We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff!”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The staff at the Mark Spencer was great! I was a little disheveled when I arrived and discovered there was no one out front to help me with my heavy bags (btw, if I had just called in, I'm sure they would have sent someone out right away!), so I had to drag them to the elevator and across the lobby. As I was checking in, I mentioned I need help with my bag, one of the staff (gentleman with gray hair and glasses), grabbed the heaviest one and said, "no problem!" and took it right to my room before anyone could get a cart. When I tried to tip him, he said, "keep your money!"... He gave me a few tips for dinner and breakfast (which I used, Tasty and Alder has amazing food!).

Every time I walked by the front desk, I observed someone being extra helpful and friendly! (even when the guests were being annoying! LOL!).

My room was very comfortable, and extra clean! which I really appreciate. The cabinets look a little scratched up, but it sounds like this is something that is being updated as I write this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Wow! Thank you for your kind words to my staff. The gentleman you referred to is John, one of our remarkable front desk employees, and I will be happy to pass along your comments to him. Each member of our staff has their favorite Portland places and are happy to share them with our guests. I'm happy to hear you found "Tasty & Alder" a real treat!
We hope you will return to visit us again on your next trip to Portland. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest.

Warm Regards,

Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,034 - 1,040 of 1,678 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Check in was fine though someone next to me was checking prices. They quoted her $60 less for the same room. When I mentioned it, they ushered me out quickly. The room was fine... An old fridge, stove, and sink were in the corner which was kind of weird. Overall, very clean and quiet. The extras are plentiful. I was left a bottle of wine for my birthday, there was wine, cheese, crackers, cookies in the evening, and a decent continental breakfast. The parking garage was tiny, but free. Check out was super busy so they needed more than two staff. Overall, I'd give it a solid 4 (of 5).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank familyfunMBSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

I would like to wish you a Happy Belated Birthday!" I hope you enjoyed your time in Portland and was able to find the perfect location for your birthday dinner! With so many delicious restaurants, it's hard to choose.
With regard to your room rate, I can only assume the lower rate you overheard quoted at check in to another guest was the difference between your room type and theirs.
I hope you are having a very special vacation and we thank you for being our guest.

Warm Regards,

Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Stayed here one night on a family road trip. Arrived about 2 pm and were able to check in early. Unfortunately, we were told the hotel garage was already full and were directed to a crowded lot around the corner from the hotel. The room was bright and sunny with 2 queens and a fold out sofa bed in a separate room. There was an apartment size fridge with a sink and small stove as well. The beds & pillows were very comfortable. The bathroom was old & outdated - no fan, very little counter space, very little water pressure in the shower & water that changed every few minutes from ice cold to hot. Breakfast was included and consisted of breads, hard boiled eggs, cereals and fruit. Good location for exploring the old town area - walking distance to china town, voodoo donuts, etc. Overall a good stay but the bathroom could definitely be improved upon. Also would have been happier if we could have parked in a secure lot as expected.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harbor4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2013

Thank you for your review and for allowing us to be your host on your family road trip. We love to see entire families traveling together and Portland is a wonderful city to explore. It sounds as if Voodoo Doughnuts made it on your"Portland's Must See" list! On any given day, we'll see 3 to 4 pink doughnut boxes being carried around the hotel lobby!
We will be undergoing more renovations this fall with complete remodel of our guestrooms, including new furnishings, kitchens, carpeting, bedding and bathrooms. I hope you will return to see the improvements!

Have a wonderful summer!

Warm Regards,

Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The staff was very helpful in setting the room up to meet our needs. We were traveling with a young child. We needed a microwave for heating bottles and we had a crib and other amenities delivered to the room. The staff had everything in the room for us when we arrived. They were also very friendly and helpful in helping us get around in an unknown city. If we are ever in Portland again, I would definitely consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We love having families at the hotel as the children always make for interesting conversation. As with your little one, we can always accommodate babies with a crib, microwave or anything they require. Our Front Desk staff is happy to handle any neccessities, as well. We also have a Treasure Chest for older children which allows them to choose a welcome amenity for themselves!
We hope to see you again and would be very happy to welcome you back to The Mark Spencer Hotel.
Enjoy your summer!

Warm Regards,

Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel started out my best birthday trip ever and it was a big part of it! Wish I could've stayed the whole time but couldn't afford it but I stayed solo so if have another person to cut costs it's not bad at all! People complain about dated refrigerator and things, it added to charm for me! Great bed, wonderful staff, great wine/cheese reception, great location. Not enough great things to say! If I don't move there and only visit I'm staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luv2travel719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Wow! Thank you for your kind review - it's fun to hear how much our visitors love Portland! It sounds as if you might have to make another trip to celebrate next year's birthday.

I'm happy you were able to join us for our evening wine reception. This gathering is always the highlight of the day - to meet and chat with our guests.

As renovations continue, the hotel is getting more comfortable (furnishings, bedding, etc.) while retaining it's charm and hospitality.

I hope you had a wonderful birthday celebration in our beautiful city!

Warm Regards,

Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I would have to agree with a previous reviewer that the rooms are cramped and the room furniture old. We liked the kitchenette but there were problems--for instance, the refrigerator door kept opening on its own. The carpet is not particularly clean, which bothers us more than it should. Bathroom the size of a postage stamp. The beds are comfortable and perhaps it's because we didn't stay on a weekend but rather during the week, and the room was quiet. So sleep is easy! The parking garage is an excellent feature but it's tiny and challenging to get in and out. The hotel's location is what it's all about--you can walk or catch a bus pretty much anywhere in Portland. We came to visit Lewis & Clark College and it was fun using public transportation to get there. Powell's Books is nearby, which is great if you like huge musty bookstores with an impressive selection of overpriced books. The MS doorman (Logan?) is helpful, friendly, courteous, just the best. The staff overall is top-notch. So it's a mixed bag but we would stay there again.

Room Tip: See if you can get a renovated room, as they apparently exist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

I would like to thank you for taking time to send in your review and will happily pass your comments on to Logan.
We do have an ideal location for seeing the city with an excellent public transportation system. I hope you had a chance to ride the trolley, which runs right past our front door. Seeing the city on foot is another popular option as we have very walkable, small city blocks.This allows you to duck into any number of shops, restaurants, museums and brew pubs!
We are doing extensive renovations to our guestrooms and public areas and I hope you will return to see the improvements.
I hope you enjoyed Lewis & Clark - it's a beautiful campus!
Thank you for being our guest!

Warm Regards,
Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I booked a room the day before arrival after having seen on the hotel webside that rooms were avaible. The website said that I would have the best rate if I booked directly, but luckily I checked hotels.com and saved 20 dollars by booking from their website. The room was small to american standards but both room and bathroom were fully updated to a 4-star standard. Why the bed mattress was not soft we had a good night sleep. It is positive that you can have coffee/tea and a muffin for free in the lobby in the afternoon. Breakfast was included in the room rate, but the quality does not equalize the breakfast that we had in B&B´s. The location is perfect with a 15 minutes walk to downtown and a lot of restaurants and bars around the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you so much for visiting Portland all the way from Denmark!

I was happy to hear you found a good rate and that you chose The Mark Spencer Hotel for your accommodations. Our website does offer the best rate available each day and I would like to apologize to you if you were unable to locate our "Best Rate." We also encourage our travelers to phone us directly so we can personalize your accommodations to fit your traveling needs.

Our location is, indeed, a highlight for our guests. With so many delicious restaurants within a few blocks, it's hard to choose!

Safe travels to you this summer. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest!

Warm Regards,

Pam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,865 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $135 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing