We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Service!”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #24 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Florence, Oregon
1 review
“Excellent Service!”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The service provided at the Heathman Hotel was wonderful! Everyone we interacted with was friendly, professional, and helpful, and the attention to detail was excellent. The hotel was beautiful and quiet - - we had a room right next to the elevators and never heard any noise. We also did not hear any road noise thanks to the double windows and good insulation. We were surprised at how quiet the room was. The free evening jazz (flamenco guitar duo) was wonderful and was set in a beautiful room with teak walls and comfortable sitting areas. The hotel is located in a great area for walking all over Portland, with easy access to the Pearl District, the waterfront, downtown sites, and more. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zsquared2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Front Office Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Zsquared2014,

We hope that you stay with us again the next time you are feeling like a splurge.
We are glad that you were able to enjoy so many of the things that we have to offer. Thank you for taking the time to submit a survey with so many accolades.

Hope to see you next time you are in town.

Best Regards,

JWilliams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,204
    460
    187
    83
    36
See reviews for
328
821
110
460
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

What can I say. It is as good as the other reviews say. The staff makes the stay. They really are here to make your stay perfect. They made sure our bed was super comfortable with a temperpedic mattress. The library is beautiful. We had a great visit wish we could come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jammingdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Jammingde,

Thank you for your kind words. It is very encouraging when the team members read reviews such as this. We all work very hard to ensure guests feel a warm welcome when they come into our home. We hope the Heathman can become your home away from home too.

See you soon!

Kind Words
JWilliams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

Most of our travel is mid-level stuff. Occasionally we break out and live way beyond our means. This time it was five nights in The Heathman. Okay, the bathroom was an adventure in planned manoeuvres and where to put all the pillows? But we were not disappointed - not at all. The service was great, the rooms large and comfortable in the extreme, the in-room extras charming and quite able to elevate the mood whatever. Food excellent. But for us the real differentiator was the Library of signed first additions opened each evening, with a glass of fine local wine. We stayed for an hour discussing all things cultural with the charming young curator and getting further insights into the friendly city that is Portland.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Ken G,

Thank you for your feedback! We are delighted that your stay met your expectations and that you enjoyed the library. We are honored to be able to offer this amenity to our guests and are very proud of our collection.

We hope that you stay with us again the next time you are feeling like a splurge.

Best Regards,
JWilliams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We travel quite a bit and I have to say our experience was better than any we have had. From the check in process to the little things like chocolates and Voss water delivered to our room, everything was amazing. We were upgraded to a larger king room with a feather bed and it was so comfortable. We had breakfast two mornings and I have to say the salmon hash was amazing. Dinner was also incredible. I would definitely stay there again! Thank you!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank coachsaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear coachsaca,

What a review - what can we say! It sounds like everything was just right for your visit to Portland! Plus, we are so pleased you were able to experience our Salmon Hash as it is one of the finest in the city! Next time you're in town, we hope you join us again!

Thank you so much, again, for taking the time to write this brilliant review!
Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

The good:

-Very central location
-Charming historic hotel
-Friendly Staff
-Room nicely decorated

The not as good:

-Bathroom was extremely small. Extremely small for a nice hotel. I'd say it is smaller than hotel bathrooms even in Europe, where rooms are smaller.
-Pillows were extremely flat and not comfortable. The hotel quickly provided an additional pillow, though even that was lacking.

Overall, I'd stay here again

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear EP99,

What a review! We loved the way you organized your experience! Thanks for sharing! Although we do sincerely apologize for the inconveniences during your stay we want to thank you for your flexibility and understanding. We never wish an uncomfortable stay on anyone and we thank you for making us aware of these issues! All that said, we hope you do come back and visit us again soon. On your return stay we hope you contact us directly to book your room and if ever there is an issue during your visit we hope you feel comfortable and welcome to let any staff member know!

Thank you again. We really appreciate it!
Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Would have given this hotel a top rating were it not for a few minor things. On the whole, we really enjoyed staying here; the rooms are really nice, the service is super friendly, breakfast was delicious and location can't be beat. But we could barely open our closet doors, never got our room cleaned the one full day we were there and I think they forgot to do turn down the day of arrival. So while we felt we got pretty good value (our package included free parking and wifi), the housekeeping end of things does seem to need some work. Still … I've seen a LOT worse.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 6th floor and it was very quiet with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patti L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear MacBookLover,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Heathman Portland experience! Without such feedback we'd never have the opportunity to improve those things that matter the most to our visitors. We do want to apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. I will make sure to inform our Director of Housekeeping about the issues you raise. Thank you for being so understanding and we hope you still enjoyed your time in Portland!
We would love to welcome you back and recommend you contact us directly to ensure that the next reservation is top notch and the issues you encountered this time are only a faint memory.

Thanks again for taking the time to write the review!
Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The service was excellent and the room was clean, attractive and spacious. I would definitely stay here again.
The location is very good, close to anything down town. We like to search for new restaurants and shop. We ate in the attached restaurant for breakfast and the food was wonderful.
We had the bed and breakfast package which gave us comp parking and credit toward any thing on the breakfast menu which was a very good value.
Wifi was excellent

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cactusue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Cactusue,

We hope you do stay here again soon and that we will have the pleasure of being your base during your downtown Portland adventures! Glad you experienced such fine dining both at the Heathman Restaurant and Bar as well as all the local eateries and cafes! We are also pleased to hear that you took advantage of the Bed and Breakfast package, it really is a great deal and helps ease some of the added worry that travel can bring.

Thanks again for the great review!
Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#10 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Westin Portland
Westin Portland
#19 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Property: The Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing