We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three from Wyoming”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #8 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2008

We had a wonderful three night stay at this Hotel. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The room was spotlessly clean and the beds comfortable. We especially enjoyed the fact that we could easily walk to the Portland Center Stage and to many interesting places to dine. I will certainly recommend the Mark Spencer to anyone going to Portland.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,656 - 1,662 of 1,764 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2007

The room was clean and the hotel offered complimentary Continental breakfast and daily afternoon tea and cookies. The room actually came with a full service kitchen which my husband and I did not need but it was still great that it was there. The location was within walking distance of many restaurants and also very close to the streetcar line. Included in the rate is a daily copy of the New York Times. If you love books, you will love that this hotel is only one block away from Powell's Books, a huge used and new bookstore. There is also a Buffalo Exchange within walking distance of the hotel. I don't know about you but I love vintage clothing. Portland is a beautiful city - a gem for people who love to be outdoors. Enjoy the International Rose Test Garden (free admission), the Japanese Gardens, the Classical Chinese Garden, and the Oregon Museum of Science and Industry. We took the submarine tour there.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachmama79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2007

Older hotel that needs serious updating. Hallways were dark and dingy and need carpet replaced. We stayed in a studio room that also needed updating. Everything was just really dark. Bathroom seemed to have been upgraded with new shower/toilet/sink. TINY little shelf over sink that makes it hard to get ready. Bed was really hard and room was very noisy with people next door or in hallways. Kitchenette was ok but the cutting board hadn't been cleaned in a long time as there were remains of many old foods. Staff was overall pretty good. We did request they call a cab for an early morning appointment we had but they failed to do that and we were late. They were helpful with directions and suggestions for restaurants and entertainment. All pictures that I saw online were very deceiving compared to the actual place. I would probably not stay there again but I guess it is a good value.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bulldog4960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2007

Good Location close to Powell's bookshop & Jake's Crawfish restaurant

However there was some painting work going on and reception staff shrugged off when we complained about the smell of paint and that the work would be finished shortly . Only when the words asthma attack were mentioned did they re allocate a room 2 hours later they were still painting and the next morning somebody else was complaining but the hotel was full as it was a weekend . Hotel should have scheduled the work better or not allow the rooms to be let ( It was a few affected)

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank threespires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2007

The only place we could find 7 nights (without changing rooms) in Portland was the Mark Spencer. We were actually put in the Washington Arms next to the M.S. which uses the 4th and 5th floor for "overflow". The W.A. is not directly connected to the M.S. so you have to walk out and around the corner to the front desk and for breakfast. You also have no wi-fi access from the W.A. It also got a little noisy from the adjacent bar on Fri. and Sat. night, but fine the other nights. At first I didn't like the idea of being separated over in the W.A., but it was pretty secure requiring 4 separate card swipes from outside to getting into your room. We spend very little time in our hotel rooms so the basic room configuration worked well. A little over $70/night after taxes made it a very economical stay for us.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Theo4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Mark Spencer for one night in August. We were very impressed; it was extremely good value for good quality accommodation in a good area. Our room was large and very comfortable; the bathroom was very nice, and we were surprised to see we had a whole kitchen - which certainly would be a boon if staying for longer. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was simple but very decent. The Rough Guide had made the location out to sound like it was very dodgy, but we certainly didn't feel like that. It's surrounded by good bars and restaurants, very close to the wonderful Powell's bookstore, and a short walk to lots of other bars and attractions. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Rannulph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Convienent location on the streetcar line. We kept our car parked the whole stay and were able to get around via streetcar/MAX connections. The staff were nice, although the hotel was a little stuffy/dark....it's historic and could use central air conditioning as it was very warm during our visit and the window AC units were noisy. We had a large, simply decorated suite with a nice kitchen but no in-room coffee provided. A coffee maker was provided but no actual coffee....strange. Although you could go down the elevator to get a cup of complimentary coffee in the lobby. A great restaurant about 2 blocks away is Henry's (the old henry Weinhart brewery bldg).....awesome food and extensive beer/wine list. The hotel breakfast downstairs was simple but adequate....a busy scene with lots of international travelers which makes for fun conversation to start the day. We got a great stay/park rate through the Portland Visitors web site.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pepperanella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,882 reviews
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 146 in Portland
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Pearl
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland-Pearl District
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#17 of 146 in Portland
2,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Portland
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $135 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing