We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for touring Portland”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #9 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location for touring Portland”
Reviewed March 27, 2009

Our first trip to Portland and we arrived by train so we wanted to stay somewhere close to Downtown so we could explore the city. The location of the Mark Spencer is excellent. Streetcar is on the hotel street, light rail a block away and all transit is fareless within the downtown zone. They do charge for parking so we were glad we didn't come with a car and you really don't need one to explore this city.
The hotel is definitely older but we can tell they have been regularly upgrading/renovating it...newer carpets, fresh paint, installing new windows on upper floor. Some of the furniture may look a bit worn and dated but the positives to staying here far outweightnot having the fancy decor (that you'd be paying for with a higher room rate!) The bathroom was spotlessly clean, I've stayed in other more expensive hotels and wouldn't say the same about their cleaning!
The service of all the staff we met was friendly and extremely helpful in giving us tips for around the city.
If you're looking for a good price, clean hotel and excellent location this is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riakatSurrey_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    501
    111
    42
    27
See reviews for
302
611
141
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2009

In September 2008, we spent several days at the Mark Spencer for a conference. The Pearl District, where the hotel is located, is a gentrifying neighborhood; for my tastes, too gentrified (every upscale chain seems to have a shop around there), but some more conservative attendees were slightly nervous about a nearby SRO hotel that was most definitely not gentrified at all. Didn't bother me (but I tend to live in lively urban areas anyhow), & we were out late with no incidents. Now for the good stuff. The hotel is itself a former SRO; it's been renovated but has not become Shiny Modern -- it's still got plenty of character. Our room (we got a suite, well worth the money) was quite big, with a bedroom & a separate living room/kitchenette that had a stove & full-size fridge. Cookware, plates, etc. were provided -- I cooked several meals there (& washed my own dishes, why not?), v. convenient. No shortage of nearby restaurants if you don't feel like cooking. Bed was clean & comfy, though closet space was a bit limited. No in-room safe -- I locked valuables in a suitcase, no problems. Bathroom was spotless & there was plenty of hot water. General atmosphere was low-key & the cleaning staff & front desk folks were extremely helpful & friendly, even when dealing with dozens of people in 1940s costume (that'd be us). Apparently dogs are allowed -- we met a couple of small ones. We parked in the hotel garage & mostly walked -- there's also excellent public transportation. Powell's Books is only a couple of blocks away -- if Powell's drew you to Portland, & you prefer funky to glitzy, try the Mark Spencer. I'd go back in a heartbeat -- we stayed a couple of days post-conference, checked out other neighborhoods & Portland's fabulous gardens, went off to tour vineyards for a day, & had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HennaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2009

We stayed at The Mark Spencer hotel for four days while staying to attend a neice's graduation. I got a fabulous deal on a junior suite from Southwest's website. I had read reviews complaining about the slow elevators before we got there but had no such problems during our stay. The breakfast that comes with the room was very good but they would run out of things if you didn't get down to the lobby early. It borders on The Pearl District and is very close to Powell's bookstore but the surrounding area of the hotel was kind of scary at night. There was a very loud club across the street but the noise never reached our room. The living room was large which was good with several family members stopping by to visit. The furniture was very dated and reminded me of the 60's but was functional. The bedroom was a little cramped but that was only because the bed was so big and comfy.

The one big problem was the day we were going to check out. Check out was noon and we were waiting until the last possible minute because we were going to be spending the next four hours at the airport before our flight. Even with a do not disturb sign on the door, Housekeeping started knocking on our door at 10am and did it every half an hour until we checked out. We mentioned the problem when we checked out and got a nice leter the next week from the manager giving us a free night the next time we stayed there. The hotel staff were very helpful arrangeing a city tour and also getting us cabs. It is a smaller, older hotel but the amenities were worth the price.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Neighborhood
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dknighto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

I will echo what another reviewer said about the rooms being shabby and the bed being really uncomfortable. The room was also very small, as is fitting for an old-timey hotel, and we had an antique refrigerator in our unit. But the price was right and the location is great.

We had friends staying across the street in the Ace, and the MS suffered by comparison. Ace had been remodeled, and although some of those rooms were very unorthodox, they were much cleaner and newer for around the same price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Needed updating
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JLHurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

We spent 3 days at the Mark Spencer at the end of September. The hotel was clean and well kept, the breakfast was fresh and the perfect start to our days of sight seeing and shopping.
I love the close proximity to Powell's Books and Whole Foods. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.
I am looking forward to visiting Portland again, and I will stay at the Mark Spencer on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8973Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2008

The have great deals on their rooms. I was here on business and got an executive mini suite. It was a good room. I think the location is perfect. There are some great places very close to it.
My room was clean and the front desk people were nice and informative. Will come again.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank go_john_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2008

Stayed here for an economics conference. Terrible hotel, the room was dingy and poorly lit. The carpet was sticky with some substance I dare not know. The pillows were horrible. They never cleaned the room, only changed the bed. They left dirty glasses and dishes in the sink while we were there. Also, the air conditioner and refrigerator were *ancient*, and thus very inefficient electricity-wasters. The hallways smell like mothballs and death.

This is a cheap hotel, but with the accomodations they offer it should be a lot cheaper. I paid ~$120 a night but even at that price I expect more. It isn't a clean hotel.

Very bad experience.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank coach198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 143 in Portland
2,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 143 in Portland
1,383 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#7 of 143 in Portland
1,212 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#16 of 143 in Portland
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Property: Mark Spencer Hotel
Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing