We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romance Package Spectacular”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #24 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland, OR
1 review
“Romance Package Spectacular”
Reviewed July 22, 2008

My wife and I decided to splurge a little and get a room for after our wedding reception in Portland.

We stayed in a suite, using the "Romance Package."

It really appeared as though the Heathman rolled out the red carpet for us. Unlike romance packages at other hotels, the chocolates, candles, champagne, music and flowers were all of the highest quality. Not just stuff you could buy at a store.

The bed was very comfortable, the room quiet, and the breakfast in bed was spectacular.

Not an experience we will soon forget.

If you are in Portland for a weekend, you really should consider spoiling yourself here.

  • Liked — The comfort of the room
  • Disliked — We had to leave =p
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank thechrismurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,225
    469
    192
    83
    36
See reviews for
337
833
111
470
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nh
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

no reason to stay here. rooms are ok, but street noise is unbearable. room walls are thin. a/c was broken when we arrived, i called to have it fixed, went to dinner and came back to find no notation that anything had been done. around midnite, couldn't stand it anylonger and called front desk who changed our room at that point. a/c there was good. gym is terrible and limited. other hotels are very close and probably better. check out the higgens restaruant.!! parking garage is a few blocks away.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — portland is a great
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank durreyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2008

The Heathman is perfectly located in downtown Portland. Just a couple blocks to the lightrail, Nordstrom, Macy's etc. Perfect. We went Rose Parade Weekend, and I must say, they had a very hard time keeping up.

Reservations: Difficult. We wanted two separate advertised packages over the course of 2 nights. It was impossible to link them on the online reservation system. The individual we talked to on the phone also had no idea how to link them in their system. Additionally, he didn't ask any of the pertinent questions about the reservation (how many guests, what kind of bed, smoking/non, etc.) so after re-reading their website regarding their offerings, we had to call back to clarify. Upon check- in, our reservations were still not linked, so the supervisor made sure there were notes in the system so that we could stay in our same room. Unfortunately, he only gave us one key, so when we came back downstairs we talked to another person who also couldn't decipher our reservation. He said he put notes in the system linking our two reservations. Yep, you guessed it, we get a call 24 hours later asking why we were still there, we were supposed to have checked out. They theoretically fixed that; however, when we returned to our room after our late night dinner, our card keys were inactive! So back down to the desk we went. ...

Maybe this is fine for a 3 star hotel, but I certainly expected more from The Heathman. Everyone was very polite and very accommodating, but there was more finger pointing than problem solving, and not so much as a mint on our pillow for the disruptions to our "Romantic Getway" package.

Our room was not ready 45 minutes after check in time, but after a 15 minute wait, we were shown to our room. The room was very clean, neat, well kept. A place for everything, and everything in its place. We had purchased the Romance Package for the first night. A really nice fresh red long stem rose was in the room, a couple of excellent chocolates (don't know the maker, but they were very high quality), a nice bottle of champagne on ice, again, didn't recognize the maker, but equivalent to a Gloria Ferrer or such. Lavender bath salts and a book of Shakespearean Sonnets. Nice touch.

Turn Down Service starts at 5pm. Yes, 5pm. So for those closest to the elevator in their rooms at 5pm preparing to go out, if you don't allow the maid in for turndown, you don't receive it. So much for the bottled water and other niceties. Additionally, the maids use walkie talkies to communicate, so if you're trying to actually have a little romance at 5 in the afternoon, it sounds a bit like a police car is parked outside your door.

Parking: Over the course of 3 days, there was never a parking spot available in front of the hotel for valet parking; actually, we even had a hard time finding the doorman or valet during daylight hours. On each occassion when we took our car out, we had to circle the block multiple times before something along the block (outside their valet zone) cleared.

The bathroom is nice, but probably not as useful to women who use blow-driers and cosmetics. They could use a magnifying mirror for sure.

The restaurant was terrific - we went to tea and two breakfasts. Absolutely fantastic on all fronts.

All a little nit-picking, but for a 4 star, $750 weekend all told, we did expect a bit more.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2008

Hotel is classic and the amenties were great .

I was upgarded to an executive suite but with windows facing a mural of an adjacent building. The suite has recently been upgarded with a comtemporary touch. Comfortable bed and nice washroom faciltiies with a separate area for a sink and even a walk in closet.

Evening turn -down service was provided.

Bell and desk services were exceptional.

The restaurant in the hotel offers a very decent menu. Although I did not use the lounge area, I did notice some very nice live music.


Portland is a very nice walking city. The hotel is centrally located with a few stores in the vincinty.

  • Liked — Services
  • Disliked — no great views
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JLInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

We stayed 3 nights at the Heathman with my wife and 6-year old daughter. My wife was attending a seminar hosted at the hotel, and my daughter and I got to roam around Portland.

We had booked through the hotel's website (attending the seminar was providing a discount that could not be applied otherwise). The room had windows on the tiny internal court, but it did not bother us at all. Beds were very comfortable, flat panel TV had true HD programming (and, it seemed, BlueRay HD movies), wired high-speed internet (cable in the closet) was free, and live orchids in the corridor were all adding to the overall feeling of beeing well pampered in a high-end establishment. The room was not small by any means, except for the bathtub/shower + toilet, which could use a bit more space.

The hotel is centrally located, close to public transportation (well organized and very safe), and we ended up not moving our rental car at all. If we had known better ahead of the trip, we would have relied on public transportation alone (the rapid rail system picks you up at he airport and drops off a block from the hotel) and saved the $29/night of the valet parking (without counting the rental fee).

  • Liked — Great service.
  • Disliked — SIze of the bathroom.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Kunci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2008

I took my mother to Portland for Mothers' Day weekend (tax-free shopping!) and stayed at the Heathman Hotel after several friends recommended it. Overall, I really enjoyed my stay, on account of the super-helpful staff who offered their suggestions on local eateries and sightseeing musts. The decor of the hotel is quirky and interesting, which I prefer over your cookie-cutter ultra-muted Westin or what have you. There are Andy Warhol originals all over the place, live orchids adorn the halls, and art deco details abound. As for comfort, the Temperpedic beds were divine (be sure to order your preferred bed type when you book - they have several kinds to choose from), and the room amenities were excellent (Peet's coffee and herbal tees, Occitane toiletries). The room service was speedy and the food delicious, and surprisingly reasonably priced. My only complaint would be that because this is a historic hotel, the rooms are quite small, and this means certain inconveniences, e.g. you cannot see the TV from the bed. This was a shame since it was a 40" Sony Bravia flatscreen and all the programming was in HD. The hotel could have found another housing unit for the TV, or mounted it on the wall, so that guests can relax in bed and watch movies. Still, it wasn't a huge deal. All in all I highly recommend the Heathman for anyone looking to stay in the heart of downtown Portland.

  • Liked — Friendly, helpful staff.
  • Disliked — Couldn't see the TV from the beds.
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnatjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2008

Once again, I was blown away with the exceptional service at the Heathman. My wife and daughter came with me on my business trip and had a fantastic time at the hotel. Everyone from the bell desk to the restaurant staff were friendly and took interest in making sure our stay was pleasurable. Wether for business or pleasure, the Heathman is the only hotel in Portland for my family. Thanks again Heathman!

  • Liked — Service, Location and Hotel Style
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momentum08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 141 in Portland
1,361 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#16 of 141 in Portland
2,059 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 141 in Portland
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Property: The Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 141 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing