We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm Meets 21st Century Cool”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #26 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We spent five nights in the Heathman and it was a delight! The service was superb, the restaurant wonderful for breakfast and dinner (I couldn't get enough of the salmon hash for breakfast). My wife had trouble getting in and out of the bathtub shower, so they moved us to a suite with a huge walk-in shower for her and a separate bathroom for me. The decor was nicely modern — geometric/deco but comfortable. We pushed the staff pretty hard, but they were friendly and attentive at all times. We loved the afternoon glass of wine in the library with all the doors to the signed books flung wide in welcome. There were several groups using the small meeting rooms upstairs during our stay, but the hotel folded them in seamlessly, the groups adding to the warm pulse of the place. The hotel is close to downtown restaurants and attractions. The Portland Museum of Art is a block away, and so it a Starbucks. And there is an inviting little chocolate shop tacked on to the lobby — what more could I need? LOVED, LOVED, LOVED the Heathman.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tormance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Tormance,

How lucky were we to be able to accommodate you for your long stay in Portland - thank you for choosing the Heathman! It sounds like everything worked out just fine and all suited your needs to a tee. We do want to apologize for the need for a room move, but it sounds like all was worked out and fit your needs best in the end.
We also want to especially thank you for joining us in our Library during the open hours with wine tasting! That is a special amenity that we try to ensure all guests are aware of!
Glad you could take advantage of our central downtown location and were able to frequent the Portland Art Museum. If you didn't get a chance to see the entire permanent collection, we highly recommend you return - that is one stellar museum!

Thanks again,
Krissy S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,106)
There are newer reviews for The Heathman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,151 - 1,157 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2014

This beautifully restored Art Deco hotel offers fine, friendly understated service, well appointed rooms with thoughtful amenities including robes and turndown service, a really lovely lounge and mezzanine library (the latter with signed copies of works by people who have stayed there (from presidents to Nobel prize winners).

It was a treat to dine with the mellow sounds and piano and bass wafting through from lounge, for instance.

Its location is superb -- in the centre of the cultural district in this very walkeable city. You are just steps from concert halls, theatre, restaurants, the splendid Portland Art Museum.

Overall the experience was was a treat well worth repeating! A cut above the 'brand' hotels in the city centre -- even if the rates are as well.

Room Tip: Upgraded double-glazing make all rooms likely to be quiet. However, since the floor plan shows many...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Patricia M,

It was encouraging to read your kind words in the review. We are glad that you had the opportunity to experience all that we have to offer our guests. We are awaiting your next visit!

Kind Words,

Jamicia Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We returned to this grand old hotel to find it modern--yet majestic in it décor and service. Portland has a jewel that continues to polish itself by adding amenities, preparing its staff to be friendly and provide top quality service. Room was wonderful, clean, great temperature and quiet. We will return when we are in Portland.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor, quiet and well serviced by staff. Loved the reflections in the glass towe...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Norb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Front Office Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear Norb W,

Thank you for taking time to fill out a survey, your opinion is greatly appreciated. We are delighted that you had a nice stay.

Best Regards,

Jamicia Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We have been staying at the beautiful historic Heathman Hotel in Downtown for the last several years since our daughter moved to Portland. The Heathman has become our "second home," where the staff "remembers our names," and greets us with a smile each time we visit. We have always received excellent professional service from the staff and felt very comfortable in the suites, so it was a "no brainer" to use the hotel as one of the venues for guests attending our daughter's wedding over the 4th of July weekend.

Since this was essentially a destination wedding for most of our guests and most stayed anywhere from 3 to 5 nights, it was essential to be able to depend upon the training and experience of the staff to make our guests feel welcome and comfortable. We can unreservedly attest that housekeeping, dining room, concierge, reservation desk, and bellmen not only not disappoint, they exceeded all expectations. We and our guests were treated with deference and respect, yet warmth and total attention to our needs at every juncture. No request went unfulfilled.

Immediately, the consummately professional Heathman team went to work to address our every request and acted as a resource for information. Director of Sales and Marketing, Stephen Galvan, helped us negotiate a deal which would entice our guests to take full advantage of the Heathman hospitality. Felicia Rahm, Sales Manager, soon became my personal concierge and new BFF, did an incredible job reaching out to our guests and attending to their every whim. Sean Osaki, Director of Catering, assisted us from the "get-go" as we planned a scrumptious post-wedding brunch and later attended to other wedding-related needs. He was also an invaluable resource for wedding planners and other wedding-related vendors.

We cannot thank the entire staff enough. I wish I could list all of the individuals by name who were so helpful on a day-to-day level, but it would be impossibly long and still not include many whom we didn't actually meet, but kept the hotel running smoothly behind the scenes. Suffice it to say, that even our most discriminating, if not "picky" guests, were impressed with the hotel accommodations and the level of service they received.

We can unabashedly give the Heathman Hotel our highest unequivocal recommendation whether for a short vacation stay or for an event. You can't do better. The hotel is a wonderful example of the Portland spirit of friendliness, hospitality and the highest standard of service. We can't thank you enough for contributing to the success of our daughter's wedding weekend.

Room Tip: Worth the difference in price to upgrade to a suite. Several of the suites are themed, ("liter...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Faith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear Faith C.,

Having you, and your guests, at the Heathman for your daughter's wedding was a treat for us! What a celebration and we are pleased we could be a part of it! Each of our long time, and new, employees so enjoy welcoming familiar faces and you and your husband are always a wonderful sight to see again!

Stephen, Sean and Felicia are both professionally and accommodating members of our team and we have such confidence in their abilities to assist!

The words you've shared, the insight you've responded with are all so appreciated by our entire staff. Thank you for being such wonderful guests and for returning to the Heathman time and time again.

We can't wait to see you again soon!
Krissy S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

The food, drinks, hospitality, turndown service, robes and slippers plus luxury bath amenities along with staff that will do anything to assure your comfort make the Heathman an outstanding experience. It is also in a great location close to restaurants, art museum, concerts and the Max light rail.

Room Tip: upper floors quieter; our corner room had four windows; plenty of natural light
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank PlainJane23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

Dear PlainJane23,

I am so glad the you enjoyed your room and amenities! It was a pleasure servicing you and we hope to see you again soon.

Best Regards,
JWilliams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

The location was good and service was excellent in the reception. What takes down our overall impression og the place is relatively small rooms (especially the bathroom) and the breakfasts. You're given 12 dollars per person for breakfast, but then you have to wait a long time to be seated and for the food to be server. (Not as easy to choose a different restaurant when 24 usd is included). Will not return to this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Trygve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Trygve S,

It is very disappointing to hear that you will not stay with us in the future. The breakfast credit can be used in the restaurant or through room service. It is unfortunate that your wait time was extended, the restaurant is award winning and tends to get busy. I will follow up with the management team on ways to better serve our guests during the busy season.

I do hope that you will consider giving us a second chance.

Best Regards,

JWilliams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014

This is a really lovely hotel. Although the rooms/suites are small, the staff is extremely pleasant and accommodating and the décor is stunning. The beds are luxurious. My only complaint is that the hallways and rooms are too dimly lit. I know that everyone is saving on electricity, but there is a limit, particularly since our Symphony Suite faced the wall of the next door building. Yes, there is a colorful mural painted on the wall, but the windows simply do not let in enough light. I urge the management to up the wattage on those light bulbs!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sspelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Dear sspelman,

We want to thank you for taking the time to review your most recent experience at the Heathman Portland! We also appreciate your comment on the lighting in the hall and will look into how we can improve upon that! Being a green conscious hotel, like you mentioned, does put some limitation on wattage, but I'm sure there is something we can investigate into regarding this suggestion! We hope that the next time you visit our gorgeous city, we have the honor of welcoming you back!

Take care,
Krissy S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,391 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 144 in Portland
1,422 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#18 of 144 in Portland
2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $204 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing