We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure, like a used book”
Review of Mark Spencer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mark Spencer Hotel
Ranked #10 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
277 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A treasure, like a used book”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Some people will only buy new books and only stay in luxury hotels. I love new books, even the smell of them, and I do love nice hotels. But we also love used books and 'used' hotels. And the Mark Spencer is a treasure. We have stayed at the Mark Spencer several times over the years, the last two times for ten days and seven days respectively. How could you not love it? It is slightly pleasantly tattered and maybe could use a new cover, but inside you just cannot go wrong. Warm and friendly (and efficient ) staff, superb housekeeping, laundromat on the premises, the NYT at the door every morning. I know that breakfast, afternoon tea and wine in the late afternoon are all provided, but we have never partaken in any of this. We arrive with our coffee pot and a few favourite travel essentials (not necessary - everything is provided) and settle in. We get a small suite with a separate bedroom. Powell's Books (new and used) is about half a block away - the original reason for our choosing this wonderful hotel. We visit Powell's two to three times a day the entire time we are there. Whole Foods is about a block away for groceries. Famous Vinopolis is across the street for wonderful wine. Macy's is a short pleasant walk away if you need to shop. For lunch there is Henry's Tavern and Deschute's Brewery. I could stay all summer. Thank you, Mark Spencer Hotel!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSchindells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    471
    105
    37
    27
See reviews for
272
559
135
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed here 4 nights recently. I have nothing but positive things to say about this hotel. Our room had a king-size bed that was very comfortable. Lighting was good for reading. A small kitchen area included a refrigerator, stove top, microwave and sink with disposal. A coffee pot is provided but no coffee supplies. I brought some instant coffee and made it by heating water on the stove. There were dishes for 2 people and several pots and pans. If you wanted to do more cooking, you could easily do so. The refrigerator was a good size. Coffee and tea were always available in the lobby. There was a machine that made a cup to order. The coffee was outstanding. Every afternoon cookies were also available. From 5-6 there was a wine tasting every day which we enjoyed after vigorous days of touring. The hotel has parking in an underground garage next door and also in a lot across the street. This costs $18 a day. As we were traveling with friends we had rented a large SUV which was almost impossible to park in the garage because of the tight spaces and numerous columns. If your car is smaller, this would not be a problem. After parking in the garage for a few hours after we checked in, we left to drive to Washington Park. After struggling to get out of the garage without incident, we requested a space in the lot instead and were glad we did. The included breakfasts were certainly adequate. Every day bananas and apples were available. Plenty of breads, bagels, and muffins were always fresh. Two kinds of cold cereal, yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, and orange juice was provided as well.
The location is very convenient for walking to many places downtown including numerous restaurants and brewpubs. The trolley passes on the same street as the hotel. One of the big tourist draws, Powell's Books is just a few steps away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The location of the Mark Spencer is great and the Portland transportation system is at your doorstop. The lobby and customer service were both good. The disappointment came with our room. We booked a suite and the two queen beds were quite comfortable but the pull out couch was terrible, old, thin mattress, springs springing and dirty. The bathroom was shabby and the water at times refused to get more than tepid. It seemed like the hotel was going through some updates and maybe our room was the exception. The windows appeared new and high quality while the shower floor was old linoleum. New carpet was being installed in the room next door, working crews were painting in the lobby area so it seems like the hotel is trying to upgrade and fit in with the changing neighborhood. I hope so because the deli across the street, the Stumptown coffee shop and of course Powell's bookstore were all wonderful to have so close.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vegaspali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Nice wee suite on the 4th floor. Perfect for our overnight stay to celebrate our daughter 25th birthday. Nice afternoon tea followed by a compimentary wine reception! The Pinot was very nice!Morven was greeted with a box of chocolates, a nice bottle of wine and a birthday card, nice touch! The nice part about this hotel is you can "Barter" for your price, we got a great deal. Will most definately stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ddudabrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham on Sea, Somerset
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

I stayed with friends and we shared a suite with sofa bed and bedroom with shared bathroom. Their room was OK with a large bed and duvet, wardrobes are in hallway to bathroom. I slept on the sofa bed which was fine for one, and just about fine for one night's sleep, couldn't have stuck another though. Sofa bed was made up with sheets, and pillows, top sheet and just one thin blanket were in wardrobe. I was cool in the night, I would have liked a duvet, rather than blanket. Free wine and snacks from 3-6pm, complimentary breakfast from 6am. Our room was well equipped for self catering, had 2 TV's, adequate lighting and plenty of towels in the bathroom. Staff were helpful and informative and it was a great place to base ourselves for sight seeing in Portland. Would recommend for families, business or pleasure.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room ask for inside room, no view other than rooms opposite but very quiet, ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The Mark Spencer was the perfect choice for our trip to Portland. It's 2 blocks from the Max train line from the airport, and on the edge of the Pearl District and a block from the 8th Wonder of the World: Powell's Books.

Our room (#114) was spotless and well equipped with a mini kitchen and a big comfy king bed, along with a walk in closet. The AC worked well, and the flat screen tv was a nice touch. There was a nightly wine tasting reception in the lobby, as well as a continental breakfast buffet. (bagels, toast, yogurt, pastries, coffee, etc.) The hotel is also very pet friendly, too! Yay!

This might be our go-to place in Portland from now on!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaq42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2012

It's not obvious on all hotel booking sites that this one has a kitchen and living room in most (or maybe all?) rooms. Kitchen includes stove top, oven, and large fridge/freezer. If you're looking for something downtown near some great bars, this is a good choice too. Close to Henry's Tavern and Deschutes Brewery Public House, among other things. Very friendly staff, comfortable bed. Only negatives are slight noise from the neighboring rooms, and the shower water temp is not consistent (keeps getting hotter and colder).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#4 of 141 in Portland
2,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 141 in Portland
1,192 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
#1 of 141 in Portland
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mark Spencer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mark Spencer Hotel

Property: Mark Spencer Hotel
Address: 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205-2603
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#22 Family Hotel in Portland
#25 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mark Spencer Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the world of hospitality, there are a few unexpected places in which timeless European flair, cultured style and Old World courtesy are vibrantly alive. These lasting impressions are also accompanied by a profound respect for another very precious aspect: your comfort. Welcome to The Mark Spencer Hotel, an exceptional value in the hub of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mark Spencer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mark Spencer Hotel Portland
Mark Spencer Portland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing