We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice boutique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #12 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

very charming boutique hotel in a nice part of town. staff is very friendly & helpful. nice clean room & bath. and they have wine tastings at 6pm!

there was some delay in check in because the housekeeping staff wasn't turning the rooms over fast enough. other than that, we had a great stay and will definitely stay there again next time we're in portland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for taking time to share your experience at The Mark Spencer Hotel. I'm happy that you found our staff friendly and helpful. They love to share their knowledge about Portland with our travelers.

I hope you had a chance to visit some of our beautiful museums, scrumptious dining and distinctive shopping. All make for a great vacation!

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest. We look forward to your next visit.

Pam Coser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    651
    451
    98
    35
    26
See reviews for
240
514
128
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

I love the feel of this place! The staff is wonderful, the location perfect for city access and it has a homey, and decidedly not fancy feel. With that being said, the bed was comfortable and we were (for the third time in 5 visits) upgraded to an executive suite- a nice plus since I used the "name your price" reservation strategy.
Parking in the garage or street lot works fine (if you get a close in spot in the lot or a very small car), but the lot is a tight fit (easy to get in to, challenging to get out).... But it's Portland! Bring your bike and there is no need for a car!
We never have taken advantage of the breakfast, but do enjoy the afternoon cookies (really good chocolate chip/ macadamia nut!). Didn't try the wine or appetizers either... Too much good food in this town!

Room Tip: The "08" rooms are sandwiched between others, but are nice, no street noise. On previous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olelee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Mark Spencer Hotel and for your kind comments. Our location is one of the best for all that Portland has to offer. Sometimes I think we're spoiled with Powell's Bookstore just one block away. I hope you had a chance to ride the Portland streetcar. That, too, is right outside our door and is a great way to see some fun and interesting parts of the city.

Maybe on your next visit you can sample some of Oregon's fine wines at our complimentary wine reception. We serve local and regional wines and it's a wonderful opportunity to enjoy these varietals and mingle with our staff and other guests.

We look forward to seeing you again. Enjoy the summer!

Pam Coser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is probably one if the worst experiences I have had in a hotel. Loud until 11:30, then starting at 5:30 am. They put us next to construction and a barking dog. The desk staff was nice enough, but holy moly. Never again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
I would like to offer my sincerest apology for any noise disturbance you experienced as our guest. We strive to provide each guest with an pleasant experience.

We take each comment as an opportunity to improve our service to you and I want to thank you for your candid response.

Have a safe and enjoyable summer!

Pam Coser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle, wa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed at this hotel last week. It is in the heart of downtown Portland and you can park your car and walk to many, many attractions. It's an older hotel but well maintained. Rooms are not fancy but certainly adequate - plus they have full kitchens if you are inclined to cook. Beds are very comfortable. The parking is cheapest of any downtown hotel but don't take a really big SUV to this garage - it's tricky. Staff was great. Breakfast was good, 24 hour espresso machine, cookies and tea plus wine and cheese every day - all included. The only criticism we had was when our neighbor showered, it sounded like a river running thru our room too - very noisy. But we would certainly return to the Mark Spencer.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the front side for people watching or the back side for a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yogalady67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of The Mark Spencer Hotel. I have to agree with you about our location. We really are located right in the heart of the city - and only 1 block from Powell's Book Store! Restaurants, museums, festivals - all within walking distance. So many things to see and never enough time.

Our beautiful, historic hotel is undergoing renovations to all guestrooms and public areas. I would love to have you return to see the improvements and upgrades that are taking place.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest!

Pam Coser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
acsc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The staff here are so incredibly kind, courteous and truly understand customer service - I am giving this hotel 5 stars just for the staff alone. For some reason the few days that I needed to stay in Portland it was impossible to get a room for the 3 nights I needed unless I wanted to move from one hotel to another just to get a good rate, which was NOT going to happen. So I reluctantly plunked down 309.00 a night for their King Bed suite. Nothing fancy, but I wasn't aware that their suites are more akin to the self serve type than the "serve me " type. Once I got over that I was fine. BUT they make up for that in great regularly priced rooms plus free breakfast, great free wifi, a civilized tea hour and an even more civilized wine and cheese hour, all free! they are renovating but it's in a great location, and like I said the rooms are nothing fancy (but the bed is fantastically comfortable!), the perks are great, it's in a great location and the staff are just all wonderful. Sincerity and kindness and knowing customer service goes a long way in my book!

Room Tip: get what you need. If you are family and want to save some money then the suites are a good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding the service you received at The Mark Spencer Hotel. We love taking care of our guests and I have to admit to having some of the most service minded employees in the industry. I will be certain to pass along your comments to them.

I'm happy you enjoyed the complimetary amenities we offer on a daily basis. Our wine hour always proves to be a gathering place for guests to mingle while sampling our delicious Oregon wines. The smell of fresh baked cookies at tea time also seems to bring guests in to sit and enjoy a cup of tea.

If you find yourself in Portland again, I hope you will allow us to be your host and show you what's new after renovations.

I would personally like to thank you for being our guest - it was truly our pleasure!

Pam Coser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

first this was a family reunion and we booked three rooms (a junior double queen suite, two kings) . I had originally booked the junior double queen suite but it had to be changed to a queen suite and a standard queen (because of renovations according to the desk person). the pull out sofa was not that comfortable. The rooms were spacious.
The bathroom was a little cramped (not any counter space - narrow)
The closet was good sized
the kitchen lacked a microwave which given the central location and multitude of restaurants made the left overs hard to heat up
The continental breakfast was plentiful in options. The espresso machine had a constant line-up and was super slow in producing coffee drinks. but the regular coffee was fine
The tea time and wine tasting were a nice addition but being there for 6 days the offerings were the same each day--cookies and pizza and cheese and crackers

The not changing the towels (for ecological reasons) seemed a bit spotty (even though towels hung up some got changed anyway)

so what is excellent--the pillow top beds--very comfortable, rooms quiet, hotel centrally located to downtown, , cleanliness, air-conditioning worked well, and price for the value

Room Tip: the inside courtyard seemed quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RWFY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I would like to personally thank you for being our guest and for sharing your concerns with us.

Within the next two years we will be doing extensive renovations to the hotel. This will include complete guest room remodeling with upgrades - including new sofa beds! The bathrooms will have more shelving, counter space and enhanced lighting.

You're right - our espresso machine is quite popular and therefore we have many guests gathering around for a good cup of morning coffee or a latte.

I'm glad you were able to experience our complimentary wine reception. We do serve local Oregon wines and try to bring a new varietal out each evening for our guests to sample. It's a great place to mingle and meet other travelers.

I hope on your next visit to Portland, you will return to see what's new. Thank you for choosing The Mark Spencer Hotel - it was a pleasure to have you as our guest!

Pam Coser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Thank goodness the sun was shining and we were out of the hotel exploring Portland during most of our stay. The room was cramped, the furniture is falling apart, the carpet felt oily, the sink drain emitted a foul odor and the bathroom was teeny tiny. We would never stay here again. Only redeeming quailities were the location, the doorman and surprisingly the beds were comfy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alchandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pam-Coser, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review. So happy to hear you loved our bedding!

The hotel is undergoing renovations and, unfortunately, the room you were assigned to has not been remodeled as yet. We have nearly completed work on half of the hotel corridors, adding new guestroom doors, artwork and carpeting. Also included in our renovation process is the complete remodel of our guestrooms, including new furnishings, kitchens, carpeting, bedding and bathrooms. In addition, we will be adding more insulation and sound proofing.

I hope if you return to Portland, you will stop in to see the beautiful remodeled rooms - and the bedding you loved (which is new) will still be here!

Thank you for being our guest - it was truly our pleasure!

Pam Coser
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,674 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Property: Mark Spencer Hotel
Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing