin Portland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Westin Portland
Ranked #23 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for business several times this year and have always had a great experience. The staff is always friendly and professional and it's centrally located downtown close to some great bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a higher floor particularly a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VasiliPan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    261
    53
    19
    13
See reviews for
105
248
31
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel was in an excellent location, the bar menu at happy hour was great and reasonable and the shower was a dream!!!!

From the first moment of our arrival we felt welcome. We were traveling with a new car and were concerned with where it would be parked. There was a valet named Justin who not only made us feel welcome from the moment we set foot on the curb, but took very good care to assure us our car would be well taken car of, (which it was)!

Justin made great first impression, and when we stepped out to walk around he gave us very good suggestions on where to go and explore. He is a great ambassador for Westin. Based on this experience we will be staying at Westin properties more in the future!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oahu
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

great overnight stay.
hotel is right in the middle of downtown, next to shopping, food, and seemed to be a lot of clubs and such.
I got in late, so the place was packed with cars and people j-walking.
checkin was smooth, issue that they didn't code correctly either of my keys and had to go back to the desk to fix.
Parking is 37$ to valet, with self parking a block down for 26$.
check the metered parking, for certain times you don't have to pay. I got in about 10pm until 1pm the next day and didn't have to pay a thing.
room was incredible, spacious with a tub and shower.
only other thing I can think of is that the elevators, there are only 2. but like 15-20 floors with about 20-25 rooms per floor...so you do the math on waiting for the elevator.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shanefull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

1. The front desk lady who checked me in was very friendly and very respectful even though my appearance was shabby. Kudos to her.
2. The room was very clean and comfortable. I stayed for two days.
3. Great location.
4. I probably stayed at hundred different hotels in the last 10 years and this ranks near the top.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I hold SPG Gold status and used my points to stay at the Westin Portland for the weekend of my 50th birthday. This weekend reminded me why I am loyal to the SPG brand.

We checked in very late, around 12:30 am. The night front desk agent, Steven was beyond friendly and helpful, making our check-in easy. We received an upgrade to a suite on the Penthouse Floor with an amazing view. During our stay, we were comp'd a bottle of champagne and a bottle of Pinot Noir in honor of my milestone birthday.

The room and the hotel facility were outstanding. We have stayed at many Westins around the world and this was the best we've experienced. It is a smaller 19 story building. The view from the top was great. Our room had 2 huge windows over looking the city, a sitting area, a plush kind bed and a large bathroom with a tub and separate shower. The decor was typical Westin along with the signature Westin scent and toiletries.

Getting to the hotel is easy from the airport using the Tri-met MAX Red line. It is about a block from the Pioneer Square stop. Portland is such a great walking city and we found almost everything to be walking distance from the hotel.

We originally wanted to use our points to stay at The Nines. I am so glad it was not available because I cannot imagine having a better experience than we had at the Westin!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
330 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is perfectly located: across the street from 40+ food trucks, short walk to river, steps from the pearl district. We were thrilled. Service was excellent. Clean, nice decor, relaxing lounge for drinks. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank PismoLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Hotel is centrally located to restaurants, theater, Pearl District, business offices, and food trucks. Has a boutique feel with full Westin services and resources.
Hotel staff is unsurpassed in friendliness, knowledge, and willingness to help.
Convenient and attractive privately managed bar and restaurant within hotel.
Definitely recommended for business or pleasure.
My wife and I recently stayed here for a week and enjoyed every minute with the
hotel and staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fre G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 966 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#12 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#26 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,594 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Portland

Property: Westin Portland
Address: 750 Southwest Alder Street, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Portland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#21 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#43 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Portland Hotel is located In the center of Downtown Portland with easy access to some of the city's best dining, shopping, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing