We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ehhhh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Portland Downtown
Ranked #37 of 139 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersGold level
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ehhhh”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was initially miffed by my stay because I was not granted the group/conference discount just because I somehow booked outside the allotted dates (I do not know how considering I navigated to the reservation webpage via the conference webpage). I was surprised (not in a good way) by the quality, given that the hotel is a Hilton...

The Wi-Fi was unreliable and expensive for room-access ($12.95/day PER DEVICE!!). Also, the hotel gift shop was absurdly over-priced even by hotel gift shop-standards. I got sick while I was away and needed to purchase medicine ($8 for NyQuil, $13 for Tylenol Cold & Flu) and juice ($4 for Vitamin Water). The hotel bar/cafe was not at all impressive--it looked like the interior of a workplace cafeteria and it closed early.

The service was very good--the front desk reception were attentive and friendly and the concierge was very helpful. The staff also allowed me to check out 90 minutes late without any additional charge. Unfortunately, the people could not entirely compensate for the less than impressive facilities and resources. The location was fairly good as well, but there were several other nearby places to stay so I don't think that should be considered too heavily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoItGoesVonnegut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay, I appreciate your honest feedback about your experience with staff members and value at our hotel. Your review provides feedback that our hotel team needs to re-evaluate guest needs and better meet guest expectations. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality hospitality we stand for should you return to Portland in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    997
    439
    165
    75
See reviews for
353
543
101
1,173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our overall experience was good, but there were some room condition issues that left us disappointed. The front desk staff was pleasant during check in and check out, and the concierge was exceptionally helpful. I felt the price of valet parking was a bit much, but the convenience was great. Our room was nice, clean, and very modern with some nice touches. Our disappointment came when we attempted to use the tub drain, and sink drain. Neither worked properly and that seems like quite the oversite by the housekeeping/maintenance staff. Our stay was pleasant, and the location is fabulous. We would definately return, but we will probably check the drains upon arrival.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricJ5876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland Downtown, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stays at our hotel. I am pleased to read you have had a pleasant experiences and I will let our team know that they helped you have positive stays in Portland. I am sorry to read some room conditions left you disappointed and we shared your experience with our engineering team. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

It's in a great location. The room is a typical Hilton room (comfortable bed) with the usual amenities. However, if wifi is important to you, I'd reconsider staying here. The connection kept dropping, and I finally had to give up on what I was working on. It's a very weak signal, and it didn't get better at any point during my stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MoeMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and appreciate the many positive things you mentioned about our hotel. I apologize for the issue of the internet. We are working with AT&T to improve the service to all our guest rooms. We value your business and hope to have the opportunity create a more perfect experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Review is of the Executive Tower.

Rooms: Rooms are clean. Nothing too special to report but they do the job.

Location: This property is in the center of downtown. Transportation around town and to/from the airport is accessible via the light rail which is steps outside the property.

Hhonors Breakfast: Upgrade to full buffet is a small fee (~$5).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenbrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. It’s good to read that you enjoyed your stay. We value your business and hope to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

First off all, the parking is all valet and once they park your car you have to call them and have them retrieve any forgotten items. Not a good set up especially for a family with children who are bound to forget something. The parking fee was $32 a night!
The front desk staff were very snotty and not nice during check-in. The rooms are small and cramped but the beds were comfortable.
The wifi is $12.95 PER night PER device. With teenage boys and their ipods and my laptop we would have been paying $38.25 per night for Internet. NOT! We just did without.
The pool and fitness center is nice and girl at the desk there was very nice as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonmeares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of our property as we value all of our guests’ comments. I am disappointed to learn and apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We will take your comments into consideration and use them to help us improve our guest experience. I hope that you will reconsider staying with us again in the future to give us the opportunity to create a more pleasant experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I took my daughter to Portland and we were in a room that had an OK view but was hoping for a better option considering it was her first time. The tower is hard to get to and it seems a bit dated. The beds in this 2 single bed room were not Hilton standard in terms of comfort and my back was hurting the next morning. I might stay here again if I am on the other side of the hotel which seems to be more modern.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caltex010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland Downtown, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not as you had anticipated. We hope you will consider staying again to give us the opportunity to recreate a more pleasant experience for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I got this hotel through Priceline for three nights. I'm always had good experiences with hotel that I got through Priceline, but not this time. Prior to check-in, the couple in line ahead of me, requested a King bed and were told they had several King rooms available. I was checking in around 9:30 pm. So I decided to ask for a King room. The staff member pulled up my reservation and stated that my reservation was through Hotels.com...then said they had no King rooms available. I was like okay.The second night I asked if any King rooms were available, I was told yes a standard King room was available but I would have to pay an upgrade fee.

There was one other instance that kind of rubbed me the wrong way. There was a conference taking place at the hotel. I went to the front desk to ask a simple question about printing out my boarding pass (which was a free service offered by the hotel) and before he answered my question, he asked if I was here for the conference. I said no. He response was "Oh...well..." I was a guest at the hotel, what did it matter if I was there for the conference or not? I will say that I could be looking at it based on what had happened earlier with the King room and that he meant nothing by it.

I was pleased with the hotel's location. There were a good number of stores and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravens67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnthonyRico, Manager at Hilton Portland Downtown, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience during your stay with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Courtyard Portland City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#24 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#19 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Downtown
Portland Marriott City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Portland Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Portland Downtown

Property: Hilton Portland Downtown
Address: 921 SW 6th Ave, Portland, OR 97204-1124 (Formerly Hilton Portland & Executive Tower)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Portland
#35 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#37 Business Hotel in Portland
#39 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Portland Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Portland Downtown has been transformed into a modern newly redesigned hotel, conveniently located in the heart of downtown with spacious guest rooms and executive level amenities. The hotel is within walking distance of downtown’s business district, exclusive tax-free shopping, authentic restaurants and exciting entertainment venues.* HopCity Tavern & Market - our new restaurant concept featuring a modern American gastro-pub cuisine and a grab and go market featuring Stumptown coffee and grab and go snacks and sandwiches * UPS business center - staffed Mon-Fri and a 24-hour computer/internet access connectivity center * Wireless HSIA available in all guestrooms for a fee * Free Wifi in the lobby * Parking garage * Concierge desk * Complimentary 24-hour fitness room with an indoor waveless lap pool * Computer/internet kiosk available in lobby * ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Portland Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Portland And Executive Tower
Hilton Portland & Executive Tower Hotel Portland
Hilton Portland Executive Hotel
Portland Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing