We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD location, BETTER rooms... BEST staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“GOOD location, BETTER rooms... BEST staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Basicly what everyone else is writing here is true! Someone really put some thought into this place... a nice merger of modern conveniences and subtle little treats in a nice old centrally located grand dame building. Many small but smart features here, like the subtle night lights in the bathrooms, a lighted wall mounted magnifying makeup mirror, ceiling fire sprinkler heads cleverly recessed into parts of the crown molding. The rooms are pretty good sized as well - completely functional and (sshhhhh)... very quiet!

But honestly, the staff! So friendly, not pretentious, helpful... focused on good service yet still each an interesting individual in his/.her own right. The tall young fellow that we checked in with... engaged my 7 year old in genuine conversation. The girl that served us breakfast in the very pleasant Heathman café... just the right balance of light conversation and attentive service from a quirky dark haired sprite.

I liked the West facing "air shaft" room 921 - you look over some roofs to the forested hills to the West of town - nice!

Wonderful experience!

Room Tip: As usual, higher up is better. Corner rooms work well too.
See more room tips
Green Features: They have good eco-awareness and post tastefully worded notes here and there let us know of the property's interest in reducing waste.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Jeffrey C,

What a review - thank you! We strive to continue to develop this historic property in the modern day and truly create a hotel that combines innovation AND tradition. We really appreciate you taking notice of this and being able to talk about your experience on this outlet!

We are also so pleased that you were continually welcomed and treated by our finest in customer service. Our goal is to make you feel special, always kindly acknowledged and comfortable.

Please join us again in the New Year - we'd love to welcome you back!

All the very best,
Krissy S
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,165
    439
    176
    79
    36
See reviews for
315
796
106
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

The staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was nice; not too big but more than adequate. The room was quiet, in spite of overlooking the street.

The lounge and restaurant were also quite nice. The late food specials (after 9pm the day I visited) are a great value and quite good - the hamburger was delicious and a great value.

All in all, a nice experience.

Green Features: The room had a two-bin system for garbage and recycling - the first time I've seen that and very nice to see.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear David V,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review as we appreciate the extra effort it takes to record your experience and detail your time with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time and hope to welcome you back in the new year!
Feel free to call us directly for room reservations, we can ensure the rooms suits your needs for each visit.

Take care,
Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

The best thing about the Heathman is the staff. They were all very outgoing, helpful and professional. Came into town for a three-day getaway to explore downtown, and the hotel is perfectly situated for walking around.

It is an historical hotel that has been elegantly restored and is well kept. As with all historical hotels, the rooms are somewhat smaller, but extremely well appointed. The onsite restaurant/bar is excellent, and the mezzanine level courtesy library is outstanding, but the must-do item at the Heathman is to visit the adjacent chocolate shop for a variety of treats and drinks.

Go stay at the Heathman, and enjoy downtown portland. Great hote!

Room Tip: Not a tip, just a reminder that this is an old hotel with a haunted past that pertains to certain ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mellingson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear mellingson,

It is a wonderful feeling to read such reviews - we can't thank you enough for taking the time to record your experience in downtown PDX, and at the Heathman. Our staff is thrilled to welcome guests (both old and new) and that shows in their interactions - we appreciate you taking notice of this!
We also like that you pointed out our historic status. The Heathman may be nearly 90 years old, but she looks great for her age! So pleased with your remarks!
We can't wait to welcome you back in the new year - have a great start to 2014~!

All the best,
Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
Level Contributor
242 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We love staying at the Heathman. Everyone from the front door bellman to the front desk staff is top notch.

Rooms are tasteful, quiet and romantic. The hotel in the heart of Portland makes getting around town to shop or dine super easy.

And any request is promptly responded to in a professional manner. That all this can be done at such a reasonable price is amazing. And their restaurant is delightful for brunch. Dinners are 'ok' but selections are a bit too fussy for our taste.

Room Tip: Get a corner suite; more room for a small increase in price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gloria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Gloria L,

Thank you for your warm and kind comments about our staff and establishment. We are very excited that you had a good time while you were here. Your words are very encouraging and will be passed on to all of the staff.

Thank you!

Jamicia W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Gracious staff, very helpful & good sense of humor. Impressive decorating for the holidays.
Very quiet halls and rooms, no noise from other rooms. Beautiful decor in the rooms. Lovely amenities in the room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HTLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krissy S, Online Content Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear HTDL,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at the Heathman Portland. Glad you enjoyed our festive interior decorations - every year we look so forward to seeing the tea court all decked out for the holidays! We hope to welcome you back again soon!

All the best,
Krissy S.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

The Heathman is always our top choice to stay when we are in Portland. The suites are larger than most hotel rooms for a comparable price. The customer service is what you would expect when staying at an absolute top shelf establishment. From the time you arrive they take exceptional care of all your needs.
The French press is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the place, but I always go for the corner suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank wayne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Wayne d,

Your feedback concerning your stay this Holiday season is greatly appreciated. The fresh ground beans, and French press style coffee is always a favorite, we are glad that you enjoyed it.

We look forward your return in the near future.

Happy Holidays!


Best Regards,

Jamicia W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

My wife and stayed at this hotel recently for a weekend shopping getaway. The staff was excellent. We asked to be upgraded to a king room from a queen room. They of course chrged for it. Most hotels would upgrade for no charge. The room was dark and the bathroom was about the size of broom closet. The room did have nice ameities and was well insulated.
The bed was very comfortable.
The restaurant needs help. I had breakfast and it took so long to get served they did not charge me. The food was good. Later when I was at the bar watching football I observed the worst service for the patrons at the bar,some were never served and had to leave so as not to miss a show. On couple received on of the orders and never received the other and when they finally asked the server brought out the wrong order. There is no excuse for this lack of service in a classy restaurant. It appears when they have a large crowd they are stressed to the max and can't handle the load. When we return to Portland it will not be to this location.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Front Office Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Bill N,

Thank you for notifying us of the issue you witnessed in our restaurant. Our goal is to provide you with the best possible service, and when we fail to meet your expectations, it’s important for us to know.

On behalf of the Heathman Hotel we deeply apologize for this lack of attention to details, organization and customer service.

Sincerely,

Jamicia W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Property: The Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing