We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & Bad”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 20, 2009

The front desk staff were very nice, helpful and professional. The room itself was nice (roomy w/kitchenette) but had a very bad odor (musty?) - really bad. Although on the fringe of the Pearl District I enjoyed the walk to the city center and, also to Powell's Books (just around the corner). The location worked out well for me. I was extremely frustrated with the internet connection. This affected my business trip tremendously. I initially tried the free connection which froze after a few minutes. The front desk suggested that the higher speed ($) connection would be better. Nope. Neither service allowed more than a few minutes of connectivity. Had to go around the corner to a local coffee house to get a little work done. I came very close to seeking out an alternate hotel due to this.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Posaune641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,438 - 1,444 of 1,586 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2009

I recently traveled to Portland on business and spent three nights at the Mark Spencer Hotel. I was favorably impressed by the helpfulness of the staff, and I appreciated the size and comfort of the rooms. I stayed in a basic room, which I had booked using one of the online companies (which gave me a 30% discount off the rack rate). The closet and bathroom were huge, and the room included a full-size refrigerator, sink, and stove. There is no microwave. The hotel serves a basic continental breakfast. Parking is either $16 or $18/night. There is free wireless internet but it is VERY slow. You will not be able to use it for many business purposes (it look 5 minutes to load an email account, so forget about VPN). For those that like fresh produce, Whole Foods Market was only a short walk away. Overall, highly recommended but if you need internet for work be wary!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juicebox1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2009

The advantage of staying at this hotel is that it is centrally located in downtown Portland (which may be good for those who like to be near the street action) and it is within walking distance from the bookstore appropriately named "Powell's City of Books". The service was friendly and upon check-in, we were upgraded to the "executive suite". Unfortunately, the best we can say about our room is that it had a kitchenette and free WiFi. The walls were very thin. We could clearly hear the conversation of people in the hallway and the head of our bed seemed to be against the neighbor's closet/drawers that were frequently opened and closed. The room's appearance was very disappointing. There were chipped paint and dirt spots on the walls and spots on the hem of the drapes. We were supplied with one hotel-size bar of soap to be used for both the sink and the bath. The bathroom had cheap-looking linoleum floors with parts of the linoleum baseboards peeling from the wall. Finally, there was a $16 hotel fee to park in its inconveniently located lot situated a half-block down and across a busy street. This was a pretty expensive hotel and we really expected better.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank SCTravellers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We stayed at the Mark Spencer hotel for 6 nights. It is in a perfect location for reaching everything in downtown Portland on foot that you would want to see. We walked everywhere and when we needed to relax, we returned to the hotel. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. The accommodations were better than average for a very reasonable price. This was our second time in Portland, but our first at this hotel, and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

My hubby and I love going to Portland for a quick, affordable vacay. We wanted a hotel that was close to Powell's, shopping, restaurants and was inexpensive. We found it in the old-school but charming Mark Spencer Hotel. Also, we always try to book a hotel that has at least a fridge and coffeemaker so we can make our own oatmeal in the morning, and store our lunch/dinner leftovers during the rest of the day. If there's a microwave, that's icing on the cake. So, we were THRILLED to find the Mark Spencer equipped with a full kitchen! Not only did we get a coffeemaker, FULL-sized fridge, and a microwave, we also got a stove/oven, sink, pots, pans, plates, cups, bowls, silverware, dish drainer and dish-washing supplies. What more could we ask for? There's friendly staff and the rooms are very clean. We'll be back again. Also, take advantage of their NAME YOUR BID offer on their web site. We bid a price 25% lower than their best rate and we got it!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PonyOnWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Clean, older style hotel. The room even had a completely equipped kitchen with a stove, including oven, but no microwave. Spacious closet, many drawers; iron & board. Friendly, attentive staff, especially Onielia. Good start continental breakfast. Afternoon "tea" in a cosy setting. I'm glad I stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HaveANiceStay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2009

the hotel is good, however the location could have been better. breakfast was great.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mdasiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,836 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#7 of 144 in Portland
1,240 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $147 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing