We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mark Spencer Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$199
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$275
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$150
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sentinel(Portland)
$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$212
$186
EmbassySuites.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$159
$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shilo Inns Portland Airport(Portland)(Great Value!)
$142
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$239
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$199
$193
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,901)
Filter reviews
1,901 results
Traveler rating
1,113
576
131
51
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,113
576
131
51
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pearlpowell's booksafternoon cookiesgreat locationcontinental breakfastwine tastingwhole foodsespresso machinewine receptionhard boiled eggsnew york timessmall kitchenwalking distanceolder hotelfood cartstwo blocksyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
1,352 - 1,357 of 1,901 reviews
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I only had one night in Portland and wanted a hotel conveniently located and this fit the bill perfectly. Two blocks to: Food cart hub, Powells, good bars, restaurants. GREAT wine shop just around the corner. Hotel was great...got upgraded and the suite was beautiful. I wish I'd had a week for Portland. I could have gotten really comfortable at the Mark Spencer. $18 to park.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 836chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeri R, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Greetings from Portland! Thanks so much for posting a review about your stay with us. Like you, we also wish you had more time to spend in Portland! Reading your comments as I approach the end of my workday makes a great day even better. As you mentioned, the hotel is in a great location; the rooms and suites are comfortable and the $18 parking is the best price downtown. Parking in a secure garage away from the elements is an added bonus. As you mentioned, our location is superb whether seeking places to dine, shop or read. Next time you’re here, be sure to check out our new neighbor: Cheryl‘s on 12th. It’s a great restaurant just around the corner from the hotel and our guests are giving it high scores. Thank you again for taking time to post on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope to see you again, whether your stay is for one or seven nights. Warmest regards, Jeri Riggs, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I have realized that one thing we value greatly is a kitchenette when we’re traveling. There’s something comforting and homey about making our own breakfast and spending some relaxed time by ourselves before we start our day. All of the Mark Spencer’s rooms have kitchenettes, with full-size refrigerators, as well as stoves and sinks. Missing a spatula? They’ll send one up.

The beds have always been comfortable, service adequate, free wine in the afternoon that’s worth every penny and more -- but most of all, a great location! A block or so from Powell Books, a couple of blocks from the Crystal Ballroom, a couple of blocks from easy freeway access -- really, we couldn’t ask for better.

It’s not as twee and hipsterish as the Ace, but still has a bit of funky charm. No doormen in goofy outfits like so many places downtown, but in no way a dive, either.

While not genuinely expensive, you’ll pay more than for an outlying hotel, or something near the convention center, like the Red Lion. Rates are competitive with other downtown hotels of similar quality, and you get that kitchenette! Like I said, that’s the clincher for us. We probably stay there 4 or 5 times a year, since Portland is our Big City of choice when we’re on the prowl for some culture.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: It's downtown, so the higher your room, the quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeri R, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Wow---you about covered it all and we love the same things about this hotel. We're about to embark on an extensive renovation but we promise that along with bringing it current, we'll keep the funky feel. And you won't see doormen in goofy outfits. Thanks for this note andf for being a loyal guest. We look forward to your next stay with us. Jeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We recently stayed in room 309, which enabled us to have a small full kitchen...even though the rooms are older, they are extremely clean, and the entire hotel is full of character. The free morning breakfast, afternoon wine-tasting, the all-day, all-night gourmet coffee available and free morning paper at your door added to the great experience. The staff was very attentive, courteous, and always welcoming. The Pearl District location is perfect for exploring and experiencing the tastes and activities of downtown Portland. We will return!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coed2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeri R, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Well...you hit all the things I usually say. Everyone loves working here (including me) and it shows. You can have the newest room in the city, but if the staff isn't on top of it, your stay will be anything but good. We're in the first phase of an extensive renovation and the rooms will be beautiful. The character will still be here and the hotel will still be spotless. What won't change is the staff. And we'll still be a few steps from the Peal District. Our good value and everything you love about the hotel will always make this a great place to stay. Next time you’re here, be sure to check out our new neighbor: Cheryl‘s on 12th. It’s a great restaurant just around the corner from the hotel and our guests are giving it high scores. Additionally, the hotel partners with the local arts community, which you may already have noticed by the interesting and art-related packages we offer on our website. Thanks for sending in your comments and we hope you're able to come back soon. Jeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed one night on my way to Seattle, after paying through the nose at the Kimpton. The Mark Spencer was affordable and the room was very nice. Views were nice and I loved the fact that they left the brick walls visible in the rooms from the original construction. Nice continental breakfast and happy hour, although the happy hour venue is quite small. Staff was top notch and everything was clean and professional. I should have spent my whole stay there. Loved the location, too, adjacent to the Pearl District and lots of cool shops and restaurants. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Loved the corner room and views.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeri R, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Good morning Monique, So glad to know you appreciate our incredible value, spotless rooms and location. Our full continental breakfast, cookies that are baked by our employees in the afternoon and evening wine reception with pizza bites, cheese and crackers, and yet more cookies add to your comfort. Being a few steps away from the Pearl District is certainly an advantage, as you mentioned. And if you don't want to go more than around the corner, be sure to check out our new neighbor Cheryl's Restaurant next time you're here. It features a great menu; you won't be disappointed. We're glad you recognize the value we offer; thank you for taking time to share your experience. We share all comments with the employee and they appreciate hearing first-hand from our guests. I hope you can come back soon; feel free to look me up if there's anything I can do for you here. Best, Jeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We recently spent 6 nights at the Mark Spencer Hotel. Our experience there was exceptional on every level and the hotel itself proved to be the highlight of our trip making everything else in PDX more enjoyable. The amenities and level of service far exceeds what one would expect for such a reasonably priced room; evening wine tastings, tea and cookies, excellent quality coffee/espresso machine, nice breakfast, morning NY Times brought to the room each morning and all part of the deal. The Staff were consistently friendly and went out of their way to accomodate and answer questions. Additionally, our room had a small kitchen. A small luxury to be able to make an easy meal or heat up the leftovers from any one of the memorable nearby restaurants. Makes planning for future trips to Portland easy - we'll know right where to stay without having to shop around. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Check out the junior suites which feature a small living room with couch and kitchenette. You'll feel like you have your own apartment.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeri R, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Hi Bill, Wow - you hit all the places I usually talk about. It's a great way for me to start off my Monday. Thank you! What hotel could ask for anything more than to be told they're 'exceptional'! I have a simple philosophy: tell people what you're going to do and then do it. Sounds easy ….but think of how frequently that doesn't happen. Our employees take pride in providing an affordable, comfortable and memorable stay. Your note says you'll be back, so we'll look forward to seeing you next time and I hope to meet you, perhaps at our evening wine party and a few glasses of wine. If you have time, you might want to check out our new restaurant neighbor, Cheryl’s on 12th. It's just around the corner and our guests tell us it's a thumbs up. I can agree with that...from personal experience. Thanks again, Jeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews