We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #26 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 16, 2013

The Heathman is consistently excellent on all levels -- friendly service, beautiful decor, very clean and spacious rooms, extremely comfortable beds, delicious food and great cocktails. Always fun to have a drink on the sidewalk cafe. We love all the wonderful amenities and services, yet the location is a bonus. Centrally located in the heart of downtown Portland. Close to Nordstrom, Mario's and numerous other great shopping destinations, plus a wonderful selection of eateries -- all within walking distance. A+ all the way!

Room Tip: Symphony Suite is in a nice, quiet corner. Very spacious, and has two bathrooms!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FosSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2013

Dear FosSeattle,

Thank you for taking time to submit a review, your feedback is greatly appreciated.

We strive to exceed our guest expectations by providing the right room, the right technology and the right service to make every stay relaxing, enjoyable and filled with positive experiences. It was a pleasure to read your kind remarks about the service, cleanliness, amenities, and dinner. It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay and we are glad that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Thank you for choosing the Heathman Hotel.

Best Regards,

Jamicia Williams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,106)
There are newer reviews for The Heathman Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,435 - 1,441 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

We really enjoyed staying here. Between the wonderful coffee (with French Press), fantastic bed (we went with the European feather top bed), nightly turn down service (including bottled water and ear plugs), and beautiful rooms, we had a great time. It is in an ideal location and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

For those wondering, the gym is quite basic but isn't too bad for a hotel gym! It is at least in a bright room (unlike many other ones) and each piece of cardio equipment has a TV.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Having stayed here many times over the last three years I believe this a a great little hotel with a wonderful awareness of making their guests feel appreciated. The restaurant embodies the great service and the food is fresh. I never tire of the Andy Warhol prints on every floor as you exit the elevator. The complimentary French Press for making coffee in the room is a great way to start the morning!

Room Tip: Suites are spacious for an older hotel
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SailingThistle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed for 5 days and had a great experience. We accidentally left a watch in our room after check out, and the Heathman was willing to find it and ship it to us. There was also complimentary bottled water in our room every day which was a convenient little extra. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank diamobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

First stay at the Heathman after 12 years. Service is still excellent especially around the check in process. When a group of us arrived at the same time, extra front staff materialized immediately to get us all checked in quickly. I was happy to learn that I was upgraded to a suite for my one night stay. Luckily, I did not have any of the bathroom size issues other reviewers have written about. The room was well appointed and quiet but did not have any view. I like the unique french press coffee in the room although the brewing process was a little time consuming.
The gym is a little small for a hotel of this quality. I didn't look into any external gym options but would be great if you could use a larger facility nearby.
Lobby area is cozy with the big fireplace which really lets you know that you're in the Pacific Northwest. I ate at the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast and enjoyed both meals.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tkyrnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Tkyrnr,

We appreciate your positive feedback about your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the accommodations’, service, and restaurant. I apologize for the lack of space in the fitness suite, on your next visit let one of the personal concierges know that you would like a full service gym and we will get you a pass to the Hiltons facilities right across the street.

Thank you and please visit us again.

Kind Regards,

JWilliams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Painfully small bathrooms...admittedly that may be beyond their control since I understand the building to be fairly old.

That said, and if you can live with a closet-sized bathroom, this property was quite nice. The staff were excellent and more responsive than others in its class (Sheraton, Hilton, etc.). The location was good, though surrounded by high end restaurants. The parts of town with a "scene," however, were several blocks away so you get a nice set of options.

The rooms were cozy and well appointed...very tasteful and not trendy. It was odd, though, that all of our sofa and chair cushions were stuffed behind the armchair - likely an oversight by housekeeping.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Make sure you can live with a small bathroom...and I mean SMALL.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorrin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Front Office Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear lorrink,

Thank you for choosing The Heathman Hotel Portland on your recent visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Portland.

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your stay. It is nice to hear that you had a delightful stay with us regardless of the size of the bathroom. You are correct; the hotel was built in 1927 which is what gives it charm.

On your future visit, feel free to contact us directly so that we can make sure you are in a room with a more spacious bathroom.

Thank you again for completing a survey.

Sincerely,

JWilliams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Incredibly friendly/helpful staff and a beautiful/clean hotel! The warmth and kindness that every staff member displayed truly made you feel at home. It was one of the best hotel stay experiences I have had in a long time! If you are looking for a great place to stay in downtown Portland stay HERE!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear C B,

Thank you for filling out a guest survey. I was delighted to hear that your stay exceeded your expectations! We strive for excellence at every level and want to thank you for your kind responses concerning guest service, cleanliness and our staff.

We look forward to serving you on your next visit!

Best Regards,

JWilliams

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,391 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#13 of 144 in Portland
1,422 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,824 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#19 of 144 in Portland
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $204 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing