We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice positive stay in convenient location”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #7 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We had a very positive stay for a quick weekend in downtown Portland. The rooms and upper hallways could use a little updating but the beds were very comfortable. Felt very clean. Location is perfect, steps from the Pearl district. Afternoon wine reception, continental breakfast, latte machine are all nice extra touches. Parking convenient and inexpensive for the area. Can't go wrong for the price, value, and location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bhrovat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,118 - 1,124 of 1,643 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Mark Spencer Hotel appears to have been an apartment building which has been converted to a modest hotel. It is conviently located in downtown Portland within easy walking distance of the Pearl District and downtown shopping. The 'cultural district" is best reached by the streetcar which runs directly in front of the building. Speaking of streetcars: be sure to load/unload in the designated space in front of the building or you may get clipped by the streetcar. The hotel offers self parking for $18/day in a tight underground lot beneath the hotel.

The interior is simple but functional; most of the walls are bare and the furniture is well-used. Our King sized bed pracitically stretched from wall to wall in the bedroom. The bed was comfortable and we enjoyed the multiple small pillows. The kitchen has a full sized refrigerator and a historic 1970's electric range with multiple push-buttons to control the burner temperatures.

Recommended for business trips and for travelers concerned with convenience and price. Kenny and Zuk's across the street has fantastic house made pastrami. Also a good place for breakfast.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the interior courtyard to minimize traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We found this nicely located hotel between the Portland Art Museum and Union Station - both within walking distance. We also like that it is near Powell's. We picked this place based on others' recommendations and were not disappointed. Our street-side, complimentary-upgraded suite was clean, quiet and comfortable. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We liked the afternoon tea as well as the mini wine bar happy hour. Breakfast was fine for its limited selection of items, but the coffee-espresso-latte machine made up for it. We've been to Portland several times in the past and stayed at more 'upscale' hotels for the same or discounted prices, but they are not as friendly as the Mark Spencer - we will be back again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Mark Spencer. It was only three blocks from my destination, and the afternoon tea in the library was a nice way to unwind. If I come for a longer stay, I'll be back to use the kitchen facilities in the room. This reminds me of small hotels in Germany and England.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I loved my room and my big comfortable bed. Against the street on one side there was no noise from other guests, with bathroom and closet to cushion the other side. The meeting room suited our needs. The staff was helpful and friendly. The breakfast was adequate and the make-your-own latte machine a fantastic luxury! Also, you can walk to Powell's and a million great restaurants from there.

Room Tip: See my review. Ask for a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Returned to the Mark Spencer to attend the oral, living Christmas Tree presentation at the Keller Auditorium and to see the Columbus Day Storm at the Oregon Historical Society. As always, the Mark Spencer is the perfect match for us - quiet, accommodating, comfortable and conveniently located for visiting the Arts and the Historical Society. Within walking distance of a wide selection of restuarants plus on the streetcar line. But the best new thing is the rennovation progress. Just keeps getting better!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank w_visitr11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I always stay at the Mark Spencer when in pdx. Importantly, it's a block from Powell's. The staff is super friendly and helpful and the ambiance is great. Wine tasting, free espresso machine, good breakfast. I like the smaller feel of the hotel. Very cozy. They gave me a complimentary upgrade to a suite due to availability. I didn't even ask. That's the kind of hotel it is.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,857 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,256 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Rose - A Staypineapple Hotel
Pearl
Residence Inn Portland Downtown/Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $133 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing