We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location”
Review of Westin Portland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Portland
Ranked #19 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
250 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This was nice hotel, and it should be as a Westin. The location is actually nicer than the hotel. Several restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. Only about 15 minutes to the airport too. Service was good, and the room was clean and modern.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JACoppo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

892 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    308
    70
    31
    18
See reviews for
150
339
50
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McMinnville, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The Westin Portland is a quaint hotel in the heart of downtown Portland. The location is perfect for anyone looking for the ideal location to enjoy your stay. The basic rooms are a bit small but very clean and well decorated. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the valet.

Room Tip: Would recommend that you upgrade to corner room if you are going.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed two nights on Starwood points ( and Westin is our preferred Starwood brand as it suits our lifestyle and meets our expectations and this stay was no different. Positives - large room, full amenities, good quality products and of course a heavenly bed. Very good location downtown within a block of shopping and several blocks from the Pearl District. Outstanding - doormen - they were simply awesome - we brought our bikes and they graciously stored them as they couldn't park our vehicle with then attached and happily retrieved them when we wanted to go for a ride. Always at the door and responded immediately to any question. Room for improvement - wifi was very disappointing - and this was the gold amenity we chose. Terrible band width and when we advised the front desk of our concern - the girl said she'd have the router reset but never followed up with us and the service never improved. Parking per night is $35 which seems on the high side. All in all however, a good stay and a fair use of our points.

Room Tip: If you want working wifi - don't choose 1714
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmccormi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had an excellent stay at this hotel. Location is fantastic - right in the center of town and in close walking proximity of the Pearl District.

All staff were exceptionally helpful and polite. The room itself exceeded Westin standards and was very comfortable and clean. Valet parking was speedy.

The only issue of note was that our room included a breakfast package for two people. We were given a gift card in the amount of $25 per day to use at their Daily Grill restaurant. This credit amount does not cover the cost of even a basic breakfast for two. Not a big deal and did not taint the experience, just worth pointing out.

Overall, this is an excellent hotel and a recommended choice when in Portland.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ap200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We just stayed one night at the Westin in Portland and had an excellent stay. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. We had one problem with the room and the manager responded in a most professional and prompt manner. Couldn't recommend it more after staying in a couple of other Portland hotels previously due to it's great location and excellent service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Right in the heart of downtown Portland our stay at the Westin Portland was memorable for all the right reasons. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was large with the most comfortable bed and the bathroom was large with a separate shower.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with this hotel -
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Westin Portland, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Wonderful to hear that you enjoyed The Heavenly Bed and Shower and the sense of renewal that they provide. These are often two of the features our guests enjoy most. Thank you for sharing your experience, and hope to welcome you back to the Rose City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed with my mom while she was visiting me in Portland and it was much nicer than I was expecting. Comfortable beds and the bathrooms are fabulous. If you can get the rate under $130 or so it is well worth the price. It is not my favorite in Portland but it is a good choice. I am not a fan of chains but I would make an exception for The Westin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWlivin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Westin Portland, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Wonderful to hear that you and your Mom enjoyed your visit to The Westin Portland and that our Heavenly Beds and Showers provided you some renewal. As a locally owned hotel, we do offer a Westin experience that is unique to Portland and its eclectic and fun nature. I am sorry to hear that we did not win you over as a favorite, but look forward to working hard to exceed your expectations should you choose to return. Thank you for offering some insight into your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Portland

Property: Westin Portland
Address: 750 SW Alder St, Portland, OR 97205-3412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Portland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#21 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#43 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Portland Hotel is located In the center of Downtown Portland with easy access to some of the city's best dining, shopping, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Westin Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing