We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end luxry downtown”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #25 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Got this deal through living social. Is a great hotel. Our room was gorgeous! Bed was really comfortable. Our room had a seperate living room that we could close off with the pocket doors.We ate breakfast downstairs and it was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Cheryl B,

We are beyond the moon to hear that you used our newest Living Social deal - that is such a great outlet for us and we are pleased you were able to utilize it for your stay. Glad you also were able to experience the restaurant and all other amenities that the hotel offered to you.
Hoping to welcome you back again soon!

Take care and thank you for the wonderful review.
Krissy S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,374 - 1,380 of 2,178 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014

service attentiveness, quality of amenities, bedding and towels is perfect. Great hotel if you want to teach your kids how to behave in a real hotel...amazing breakfast with white table cloths and professional staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outofdoorsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear outofdoorsy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Heathman Portland - sounds like it was wonderful! Glad you were also able to enjoy the restaurant, and during breakfast - great choice! Hoping to welcome you back again soon when your travels lead you to our lovely town again.

Take care!
Krissy S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Nice to be in a very well appointed hotel, where the staff is attentive without being pushy. Waking up in a hotel to REAL french press coffee in the room was an unexpected and fantastic surprise. Will return again which I don't do very often.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Barney S,

Thank you for staying with us at the Heathman Portland during your recent visit to the city, we are so glad you had such a glorious stay! We really appreciate our guests taking the time to review their experience and we couldn't be happier that yours was so merry! Glad you liked the French Press coffee as well, that is one of the many amenities we strive to accommodate for our overnight visitors! We are looking so forward to welcoming you back!

All the best,
Krissy Sonniksen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We planned a last minute trip to Portland to shop, eat great food and enjoy the Timbers game. We succeeded on all three accounts; however, the family agreed the best part of the trip was our room at The Heathman. We opted for a Suite with two bedrooms to accommodate the entire family and it worked out exceptionally well. The staff was superb, handling the parent’s needs while making the kids feel comfortable as well. The room layout allowed a sense of freedom for the kids and privacy for the parents! There was fantastic attention to detail including high end products (L'Occitane en Provence), a french press coffee set up with localy roasted coffee, and local beer options in the mini fridge. Following a great brunch in the morning and watching a come from behind tie for the Timbers we reluctantly drove home. I would highly recommend a stay at The Heathman.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite.. it is well worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willigwilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear willigwilli,

What a trip you had! Sounds great! I'm so glad you decided on the larger suite, it sounds like it suited perfectly.
We really appreciate hearing about such wonderful experiences as it encourages us to continue to personalize our service. Your helpful words and grateful sentiment is applauded - thank you.
We do hope to welcome you back again soon and assist you in creating even more Heathman memories.

All the best,
Krissy S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We just came down from Olympia for a basketball game and since the Warriors beat the Trailblazers, we were in a good mood. After the game, we had a nice hamburger and drinks in front of the fireplace in the lounge.
We got excellent recommendations and directions from the staff, which we needed since this was our first visit to Portland in 25 years.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank georgehuskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear georgehuskie,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! It sounds like you had a fantastic time and I'm so glad that we could accommodate you during this stay.
If you plan to return, which we hope you do, please contact us directly so that we can ensure that the size of your room is ideal for your visit.
We really appreciate you taking the time to review the Heathman Portland. Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Take care,
Krissy S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014


The Heathman hotel ranks high in the Portland list but is not an inspiring place to stay. The public rooms are interesting but the main accommodation is tired. We stayed in room 619 with a poky bathroom and wafer thin wall - not helped when American next door screamed into his phone at 4 in the morning. If you have to go to Portland, it's fine but if you're planning a leisure break, it doesn't quite cut it.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank Less_is_more2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Less_is_more2,

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at the Heathman Portland. Trip Advisor has allowed us the opportunity to connect with our guests; hear of their PDX adventures; help ease any unhappiness with their visit. I'm so sorry to read that your situation was of the latter listing.
Please accept my sincere apologies that your time at our hotel wasn't more pleasant. If there is any chance that you'll come visit us again, I'll make sure your stay is a different experience altogether!
If you have any further questions or concerns, or are interested to give us another go, please contact me directly.
Thank you again.
Wishing you all the best,

Krissy S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

There are hotels, there are luxury hotels, and then there is the Heathman. From your greeting by the Beefeater outside the lobby door to your personal concierge you are treated like royalty. No request goes unmet. Each member of the staff is empowered to make your desires fulfilled. Hotel has a beautiful library and unsurpassed original art collection. No need to worry about a day that catches you with a lot of rain outside as there is so much to do inside the hotel, including high tea, library tour, and self-guided audio tour of the art and original rosewood panels in the elevator from a tree that is extinct.
I am very particular about cleanliness and housekeeping and find this to be unsurpassed at this hotel. The French press coffee offered in each room is simple luxury that only adds to your delightful experience. There's evening turndown service which is complementary and also meets your every expectation.
Breakfast was perfect each day and I highly recommend the croissant which was the best I've ever had.
A remarkable experience I will long remember for many reasons.

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank PlainJane23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear PlainJane23,

We are sincerely grateful to you and the time you took to write this gorgeous review of your Heathman experience - what can we say? It looks like you had a wonderful time! That couldn't make us happier!
We hope to welcome you back again soon and help you to experience more of what the Heathman can offer to you!
Thank you again, you've truly made our day,
Krissy S.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#6 of 144 in Portland
2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#16 of 144 in Portland
1,434 reviews
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#9 of 144 in Portland
1,256 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $182 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city’s most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel’s library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA’s coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland’s premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing