We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Needs some updating, great location and staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Portland & Executive Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower
Ranked #38 of 137 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Minato, Japan
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Needs some updating, great location and staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Carpet was worn but the rest of the room was nice and clean. Concierge staff were outstanding, very helpful. The rooms are slighty small, well furnished and otherwise nice. Location is excellent to access all of downtown Portland sights, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moshisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy read our concierges were very accommodating and I will share your experience with them. I am excited to announce that we will be renovating this fall and we hope you have the opportunity to see our new look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    943
    411
    151
    67
See reviews for
326
510
95
1,065
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Service! Thank you to Domenic at the front desk, I was on business and brought my 75 yr old Mom with, walking distance to great food & shopping. I splurged and upgraded to a top floor 2 bath living room suite, the suite was enough for Mom to sit in the sunny window while reading a book. Buffet breakfast was great and the staff in the restaurant happy! Only stayed for 2 nights but Mom is still talking about the great time she had!

Room Tip: Stay in the towers and for an extra treat spend money and get a suite, life is worth living! You wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank li2000nks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travelers. It is great to read that you brought your mother for this visit and she enjoyed her suite. I will also share your comments with Dominic. We hope you choose to stay with us again the next time your travels bring you to the Portland area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I spent one night on a Romance Package with the Hilton in downtown Portland. I thought we would be in the main (older) hotel, but they confirmed us into the Executive Tower. Rooms are a little larger there, and newer. The staff was lovely and the weekend was great. Strawberries with chocolate and caramel were a nice surprise in addition to the bottle of sparkling wine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cdamman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your business and your feedback. It’s wonderful to read that you enjoyed your romantic weekend and your strawberries with sparkling wine. We hope to serve you again during your next getaway to the Portland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is in a prime location in the downtown area. You can catch the lightrail, city trams, or buses that will take you to every corner of the city within 2 blocks of the front door. We stayed in the tower, which looks to have been renovated in the last 10 years. The bathroom was small but worked given the space. The bed was very comfortable and they give you enough pillow to drown you. The room was as quiet as you'd expect for a hotel downtown. However, there were little things that I expected to be better. The desk chair was old vinyl with many deep cracks in it. That seemed like an easy thing to upgrade. There are mirrors for the closet doors. This also seemed like an easy upgrade that would make the room feel a little more classy. All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JBrunecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your detailed review. I’m delighted to read that you enjoyed our location and tower rooms. I will share your room suggestions with our team to improve our overall guest experience. We value your business and hope to have the opportunity to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Hilton hotels at one time were very high end places to stay. Not so much any more. We stayed here and were deeply disappointed. For one it was way over priced for the room we got. The rooms are tiny, the bathroom is very tight. When we made our reservations we stated there were 4 adults. When we arrived we had to call the desk for more towels as there weren't enough for the amount of people staying in this room. When we paid $200 a night, you would think they could get the littlest of things right. No free Wi-Fi. we either had to pay $10 more dollars or sit in the lobby where it was free. Cheaper hotels offer their guest free Wi-Fi. We asked for directions to a certain restaurant and the front desk guy gave us directions through the worst part of town, not safe at all. Small room, old and I could have stayed at the Comfort Inn and got more bang for my buck! Neve again will I stay at a Hilton. I would NOT recommend this Hotel to anyone. Biggest rip off!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rjreis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests – including places of improvement. I apologize that the comfort of your stay was interrupted and I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job of providing the best service and necessities to all guests. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area I hope that you will be our guest again – thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

My first impression was from Brenda, the non-friendly concierge. I was trying to plan activities during my stay and when I called, she said that she would call right back. That translated to never heard from again. When I arrived, my check in was as expected. My room was narrow but well designed to maximize space. There are sliding doors instead of opening doors to the bathroom and the closet. The beds are very comfortable. The elevators are extremely slow and full during a conference. The hottub needs to be scrubbed since there is a scum on the bottom and the sides. You won't notice it if the jets are running. William, at the concierge desk more than made up for Brenda's lack of assistance. The housekeeping staff are very friendly. The front desk staff is extremely helpful to get you any special request items. The location is great for walking everywhere downtown and to the Max light rail. The hotel could use just a bit more attention to detail, such as the printers were both out of paper for printing boarding passes. Overall, a good stay.

Room Tip: Select a higher floor to avoid street noise, such as early garbage collection, delivery truck backup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am happy to read you had an overall pleasant stay with us and thank you for your feedback. I am sorry for the issues you encountered and wanted to assure you I have addressed your concerns with the appropriate members of our staff. We hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in downtown Portland. It’s conveniently located within walking distance of a number of food trucks. My room in the Executive Tower was clean, quiet and comfortable. I had taken advantage of the advance upgrade request option and paid an extra $5 for the tower room. The tower is nicer and quieter and has better amenities such as the fitness room being open 24 hours rather than limited hours. The tower also offers a self-park option that’s cheaper than the valet parking at the main building. But if you’re in the main building, you could self-park and take the 90-second walk back. Overall, I was pleased and would stay again.

Room Tip: The executive is a little nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland & Executive Tower, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review and we hope you have an opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Downtown
Hotel Modera
Hotel Modera
#24 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#14 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Portland & Executive Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Portland & Executive Tower

Property: Hilton Portland & Executive Tower
Address: 921 SW 6th Ave, Portland, OR 97204-1124
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Portland
#35 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#37 Business Hotel in Portland
#39 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Portland & Executive Tower 3.5*
Number of rooms: 782
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Portland & Executive Tower hotel in Portland, consists of two separate buildings and combined they offer 782 guest rooms as well as: The Main building, remodeled in 2014 offers:* HopCity Tavern & Market - our new restaurant concept featuring a modern American gastro-pub cuisine and a grab and go market featuring Stumptown coffee and grab and go snacks and sandwiches * UPS business center - staffed Mon-Fri and a 24-hour computer/internet access connectivity center * Wireless HSIA available in all guestrooms for a fee * Free Wifi in the lobby * Parking garage - Each building has their own garage for your added convenience. The Executive Tower, remodeled in 2015 showcases: * Concierge desk * Complimentary 24-hour fitness room with an indoor waveless lap pool * Computer/internet kiosk available in lobby * Wired and wireless HSIA available in all guestrooms for a fee * Free Wifi in the lobby * Parking garage - Each building has their own garage for your added convenience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Portland & Executive Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower Hotel Portland
Hilton Portland And Executive Tower
Hilton Portland Executive Hotel
Portland Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing