We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Dossier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dossier
Ranked #25 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Wonderful location for visitors. Easy walk to Pearl Street District. Nice aesthetic.

Trash on floor under glass coffee table. Light bulb out in bathroom. Perhaps because we arrived on Thanksgiving.

Comfortable mattress and towels.

Nice bar with happy hour. Male server working in bar 6pm on Black Friday should be fired for the comments we overheard him making to bartender about too many customers. He was not,upset at anyone in particular, just resented being at work and wanted others to be miserable too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevandjim1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (937)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 939 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2013

Room: clean, updated, extremely comfortable bed & linens with A LOT of pillows
Bathroom: huge, all the amenities (inc. really nice shampoos!)
Lobby: small & crowded, but staff was efficient & friendly.
Location: excellent...centrally-located, walking distance to major Portland attractions

nothing particularly unique about this hotel; but it was clean, quiet, and a perfect place to get a good night sleep in the heart of Portland.

Room Tip: We were next to elevator but didn't hear it; must have good insulation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Dossier, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Great to hear that you enjoyed our central location, and the amenities that the hotel offers. Our Bathrooms are often one of the areas that gets the most comments. I am sorry to learn that you did not find Portland more engaging. Should your travels bring you back to the Rose City, please contact us directly for the best sights if the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

As a loyal SPG member I have stayed at many properties around North America and continue to be impressed with the level of service and comfort offered at The Westin.
The Portland staff were exceptionally warm and inviting upon arrival and the valets were excellent. The rooms were clean and the bed was very comfortable.
I highly recommend this hotel whether you are travelling for business or pleasure. The next time I am in Portland or Hillsboro I will certainly be staying at this Westin.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank metta_bhavana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Portland Westin, the Staff were very friendly and knowledgable, the hotel was in an excellent location and the room was spotless and extremely comfortable. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation to anyone who is planning a stay in Portland Oregon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRJ07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a fine hotel.
It is an easy walk to the core Pearl area. It is an easy walk to a lot of good restaurants. It is a block from a food truck enclave.
They are going for a classic, classy ambiance, and generally succeeding. Original contemporary graphics in the lobby (Picasso, J Dine, S Francis, et al). Contemporary glass and nickle in the rooms.
The lobby is not huge. The bar is quite friendly.
The staff is as engaging as you would expect in a top caliber hotel.
The workout room is better than average.
Wireless connetion was consistent and quick.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Westin hotels just tend to be lovely, and this one is no different. The room was beautiful, as was the bath, which included a large glass shower and separate, large bathtub. The hotel staff was very friendly and attentive. The valets were really quick about bringing the car around. I wasn't 100% keen on the location, hence the 4 instead of 5 stars.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We spent the weekend in Portland. The hotel is very close to MAX train from the Airport. The staff is very friendly and quick. The room is quite large. The bed and the pillows are very comfortable. Great shower. I did not bring any shampoos to minimize carry on space so I had to use the shampoo from the hotel. Next time I will make sure there is enough room in my ziploc bag for the shampoo, conditioner. Soap was not very good either.
There is no free wifi in the room but it is available in the lobby. Business center on the third floor allows you to print your boarding passes easily.
This hotel though felt generic. In another city possibly I could have rated this hotel excellent. If I pick a chain hotel I should expect this generic feeling. This was our first time in Portland so we chose the safe option. Next time I would like to try places that captured Portland's vibe and has a bit more character.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musti_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Dossier, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

It’s outstanding to hear that our team connected with you and help you to have a renewing experience. The Heavenly Bed and Heaven Shower are pillars of our brand, and I happy to see that they provided some rejuvenation. I am sorry to learn that our location did not speak to you as something indigenous to Portland. We work diligently to insure that while we are a part of a brand, that there is still some Portland spirit infused in the experience. This is great feedback to take back to my leadership team, and a chance for us to re-focus our efforts. Thanks for taking the time to offer the insight. It is most appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#27 of 144 in Portland
2,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dossier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dossier

Address: 750 SW Alder St, Portland, OR 97205 (Formerly Westin Portland)
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#21 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#43 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $165 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dossier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dossier, Portland’s leading edge of thoughtfulness, elegance, and grace. A place where the enduring comforts of refined hospitality are elevated to something delightfully modern and altogether new. From the staff that discreetly serves you, to the bed you’ll sleep soundly upon, every experience here is designed to be surprising, rewarding, and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dossier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing