We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Local, Rooms small & oddly configured”
Review of Westin Portland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Portland
Ranked #21 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Local, Rooms small & oddly configured”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Recently remodeled to be more "modern". Still solid downtown Portland hotel, close to business and financial offices and easy walk to Pearl.

Pros:
- Location
- Awesome two block wide food truck pod literally out the front door
- Easy walk to downtown business & shops and Pearl District
- Great staff and awesome valets

Cons:
-Rooms are oddly laid out - glass enclosed shower (no tubs) kind of in middle of bathroom that has floor to ceiling windows. The toilet is next to the windows.
- No plug-ins available next to the bed so you have to plug electronics in on the desk, across the room
- Rooms are small - the bed takes up the entire space w/ a small desk & chair

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amy e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    313
    72
    31
    20
See reviews for
154
345
50
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

The hotel once we found it was in a great location. We were on the 16th floor and had a wonderful bed that was heavenly. Too bad we didn't get any sleep! We could hear everything in the room next to us - and they were not shouting, they were talking normal and it was like they were in the room with us. Of course they went out partying and then came back at 3 am and we heard them for another hour. The next night they had checked out and a new group was in the room next to us - and we heard them as well. Fortunately they went to bed around midnight. This is unacceptable for a hotel of this caliber. Everything else was wonderful but I do not think we could stay here again simply because we got no sleep and it definitely ruined a bit of our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmyLoverOfSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Portland_GM, General Manager at Westin Portland, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I am sorry to hear that your experience was not more renewing, and that the noise from your neighboring room was so disruptive. I would encourage you to contact the property directly, as I would like to learn more about your stay. Our goal is to provide rejuvenation from a good night’s rest in The Heavenly Bed, and it sounds like we missed that mark. I am happy to see that you took advantage of our great location and all that Portland has to offer. Thank you for taking a moment to share your insights on your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
/las /vegas
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location and great beds and bathrooms. Rooms are very small but that is typical in Portland. Got this hotel on Priceline so price was reasonable at $125 but not sure I would pay $229 which was the rate I found on the Westin site.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank choosey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a one nights stay at the Westin Portland. We had a great room with huge windows, lots of light and great staff. The Westin never disappoints. This hotel is conveniently situated and within walking distance of lots of great restaurants.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank R Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

A very nicely appointed well located spot. Comfortable room, friendly staff, and doormen who hand out umbrellas to their guests as they go out to see the sights. Located just blocks from the metro rail station and a world of food trucks that are permanently arranged in a square block. We walked all over town and never felt too far from home. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linkeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san jose
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Westin, in downtown Portland, far exceeded my expectations.

Location : It's location is perfect with everything within walking distance- from the waterfront to the city center square. Within a few blocks is shopping and dining. There is a lovely food trucks area one block from the hotel with about 15 food trucks permanently parked.

Service: Excellent. We start with handing our car to the valet who is more than happy to provide any directions, suggestions etc. Good service.
The front desk staff is equally pleasant with quick check in and check out.

Food: We had breakfast and dinner at the hotel. Very good. We did in room dining and the service was quick (30 mins). Food was good. Prices are comparable to any good restaurant.

Cons: The housekeeping was running behind schedule. So our room did not get cleaned when we left for the day and came back in the evening. I requested SPG points for turning down housecleaning service for that day (there was no point in getting it cleaned at 7 pm), and that was added to my account. So no complaints there.

Room Tip: Spend on a corner room. The views are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank navs p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Westin in Portland a few times and always enjoy our stay. The hotel is very comfortable and well maintained....as in spotless! If you want to walk around town, this is a great place to stay as it is located right in the heart of the Pearl District. The rooms are quiet and comfortable and the service measures up to the high standards kept by the Westin Hotels. All in all, a great place to consider staying when you visit Portland.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 142 in Portland
1,369 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 142 in Portland
2,039 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 142 in Portland
1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Portland

Property: Westin Portland
Address: 750 SW Alder St, Portland, OR 97205-3412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Portland
#11 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#21 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#43 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Westin Portland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Portland Hotel is located In the center of Downtown Portland with easy access to some of the city's best dining, shopping, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Westin Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing