We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mark Spencer Hotel-A Gem of a Hotel”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #9 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle. WA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mark Spencer Hotel-A Gem of a Hotel”
Reviewed August 24, 2010

My family and I have been coming to Portland for many years and find that the Mark Spencer Hotel meets our needs. It has the charm of old Portland but with modern conveniences. The rooms are spacious and the one bedroom suites come with full kitchen facilities. The continental breakfast is more than adequate and with enough eating areas. The parking has been made easier now with the garage being adjacent to the hotel. We always plan on staying at this hotel when in Portland.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seattlemusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    501
    111
    42
    27
See reviews for
302
611
141
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Room complete with kitchen, tv, etc. Convenient to Powells Book store, restaurants closeby..like upscale 'Jakes' , free Tri met transportation within the city, complete, tasty breakfast, wine tasting in the evening, tea & cookies in the afternoon, parking included in the price of the room, .We would stay there again without a doubt. Management, service staff etc. awesome !!
Hope to return to Portland, Oregon soon and stay @ this hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denverchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Excellent all around with lots of great amenities: kitchen in the room, 24 hour coffee and tea, free wifi and nice wine and cheese reception. Felt like we were staying in a boutique European hotel. Friendly and helpful staff. Price was reasonable considering everything that was included and will definitely go back again when visiting Portland.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viking13579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2010

My mother, sister and I stayed at the Mark Spencer for several days this past June for the occasion of my son's wedding. Your staff is outstanding in professional service and courtesy. The place is lovely, great location, and had everything we needed, but it is because of the young people at the desk as well as those who facilitated daily breakfast who made such a positive impression that we would recommend the Mark Spencer for anyone visiting Portland and we'll definitely return in the future.

Sincerely,

Claudia Viloria

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank germany51us
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We looked for a hotel in the heart of Portland and were not disappointed. Our room was small, but adequate, clean and the service was very good. We even had a small breakfast provided free of charge in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JESTGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We have stayed there multiple times.
the staff really has the 'we aim to please, attitude!"
the location is perfect for us: in shouting distance from Powell’s books,
A short walk to the galleries in the pearl,
or in the opposite direction, the art museum and the
downtown concert halls.
Near some great restaurants too.
A very nice breakfast, the news paper, and sometimes other perks
For example wine tasting.. or afternoon cookies.

They are slowly remodeling.
The place has a dark antique furniture look, not contemporary and trendy..
But don’t let that put you off, it is very clean!
Each room also has a full kitchen and a full size fridge!
We have stayed in many different rooms over the years, some are very spacious some are not. Ask for a quiet room because the rooms next to the street can be noisy
And the underground parking is far better then the lot across the street.

They also have various discount packages , depending on your interests.
The Mark Spencer is ‘our hotel’ when we are Portland.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, OR
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Have stayed there many times. It's like having an apartment in the city. Not fancy, but the Junior Suite feels just like home and the full kitchen is a bonus. Right by Powell's Books, the Pearl District is nearby and the light rail is free and right outside the front door. The only downside is their parking garage - very steep ramp and very tight turns. Both my brothers met us there for a wedding and they both ended up with really big rental cars. They were like parking the Queen Mary!
We've stayed there with our dogs in the past and they really make them (and us) feel welcome.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EugeneTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 143 in Portland
2,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 143 in Portland
1,383 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#7 of 143 in Portland
1,212 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#16 of 143 in Portland
2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Property: Mark Spencer Hotel
Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing