We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Portland Airport
Ranked #106 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
503 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Comfy and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were surprised by how nice the Rodeway Inn was, considering it is a lower priced motel in the Choice Hotel chain. We did not hear any noise from outside even though the doors open to the outside, and since we were close to the airport, we were surprised. The rooms are basic cinder block, which means quiet, but the managers have attractively painted the rooms with a paint texture that disguises the blocks. (We're not sure how, but some parts of the wall were left unpainted.) The sink is your basic laminate with plenty of space to put your toiletries, and there is no hair dryer in the room. The shower area is decent sized and clean. What was the most pleasant surprise was the quality of the bed. We had a king bed with a pillow top mattress. I slept wonderfully. In the morning we walked over to the office for the continental breakfast, which was pretty meager. We stayed here on the first and last nights of our vacation. When we checked in the first time, no one told us if we paid $5/person, we could walk down the hall to the breakfast room the Quality Inn used (the Quality Inn and Rodeway are side-by-side, sharing the same office) where a much better hot breakfast was served. We would have liked that. On our last night stay, the clerk told us about the breakfast, but because we had to catch such an early flight, we couldn't partake of the option.
The hotel is close to the light rail as the light rail passes behind the building, making it an easy travel to and from the airport. We took the light rail once, and had the hotel get us to the airport once. The van driver was friendly and loaded our luggage for us.
Overall, a clean and comfy place to stay. We will stay here again when we fly into Portland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babu2773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing the Rodeway Inn for two seperate stays. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed both stays. I apologize for no one sharing the breakfast upgrade with you on your first trip and will utilize your review as a training tool for our front desk staff. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    66
    52
    30
    35
See reviews for
60
64
34
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Missouri
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Airport Rodeway on the tail-end of a vacation. We booked here because it was rated as such a good deal by Tripadvisor. We were really pleasantly surprised by the room! We had a king bed room, and the bed was really comfortable. The room was extremely clean, but the carpets had just been shampooed so it was a little damp. Initially there was a "wet swimming suit" kind of smell, but that went away as the carpet dried. The towels were clean and fluffy and the (big!) flat screen tv worked nicely. The room was a great size too. The bathroom had some signs of wear and use, but again it was very clean. Our flight home was at 6 am the next morning so we wanted a place with an airport shuttle. My husband returned the rental car the night before, and called for the shuttle which promptly came and picked him up. We signed up for the 4:30 am shuttle the next morning along with 2 other couples, one of whom didn't show up. Instead of just leaving when they weren't there the driver checked on them and found they had switched their shuttle time, which I thought was courteous and professional (especially at 4:30 am!). The trip took about 10 minutes. The layout is kind of weird with the Quality Inn right next door, and you check in at the same place. And in fact we weren't really sure if we were actually staying in a Rodeway room or a Quality Inn room, but either way, the room was great. We paid about $45 for the night with a State Farm discount. Well worth it!! We'd definetely stay here again if we needed a place coming in or going out of Portland. In fact it was cleaner, larger and better appointed than some of the rooms that we paid twice as much for while on vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiemac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are so pleased to see you were pleasantly surprised. Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review I will be very pleased to share it with my staff. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

note there is no contact to this hotel at the hotel phone bank at portland airport but red cap outside in shuttle area contacted hotel and in 5 minutes the van arrived. checked in early 1230 no problem. room very clean and comfortable - flat screen tv and no problems with wifi. not too much in area - burgers across street at jim dandy were very good. vietnamese supermarket not far away! and a couple of gas stations/quick stops. there is a good supermarket across from gateway max station - one stop away on max line towards city. max station is located behind rodeay inn.
rodeway inn and quality inn are joined - quality inn rooms have fridge and microwave and include better breakfast. if you stay at rodeway you can upgrade from the continental for a small fee. rodeway had bagels with cream cheese/muffins/danish/bananas/oranges/oatmeal/oj or apple juice - they restocked when you asked.
we feel this is the best hotel we have stayed in for the price in portland - slept well and surprisingly quiet. internet computer in reception area with printer -free for up to 10 pages. have already re-booked for our next visit to portland

Room Tip: second floor - outside corridor - quieter than first floor with cars parked outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. Reviews like this are very encouraging for our staff to see all their hardwork pays off. We are glad to hear you re-booked for a future date and hope we can make your second stay even more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

Good: The entire staff is very friendly and accomdating...informative and knowledgeable. Pamela is an asset to the hospitality industry. She should be working at an upscale hotel, not a run down motel like the Rodeway Inn. Their fitness center is small, but nice. They have 3 treadmills/running/bicycling machines and a bathroom in the fitness room.

The Bad: The TV did not work for two days. The pool is advertised as heated, but feels like ocean water. The pool towels are the size of large dish towels. The shower head was made for a 3 ft tall person. I had to sit down to take my shower!!! Breakfast consisted of stale danishes and oily packaged, processed muffins. When I slept (and I use that term loosely), my feet were higher up than my head. They seriously need new beds.

Ugly: Pillow cases had sweat stains on them. Bath towels had dirt stains on them. The phone rang at 9:30 at night a couple of times. I answered, no one responded. Wrong number I thought. It rang again at midnight, then again at 4am, 4:30am, 5:30am and 6:45am. I finally got up and unplugged the damn thing. When I complained about it, the nice lady at the front desk apologized ( I told you the staff was nice) and explained to me that "water had gotten into our phone lines last week and only half the lines had been fixed." She credited me with a whopping $10 discount!!! When I said "the amenities were not as advertised", she responsed with "we don't really have many amenities!"

If you want a place to drop your bags and don't mind sleeping upside down with the phone ringing all night and stained towels, then this is the place for you. The only reason I didn;t give it a one is because 1. the staff is VERY friendly and 2. It's still better than sleeping in a car or on the street.

Room Tip: Choose a Comfort Inn or Radisson in the area if possible. It might be a bit more expensive, but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete an honest survey. We are sorry you had so many issues arise during your stay. We will utilize your review as a training tool for our housekeeping staff and ensure we have taken all you said seriously and are working on fixing all of those issues. We did have an issue with our phone lines and are happy to report the issue has been fixed and we continue to take steps daily to improve our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

RODEWAY INN PORTLAND AIRPORT:
This two star motel is located in the vicinity of Portland airport. There is a shuttle to the airport and the motel has good free parking possibilities.

Service:
The service was good. The staff answered all our questions.

Rooms:
We got a good impression and feeling when we entered the modern and spacious reception. Breakfast was served in the reception area. It was possible to sit down in a sofa with table there, but it looked like most people brought the breakfast to their room.

The rooms were nice. For a two start motel we think they held a good standard. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean. It felt modern and up to date. There was a tv in the room. The bathroom had some places along the wall where we could see that it could had needed a little maintenance, but the overall impression of the bathroom was after all good.

The hotel had a good laundry room with laundry machine, drying machine and a wending machine with detergent. The hotel also had a small fitness room with basic fitness machines. Both facilities appeared clean and good.

Sourrounding areas:
We came by car. We enjoyed the parking possibilities and the motel itself was so good that we decided to stay one more night and explore more of Portland. Right "behind" the motel there is a light rail transportation downtown or to the airport. The light rail red line starts at the airport and can take you to the other side of Portland. We bought a all day card card for 5 $. The light rail ran about every fifteen minute in both directions and it took less than half an hour to get to the city center. The light rail also had a stop close to the Lloyd shopping mall where we found all shops we could ask for. We found the location of the motel very good and an excellent location for a good and value for money stay.

We highly recommend Rodeway Inn Portland Airport for stays - both for flying out from Portland, but also for a base for exploring Portland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReiseKurre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write this great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and will share your kind words with our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

My grandson and I were flying out of Portland and needed a place to sleep. I had seen some good reviews on the Rodeway Inn at PDX, and the price of the room was very good...so we gave it a try. The ladies at the desk were VERY FRIENDLY and check us in quickly. Whne they found out we were going to be flying out and I was coming back the same day, they offerd to let me leave my car there and shuttle us to the airport (they have 24 hour shuttle and it runs on time...for REAL!). The charge to park there was $6. On the return trip they were very fast in getting me back to the hotel.

The room was VERY clean and loojk fairly new. It was nicer than some I have poaid more for to stay in. The bed was comfortable as well.

I recommend this hotel for those who are flying out of PDX and need a place to sleep...it is a GREAT DEAL!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bosleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are so excited to see you had an excellent experience and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights on a trip down the American Northwest. Rooms were standard for this type of motel but completely acceptable. Hotel rooms blocks looked rundown - in fact I think a whole block was not used but as I said the hotel was totally expected for this level of accomodation. What I really liked was the staff - all I came into contact with were very friendly. The reception and breakfast area was clean - free breakfast was decent and the free internet terminal was very welcome. Chose this hotel as I was flying out of Portland, trip into the city was easy as the light rail station was behind the hotel and The Grotto, which is a must see, was about a 20 minute walk. Very happy.

Room Tip: Just be aware that the closer to the stairs you are the more footfall past your window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMor179, General Manager at Rodeway Inn Portland Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel and writing such a nice review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will come see us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge at Port of Portland
0.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Portland Airport
2.8 mi away
Chestnut Tree Inn Portland Mall 205
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
Quality Inn & Suites Airport
#90 of 139 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Cameo Motel
Cameo Motel
#89 of 139 in Portland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Portland International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Portland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Portland Airport

Property: Rodeway Inn Portland Airport
Address: 9727 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220-4226 (Formerly Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Portland Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn Portland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Portland Airport Hotel Portland
Portland Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing