We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I only had one night in Portland and wanted a hotel conveniently located and this fit the bill perfectly. Two blocks to: Food cart hub, Powells, good bars, restaurants. GREAT wine shop just around the corner. Hotel was great...got upgraded and the suite was beautiful. I wish I'd had a week for Portland. I could have gotten really comfortable at the Mark Spencer. $18 to park.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 836chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeri R, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Greetings from Portland! Thanks so much for posting a review about your stay with us. Like you, we also wish you had more time to spend in Portland! Reading your comments as I approach the end of my workday makes a great day even better. As you mentioned, the hotel is in a great location; the rooms and suites are comfortable and the $18 parking is the best price downtown. Parking in a secure garage away from the elements is an added bonus. As you mentioned, our location is superb whether seeking places to dine, shop or read. Next time you’re here, be sure to check out our new neighbor: Cheryl‘s on 12th. It’s a great restaurant just around the corner from the hotel and our guests are giving it high scores. Thank you again for taking time to post on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your business and hope to see you again, whether your stay is for one or seven nights. Warmest regards, Jeri Riggs, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,545)
There are newer reviews for Mark Spencer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,000 - 1,006 of 1,545 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

My wife and I have realized that one thing we value greatly is a kitchenette when we’re traveling. There’s something comforting and homey about making our own breakfast and spending some relaxed time by ourselves before we start our day. All of the Mark Spencer’s rooms have kitchenettes, with full-size refrigerators, as well as stoves and sinks. Missing a spatula? They’ll send one up.

The beds have always been comfortable, service adequate, free wine in the afternoon that’s worth every penny and more -- but most of all, a great location! A block or so from Powell Books, a couple of blocks from the Crystal Ballroom, a couple of blocks from easy freeway access -- really, we couldn’t ask for better.

It’s not as twee and hipsterish as the Ace, but still has a bit of funky charm. No doormen in goofy outfits like so many places downtown, but in no way a dive, either.

While not genuinely expensive, you’ll pay more than for an outlying hotel, or something near the convention center, like the Red Lion. Rates are competitive with other downtown hotels of similar quality, and you get that kitchenette! Like I said, that’s the clincher for us. We probably stay there 4 or 5 times a year, since Portland is our Big City of choice when we’re on the prowl for some culture.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: It's downtown, so the higher your room, the quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeri R, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Wow---you about covered it all and we love the same things about this hotel. We're about to embark on an extensive renovation but we promise that along with bringing it current, we'll keep the funky feel. And you won't see doormen in goofy outfits. Thanks for this note andf for being a loyal guest. We look forward to your next stay with us. Jeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We recently stayed in room 309, which enabled us to have a small full kitchen...even though the rooms are older, they are extremely clean, and the entire hotel is full of character. The free morning breakfast, afternoon wine-tasting, the all-day, all-night gourmet coffee available and free morning paper at your door added to the great experience. The staff was very attentive, courteous, and always welcoming. The Pearl District location is perfect for exploring and experiencing the tastes and activities of downtown Portland. We will return!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coed2122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeri R, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Well...you hit all the things I usually say. Everyone loves working here (including me) and it shows. You can have the newest room in the city, but if the staff isn't on top of it, your stay will be anything but good. We're in the first phase of an extensive renovation and the rooms will be beautiful. The character will still be here and the hotel will still be spotless. What won't change is the staff. And we'll still be a few steps from the Peal District. Our good value and everything you love about the hotel will always make this a great place to stay. Next time you’re here, be sure to check out our new neighbor: Cheryl‘s on 12th. It’s a great restaurant just around the corner from the hotel and our guests are giving it high scores. Additionally, the hotel partners with the local arts community, which you may already have noticed by the interesting and art-related packages we offer on our website. Thanks for sending in your comments and we hope you're able to come back soon. Jeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed one night on my way to Seattle, after paying through the nose at the Kimpton. The Mark Spencer was affordable and the room was very nice. Views were nice and I loved the fact that they left the brick walls visible in the rooms from the original construction. Nice continental breakfast and happy hour, although the happy hour venue is quite small. Staff was top notch and everything was clean and professional. I should have spent my whole stay there. Loved the location, too, adjacent to the Pearl District and lots of cool shops and restaurants. Highly recommend

Room Tip: Loved the corner room and views.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeri R, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Good morning Monique, So glad to know you appreciate our incredible value, spotless rooms and location. Our full continental breakfast, cookies that are baked by our employees in the afternoon and evening wine reception with pizza bites, cheese and crackers, and yet more cookies add to your comfort. Being a few steps away from the Pearl District is certainly an advantage, as you mentioned. And if you don't want to go more than around the corner, be sure to check out our new neighbor Cheryl's Restaurant next time you're here. It features a great menu; you won't be disappointed. We're glad you recognize the value we offer; thank you for taking time to share your experience. We share all comments with the employee and they appreciate hearing first-hand from our guests. I hope you can come back soon; feel free to look me up if there's anything I can do for you here. Best, Jeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We recently spent 6 nights at the Mark Spencer Hotel. Our experience there was exceptional on every level and the hotel itself proved to be the highlight of our trip making everything else in PDX more enjoyable. The amenities and level of service far exceeds what one would expect for such a reasonably priced room; evening wine tastings, tea and cookies, excellent quality coffee/espresso machine, nice breakfast, morning NY Times brought to the room each morning and all part of the deal. The Staff were consistently friendly and went out of their way to accomodate and answer questions. Additionally, our room had a small kitchen. A small luxury to be able to make an easy meal or heat up the leftovers from any one of the memorable nearby restaurants. Makes planning for future trips to Portland easy - we'll know right where to stay without having to shop around. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Check out the junior suites which feature a small living room with couch and kitchenette. You'll...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bill c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeri R, General Manager at Mark Spencer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2013

Hi Bill, Wow - you hit all the places I usually talk about. It's a great way for me to start off my Monday. Thank you! What hotel could ask for anything more than to be told they're 'exceptional'! I have a simple philosophy: tell people what you're going to do and then do it. Sounds easy ….but think of how frequently that doesn't happen. Our employees take pride in providing an affordable, comfortable and memorable stay. Your note says you'll be back, so we'll look forward to seeing you next time and I hope to meet you, perhaps at our evening wine party and a few glasses of wine. If you have time, you might want to check out our new restaurant neighbor, Cheryl’s on 12th. It's just around the corner and our guests tell us it's a thumbs up. I can agree with that...from personal experience. Thanks again, Jeri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

When the Mallory changed hands, many of us found the Mark Spencer - and so glad we did! Two of my favorite places - Powell Books and Jakes - are close. The hotel staff are all friendly and knowledgable - and the rooms are very nic.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sawinsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Loved this hotel & plan to return in March. The location is ideal and walking distance to many restaurants and shops. Parking is secure and reasonably priced. Although renovations were ongoing while we were there, we never experienced any inconvenience during our stay. The staff were friendly, helpful and attentive. We loved their continental breakfast and wine reception in the early evening. We have stayed at other hotels in Portland (close to the waterfront) but prefer this hotel because of its location and the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holoholokai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,391 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 144 in Portland
1,232 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#18 of 144 in Portland
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $166 - $339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing