We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great in every regard”
Review of Dossier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dossier
Ranked #27 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Westin Portland for two nights in September. This was our first stay in this hotel. It was a super experience and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends, family and Tripadvisor members alike.

We have occasion to pass through Portland once or twice per year and find it a super locale to overnight for a night or two and enjoy a very friendly and relaxed city with good shopping and amazing eateries of every variety nearly all focusing on quality local and sustainable ingredients. The downtown hotel at which we usually stay was sold out this trip and the reviews we read regarding the Westin made it seem like a reasonable alternative and it more than lived up to expectations.

The property is centrally located in the heart of downtown and within easy walking distance of all the major retailers, department stores and the Pearl District, where clubs and restaurants abound. The hotel was built in 2000 and just completed a major renovation and although it is a classical and great looking building from the outside, everything inside is brand-spanking new. It features a small boutique type hotel lobby with a great looking and welcoming bar and restaurant immediately off it. We did not dine in the restaurant, but did have a drink in the bar that has a complete inventory of the usual spirits, local brews (on tap and in bottles), the wines Oregon is known for and a great conversationalist for a bartender

We came and went at all hours of the day (and once returned in the wee hours), and there were always 2, 3 or 4 doormen or bellmen (persons?) to open the double beveled glass front doors and greeting guests with a kind word or two, calling us by name and usually accompanied by a "welcome home." This typified the staff from one end to the other as well as the obvious dedication this hotel makes to customer retention and the hiring and training required to make it so.

We stayed in a "corner king" room, which I recommend, that featured great views in two directions of the downtown, Westin's Heavenly Bed, and doubled-headed Heavenly Shower, which they both were (heavenly, that is). The bathroom was very large, the shower on the verge of huge with the linens, towels and bathroom amenities elegant although there was no tub for those who desire a soak--not a problem for us. The room was very attractive, comfortable and seemed as if brand new.

The in-room bar refrigerator was stocked with all the usual temptations to purchase, but also had room for a personal bottle of wine or other items requiring chilling, and unlike is so often the case these days, allows you to move things around without being charged for them.

In combination the people and their “we’re here to meet your needs” attitude, location, comfort and newly renovated condition of this hotel made our stay absolutely delightful. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Opt for a corner room
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Otisbuckaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (929)
There are newer reviews for Dossier
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 929 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend in Portland and found the hotel to be very charming and a really great location for getting around. It is truly steps from everything! The Daily Grill has great food and service - Breakfast and Happy Hour drinks/bites were faves.

Room Tip: Corner Rooms ending in xx07 are a bit larger
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparky8188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The Westin Portland Hotel is steps to everything that you would want in this small city. It's in the middle of an abundance of restaurants, micro brew pubs, coffee shops and shopping that would meet anyone's needs. For example, it's just a short walk to the trendy shops in the Pearl District and Nordstrom is just around the corner. Public transportation, The TriMet, is steps away and free within city limits. Just hop on and enjoy seeing the city. The Portland Art Museum offers many free nights and exhibits. Make sure to check out their website before your visit. This Westin has been recently renovated and was one of the best that we'vs stayed in. The hotel itself is small but our corner room was large, nicely decorated, quiet and comfortable.
The Daily Grill Restaurant is located in the lobby and is quite good. My husband and I observed many locals coming in to dine; always an indicator of a good place to eat.
Check-in was fast and welcoming. Check-out was equally easy and we were charged the quoted price. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: "Corner rooms are large and have great views"
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shauna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

staff is very helpful and alert, great room and bathroom, delicious breakfast
good valet service
one minor breakfast place was too cold (airco)
location was great as well , nearby everything i wanted to visit
enjoyed my stay in this hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tourist131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We were charged $379 per night when the advertised rate on the internet for the same room was $239; so far, I have not been able to get an adustment. I'll just say, be very careful when dealing with Westin hotels.

Room Tip: Confirm, then re-confirm the price.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Roy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is a lovely Westin, one of the best out there.

It’s small compared to a lot of other Westins and has a lovely boutique feel to it. Which means the line at the front desk can be frustrating if there’s someone taking a long time with only one person at the desk, but this is minor criticism.

Check-in was very easy, and the room was fresh, clean, airy and bright. Full disclosure, we were upgraded to a junior suite on the top floor.

Portland is known as the rose city, and the International Rose Garden is one of Portland's top attractions. Getting there... not so easy. The front desk also doubles as the concierge, and gave excellent directions on the efficient Portland public transit to the gardens. Just another example of the zen-friendly feel of the staff of this hotel.

We had a drink at the hotel bar which also serves as the bar for the daily grill restaurant. Very friendly staff - perhaps the pacific northwest signature is friendly wholesome and lovely people. Certainly seemed so...

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmppwwzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

So here's the thing, the staff was young and energetic and fairly helpful, the room was a decent size with a nice sunset view and we got a fair price through Expedia, HOWEVER the hotel is situated on the boundary of the Pearl and is really in a somewhat rough neighborhood. Although we did not feel unsafe, there were so many homeless people in the vicinity that it was just very sad.

Room Tip: If you need two beds be warned that the only rooms with two beds are close to the elevators so it is...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lv2trvl714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,391 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 144 in Portland
1,422 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#18 of 144 in Portland
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dossier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dossier

Address: 750 SW Alder St, Portland, OR 97205 (Formerly Westin Portland)
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#20 Business Hotel in Portland
#21 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#43 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $174 - $462 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dossier 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dossier, Portland’s leading edge of thoughtfulness, elegance, and grace. A place where the enduring comforts of refined hospitality are elevated to something delightfully modern and altogether new. From the staff that discreetly serves you, to the bed you’ll sleep soundly upon, every experience here is designed to be surprising, rewarding, and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dossier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing