We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mark Spencer Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$316
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$159
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$142
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sentinel(Portland)
$312
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$194
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$214
$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$204
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$261
$215
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Shilo Inns Portland Airport(Portland)(Great Value!)
$150
$140
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,916)
Filter reviews
1,916 results
Traveler rating
1,124
580
131
51
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,124
580
131
51
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pearlpowell's booksafternoon cookiesgreat locationcontinental breakfastwine tastingwhole foodsespresso machinewine receptionhard boiled eggsnew york timessmall kitchenwalking distanceolder hotelfood cartstwo blocksyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
1,656 - 1,661 of 1,916 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2011

great location to check out old town and the breweries. Room was just ok, nothing fancy.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seattlegirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at the Mark Spencer again this year. The hotel is very clean and quiet. Front desk is always very cordial. The afternoon wine tasting is a very nice perk. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Beds are great. I would recommend this hotel as a place to stay when visiting Portland. It is within walking distance to all the great shopping and restaurants and even Whole Foods.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank princessdecali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

This is a great downtown hotel, right in the pearl district close to everything. My wife and I had a great time! It started with the free wine and cheese in the hotel, then off to dinner at one of the many great resturants close by, then followed up with a movie. The room was clean, the staff was friendly, and we had a very relaxing, good time. I can't wait to do it again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mdcaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Mark Spencer for five nights while attending a medical conference across the street at the Governor Hotel. The room is a small apartment, complete with full kitchen, nice living room, dining table with four chairs, big bedroom with comfortable bed, spacious dressing room, and adequate bathroom with plenty of hot water and great water pressure. Only problem was the aforementioned paper-thin walls, and ceilings, which was only a problem for one night, when a young child was racing back and forth in the room above, for a long time. Outside noise wasn't a problem in our courtyard-facing room The double-paned windows that open do a nice job of blocking noise.

The Mark Spencer is very conveniently located in downtown Portland, close to Powell's and a couple of great grocery stores, walking distance to all the fabulous restaurants in NW Portland. And the neighborhood is safe. And the price is extremely reasonable.

The Mark Spencer is definitely a good choice for anyone looking for a nice place, for not too much money, in a good location.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arachne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Never having stayed in Portland we had no idea where to stay, while not trying to break the bank. Seeing this hotel in a guidebook we stopped by to enquire and were pleasantly surprised by the warmth of the decor and pleasantness of the staff. All in an affordable price. Staff were knowledgeable of the area and provided a great resource to explore the city. Clean, quiet rooms. A location which made walking around downtown easy. Try Kenny and Zukes lunch deli across the street, fabulous food.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Go-wander-rt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews