We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed Our Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #8 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Enjoyed Our Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2006

This hotel is great for those looking for close proximity to the Pearl District, Lloyd Center, great restaurants (HIGHLY recommend Jake's Crawfish, Henry's Restaurant, and PF Chang's, all w/in short walking distance)and quick, easy access to major freeways. Yes, the hotel has been around for years, but that's part of the charm. The only negative we found (and we've stayed in many hotels, from 3 to 5 stars) is the thin walls, but at night it was quiet enough. The staff is excellent, we felt very well taken care of. For the price, this hotel is a very good value.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    683
    458
    99
    35
    25
See reviews for
256
530
129
191
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2006

We stayed at the Mark Spencer for 2 nights in early March, 2006. They have off street parking which is a real plus. The staff tries VERY hard to help in any way they can, they are great. But, the hotel is old and the walls are VERY thin. ANY NOISE in the next room or 2 rooms away is noise in your own room. We go to bed around 10:00 (we get up at 5:00) so we were awakened by the elevator and noise at bar closing time, even though we were several doors away. You can easily walk to anywhere in the Pearl District. We walked to Powells Books (1 block) and to Jakes Crawfish restaurant, Henry's 12th St Tavern, Pioneer Courthouse Square, Niketown, and several little shops and restaurants and bars. There are street cars and buses and the Max rail line is close also. The hotel has been remodelled recently and the rooms are nice with Queen beds and they all have small kitchens. There is a view from the top of the building and in nice weather you could go up there and sit at the tables. They have "tea" in a small room at 4:00 p.m. every day with butter cookies. There were always rather unfriendly older well-to-do people at tea. When we (dressed in jeans and nice shirts) tried to engage anyone in conversation, we were ignored or worse. A continental breakfast is served, but it is juice, coffee and pastries. Not much. We would stay there again on the off season, but it is too noisy if there are any people in the rooms close to you.

Helpful?
12 Thank touristas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, B.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2006

We stayed here between Christmas and New Year. Thought it was great value. Having a FULL kitchen was very helpful plus we got a continental breakfast and tea and coffee during the afternoon. Found the hotel to be very quiet even though they were fully booked. Wonderful to be so close to Powells Bookstore and Whole Foods and we were able to walk to everything downtown - shopping, theatre, etc.etc. Fareless zone is provided by bus, trolley, etc. but we never needed it. We would definitely stay here again. Also staff very helpful.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pat Cox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2005

For me, it's always a pleasure to stay at the Mark Spencer. I've stayed at the Mark Spencer numerous times since 2000, and I consider it a "home away from home" whenever I go to Portland on weekends for the theatre, museums and books thing. I really respect and admire the hotel's committment to the arts, literature and culture, that is one of the primary reasons why I chose to stay there again and again.

The staff is always friendly and non-pretentious, and it's great fun to meet other guests from all over the world while enjoying the afternoon tea and breakfasts, both of which do not disappoint in terms of variety of foods.

While not overly trendy, the hotel's decor is tasteful and modestly elegant. The rooms themselves are large and comfortable. The kitchenette was well equipped, too! Yes, it's true that the neighborhood is not exactly a pristine "suburbia", but I don't feel endangered there at any time, nor do I find it at all noisy, even during the weekend I stayed there during the Rose Festival!

The only complaint I would have re: this hotel is that they don't develop that top level terrace more and perhaps cultivate a garden up there. It would really add to the ambiance of the place, especially in the summertime...however, I found it delightful to be up there in the morning on my own...one Spring visit I sat up there just sipping coffee and watching the sun rise through the rain. It was very peaceful...and inspiring.

and of course, the price of a stay there is just right for someone with champagne tastes but a tap water budget :)

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2005

We stayed one night at the Mark Spencer. We opted for a Junior Suite -- one bedroom with a queen bed and a sofabed in the living room. I was impressed with the nice staff (they responded nicely to every request) and the cleanliness of the hotel but other features were overrated.

The room decor was in need of an update (reminded me of the hotels I stayed in as a child -- in the seventies!) -- there was water/steam damage to the bathroom door. There were no linens for the sofabed, I had to go down to the front desk at bedtime to get one thin blanket (that gave me static shocks all night -- no top sheet was provided) and a pillow with no pillow case. Sigh.

The continental breakfast was a nice resource but pretty simple (not a lot of variety) and not as fresh as it could have been.

I would be remiss, though, if I didn't say nice things about the lovely and friendly staff. Very friendly and responsive -- it goes a long way toward making up for the disappointing (for the price) accomodations.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank pmaranan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Property: Mark Spencer Hotel
Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing