We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mark Spencer

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mark Spencer
Ranked #15 of 137 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Oak Lawn, IL
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel is within walking distance to fun neighborhoods, restaurants, food carts, and shopping. We loved the afternoon wine tasting and treats in the lounge each day and had our fair share of espresso drinks from the self-serve machine! Bedding was super soft and comfy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjh78723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    409
    89
    34
    23
See reviews for
190
440
116
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willowbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I were at the Mark Spencer to see our nephew perform at the Portland Center for Arts a few blocks away. We liked the room, and even though not there for a long time appreciate the frig. and stove for extended stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 594PaulSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Mark Spencer was top-notch! The staff was helpful and friendly, the room was really a suite, with a separate sitting room and a kitchenette. It was quiet and clean. It is convenient to everything we wanted to do and see. What put this hotel above others was all the extras: breakfast in the morning, 24 hour coffee and espresso machine, cookies and tea mid afternoon, and wine tasting and appetizers late afternoon. They have a nice atrium where people gather to eat and talk, so you naturally get to know others who a staying there. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I love this hotel for many reasons. 1) the service: you get a real person on the phone who is helpful and patient. 2) the rooms are so '50s: small bedroom and bath, but with a kitchenette and living room! 3) There's a friendly feel to the place. I'll always stay here when in Portland.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toni i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ventura
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Mark Spencer as part of a 35 day US road trip, based on the preponderance of great comments on Trip Advisor, which I relied on for recommendations on an 8,800 mile trek. Road weary, and pulling in late in the day, we were exuberantly greeted by the doorman (Mike?) and the inside staff, and made to feel welcome by all those we encountered throughout the stay.

We were upgraded to a third floor suite (snap) which was basically a small apartment. The room was very clean, well maintained, with a very comfortable bed. A bit crowed for a sufficient breakfast, but homey, as folks were gathered around the available dining and lobby spaces. The coffee/expresso machine was a treat, making all sorts of on-demand quality brews.

The location on the edge of the Pearl district was great for our city walking tours, and close to great restaurants. Great deli right out the front door. Hats off to the staff and management for a fine experience. The building is historic, so expect character, not glitz. The rates were a real deal when compared to some of the other similar properties in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joe_barre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A very welcoming staff and the guests just naturally form a community, talking together over breakfast in the morning, cookies in the afternoon and wine tasting late in the afternoon. This is a great location for walking to many interesting stores and restaurants. We loved having the little kitchen area, so we could put together our own meals and snacks here and there too. The bed was firm. I would suggest bringing pillows from home though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My husband I and had a wonderful stay at the Mark Spencer 5/20 to 5/22. We had been on a 3000 mile road trip and this was our last hotel stay before returning to our home in the San Francisco Bay Area. Our upgraded room, a queen suite, was very comfortable. Check in was easy and the staff were very helpful. The self-serve espresso machine was a plus for us. The hotel is old but the renovations are modern. The room rates were modest in comparison with other hotels. We will definitely stay at The Mark Spencer when we visit Portland again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyGayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 969 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 2,229 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#12 of 137 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mark Spencer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mark Spencer

Property: The Mark Spencer
Address: 409 SW 11th Ave., Portland, OR 97205
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mark Spencer 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Mark Spencer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing