We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home away from home!”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #8 of 140 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great home away from home!”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We ended up choosing Mark Spencer after our first hotel option started to look pretty unsuitable for us (thanks to other reviews). This was the only spot that wasn't outrageously expensive or hipstery and still looked swanky. Great and helpful front staff, too. The free coffee, continental breakfast, and afternoon wine (!) are strong points that will keep me coming back next time I'm in town.

We stayed here for only 4 nights, but it was a great home away home. Comfortable beds, quiet rooms, kitchenette (which we ended up not using)... but the highlight were the awesome sheets. Unexpectedly smooth and comfortable. Kept us cool and dry during the hottest time of the year! It was nice to relax and recharge after our daily escapades.

The hotel is conveniently located in a centrsal spot downtown. Across the street from Kenny & Zuke's. Close to Powell's. Close to Deschutes. Close to the streetcars, MAX train, farmer's market, shops, galleries... etc, etc, etc. Just ditch the attitude and street cred you'd want to get from Ace or Jupiter... come here instead.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ToddMcCracken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    463
    101
    35
    26
See reviews for
262
542
133
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

6th floor. Nightclub street noise was bad. Radio alarm went off @4:30am in EMPTY room next to me. Took them almost 10 minutes to shut off. Suggested they could check this when making up the rooms next time. Not a big concern juding by their attitude. No offer of compensation for the noisy stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel is a rather interesting place in that it has both a hotel section and a more residential section around the block. We discovered this when our hotel reservation was bumped because the person or persons in our room decided to stay longer. The hotel upgraded us to a suite in the other section and handled the transfer very professionally. What we were not told was that this new room (205 or 208) was right over what appeared to be garbage dumping central. Much of the night large trucks backed up beeping to dump large loads of glass and other garbage under our window. Fortunately our baby daughter was able to sleep through this because we had a sound machine to blot out the noise. We did not fare as well.

When we complained, the hotel stated they could not control environmental noise even if it was routine for that area and offered to move us to a new room but at an increased price. What choice did we have? Again, service was very professional and the accommodations were very nice. This new room did not have a microwave, however, so some difficulties with feeding our daughter.

The continental breakfast was the same sugar-ladden, processed offerings you could find at any third tier establishment, replete with tasteless delicious apples and the like. Really uninspiring for this price point.

Personally, I would not stay in this hotel again because I feel it was overpriced and because I did not appreciate the lack of disclosure about the noxious environmental input you had to deal with in some of their rooms. However, the service and accommodations were above average, so if you fancy this hotel I would simply caution you to ask a lot of questions.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noir333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

On the edge of the Pearl district, the Mark Spencer is a perfect home base to explore Portland. The rooms are comfortable and equipped with kitchen facilities. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. The continental breakfast is more than adequate, and afternoon cookies and wine in the lobby lounge is a nice way to ease into the evening. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelin_for_fun6009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Cost: When I can help it, I try not to spend this much on a hotel. But here, you get quite a lot of bang for your buck. This hotel is different in that they have their own bidding program: You give them an amount for the duration of stay, and they will either accept or counter offer. We were denied, but were given the lowest possible rate. I later tried to use our AAA on top of this rate, and they said that they do not stack discounts. The final rate was $140/nt for a period of 6 days. At seven days, I think you can bargain for a lower rate. Then at one month, you can again negotiate a lower rate. Parking is $18/nt, but you can come and go as you please. There are parking lots nearby that are cheaper, but without the option of returning without paying more. I think you still might save a little money going elsewhere for your parking, but nothing beats the convenience of parking at your hotel. Pets are allowed, but you will be charged extra per pet.
Location: Great! MS is located in the Pearl District. Nearby you will find two food cart pods. One is on Alder and the other is on Washington; both in walking distance. Also there are a number of great brunch restaurants nearby...Mother's being the most popular one. Check it on Yelp. There is also a Whole Food in walking distance, which was helpful. The Saturday Farmer's Market at the local university is also nearby, but more of a walk. MS has very close access to the highways.
Service: Excellent! The front desk staff are very friendly and helpful. The business center was down while I was there, and they were very helpful printing out things for me.
Room: The rooms were spacious and very clean. We had a sitting room area with a pullout sofa. The space also included a small kitchen (microwave, stovetop, oven, fridge with freezer, flatware, and silverware incl). A door separates this area from the bedroom. The bed was very soft and comfortable for us. There was a walk in closet with a full length mirror. The bathroom included toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, bodywash, bar soap, lotion, qtips, and cotton balls).
Misc: There is a great (for a hotel) 24 gym in the basement. A continental breakfast is served daily (croissants, muffins, sliced bread, bagels, jam, peanut butter, juice, cereal, granola). There is some afternoon snack of cookies (actually high quality stuff) and some drink, and later in the evening, they put out wine and flatbread pizza. There is an expresso/coffee/tea station open at all times. I used this a lot!
Bottom Line: I definitely rec this hotel, but the costs do add up if you park there and have a pet. I'd definitely recommend this hotel, and I don't think there is a better hotel for that price point and location. However, if I do bring my dogs up, I will look for a hotel farther away from the center, since I will have a car anyways.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThienLanN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Traveled to Portland for business. I had a couple large boxes shipped to the hotel before I arrived - no problem. Hotel seems to be an old apartment building. The rooms are big and roomy. The mini kitchen is very cool although I didn't use it. The bed was very comfortable. Besides the uniqueness of this property, the customer service staff is really what makes this place. The people at the front desk were very helpful and professional. They also have free coffee/expresso drinks (awesome) in the lobby and a wine and cheese reception each day. The location is great with easy walking to some great restaurants and pubs. I'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MN_FunSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Our second stay at this charming hotel, which is ideally located close by Powell's. Don't recall the parking charge being so steep for noe night, although the desk reduced it for us upon checkout. Breakfast arrangement vast improvement over three years ago.

The Millers, Sacramento, CA

Room Tip: negotiate a price before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank almiller038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 140 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Property: Mark Spencer Hotel
Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing