We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #9 of 142 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great location, good value”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Located in the heart of Portland, this older building is a great location. You can walk everywhere. The executive suite included a combo living room/kitchen. The staff was helpful. Breakfast was easy. Parking is available. A good value for the price especially in a big city.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We get many comments on our location, but it's certainly worth mentioning again! Portland is such a walkable city with short city blocks, easy to use public transportation with shops and restaurants everywhere! And who doesn't love tax-free shopping? We would love to welcome you back again the next time you visit our beautiful city. Thank you for staying with us - it was our pleasure to be your host!
All the best,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    775
    483
    107
    38
    27
See reviews for
285
581
139
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This old girl was typical of older renovated hotels but very clean and the a/c worked very well . You have to expect a smaller bathroom an older kitchenette and slow elevators . My only quibble was there was no signage for the ice machine but after a brief search I consulted the front desk to discover it was in the basement .
The doorman was very helpful in selecting restaurants .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillyV007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
I enjoyed reading your comment about "the old girl" - she is definitely in the process of getting a refresh! Portland has so many beautiful older buildings and The Mark Spencer is proud to be in their company. As we move forward with renovations, we are conscious of keeping the beauty of the building intact. We have many exciting plans for her future and hope you will return to see the creative use of space that will be incorporated into the guestrooms and public areas. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

All the best,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I make work trips out to Portland on a regular basis and Mark Spencer is my go-to hotel of choice. It's in a terrific location downtown (SW side, walking distance to my work, metro, Powells, plus a Whole Foods and lots of restaurants). I've never had anything but a positive experience there. There's a wonderful, home-y feel to the place. Staff are incredibly helpful, whether it's letting me store luggage or helping out when I forgot an important item (toothbrushes are important!). They offer a complimentary breakfast, plus have mini-kitchens in the spacious rooms. I really appreciate all the nice touches to make my stay feel like home. Plus, if you've got a pooch, they are dog-friendly. My organization is considering exclusively booking out-of-town staff here for any business trips.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keaneontravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Wow! We couldn't have asked for a nicer review or a better endorsement. The things you mentioned that you appreciate as a guest are important to us as well. We want to make your stay enjoyable and stress-free - right down to the fresh baked cookies in our library! Thank you for your past, present and any future stays with us! It is our pleasure to have you as our guest!

Warm Regards,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
british columbia, canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

As others have said - great location, good pricing relative to competition including breakfast and parking cost, friendly staff. Booked a king suite and got a 'executive king' suite which had two rooms on a corner so lots of windows and light. No noise. Perfect for a Portland long weekend.

Room Tip: Spend the extra and book a king suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank georanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
It's always nice to hear when one of our guests has enjoyed their stay at our hotel. My staff will enjoy reading your review as they truly feel "at their best" when assisting our guests! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your kind review. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We selected the Mark Spencer for our stay in Portland because of its location and reasonable price. It is easy walking distance to Powell's Books, great coffee, restaurants and shopping. We found it easy to find by car from the airport, and were able to park out front in order to check in before moving the car to underground parking accessible from the hotel($18/day, but coupons can be found on line).

Front desk staff was always great to deal with- friendly, and willing to go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Coffee, tea, ice water is always available in the lobby. Continental breakfast is included in the morning, and tea and wine served in the afternoon.

This hotel is undergoing renovation, but we were not disturbed in any way by this during our stay. The common areas (comfortable for lounging, plus exercise room and laundry) are clean as are the rooms. Queen rooms are not huge, but do include a kitchenette-great for any beer or wine you want to try while visiting Oregon!

We also stayed in a suite with Queen bed and fold out sofa in a separate living room. The fold out was better than average- the price for the suite (including kitchenette) quite reasonable, and I would recommend this option as economical choice if you are traveling with a teenager or small children.

Overall, I really like this hotel- it is not a modern or large chain hotel, but the newly renovated,clean rooms, friendly staff, and terrific location make this my choice for a couples or family stay in downtown Portland.

Room Tip: Some rooms have view of Mt. Hood
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
We always love to hear how much our guests love Portland - and our location! Powell's Books draws in many visitors just to see one of the biggest book stores in the world - and only 1 block from our hotel. So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I'll be sharing your review with my staff as they, too, will enjoy reading your kind comments. Thank you for staying with us - we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm Regards,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Sourced from Ireland; just shows how much this thought and care go into your stay. Also greeted by a Birthday treat in the room - sweet.

Location: perfect, within walking distance of the best stuff.

Rooms: a little retro - which was fun - and quiet enough. View was fine as we were there to explore, not peer out the window.

Privacy: it's more like an apartment, entrance has a private feel vs. splashy hotel foyer, so you don't feel on display or obliged to greet the desk staff (friendly as they are).

Staff: very helpful, knowledgeable and personable.

We'll be back in the Fall - for sure. Why stay anywhere else?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
We love our sheets, too! As a matter of fact, our entire bedding package (sheets, duvet, mattresses) are all carefully chosen for comfort. On your next visit, I encourage you to request a renovated room so you can see all the added amenities in these beautiful guestrooms - new carpeting, bathrooms, kitchens, furnishings, artwork and large HD TV's.
Thank you for choosing The Mark Spencer Hotel. We look forward to seeing you in the fall.

Warm Regards,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Full of images from the show Portlandia, and the crime novels of Alafair Burke, our family was looking for an unpretentious hotel in Portland with a great location and we found it in The Mark Spenser. We were a block from Powell's a book lover's dream, and an easy walk through the Pearl District, and to the Saturday Market past the fabulous food carts, as well as to the running trails on the Willamette River. Our suite was comfortable and quiet. Staff were helpful. And the free breakfast, tea and cookies, and wine tasting in the first floor dining and living room areas were a very homey touch. We would stay there again and highly recommend the hotel for leisure travel.

Room Tip: The suites have a lot of space as well as minimal kitchen facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDELL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
With the show "Portlandia" in mind, I'm happy we didn't disappoint you! Portland is so full of history with many areas retaining their original structures, it makes exploring the city an adventure. Add to that the many popular attractions that are Portland born and bred, and you have a very vibrant city that welcomes every visitor!
I hope you will visit us again soon. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.

All the best,

Pam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 142 in Portland
2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#5 of 142 in Portland
1,371 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 142 in Portland
1,207 reviews
Inn at Northrup Station
#7 of 142 in Portland
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Property: Mark Spencer Hotel
Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing