We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay in Portland”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #25 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 19, 2013

I am a frequent traveller and must say that the service at the Heathman was exceptional.
From the doorman, to the receptionist to the concierge, everyone was happy to be of help.
The room was lovely, the bed was excellent . . .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Susan B,
Thank you for your kind comments. I am so thrilled to hear you enjoyed the staff so much and had such a great stay. We can’t wait to have you as our guest again. See you soon.
Warm regards,
Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,618 - 1,624 of 2,229 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

The service and little touches they do are really great. Turndown with water, ear plugs, and an eye mask every night, incredibly friendly and warm staff, and although I don't know Portland well it seemed like it was in a good location in terms of proximity to shops and restaurants. The cons are a super duper small gym, very small bathrooms, and smaller than average suites as well. If you are a runner and want to get out of the hotel for a run, the waterfront path is only about 6 blocks away. I will warn you however that Portland has a massive homeless population so a large part of your waterfront run is going to involve running next to homeless encampments that have a strong stench. Overall I would stay at the hotel again as a solo traveler, but as a couple or a family I would probably not.

Room Tip: If you are in the back of the hotel your room will face a wall, however they did paint a mural on it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yankeetravels27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear yankeetravels27,
Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments. I am thrilled you enjoyed the service and little touches so much. We have the best staff in town and they truly care about our guests experience. You mentioned that our fitness suite is a bit on the small side. I wanted to let you know that we do have access to a full service work out facility right across the street. Please inquire with the concierge on your next stay; they can get you all the details. We also have many different suggestions for running routes that do not involve running on or near the waterfront. I am glad to hear you will return, and hopefully you will bring your family next time. We do have many types of suites of all shapes and sizes. I am sure we can find one that will accommodate your family comfortably. Our concierges are excellent and they can suggest many activities for your family while you are in Portland. We do hope to see you and your family soon.
Sincerely,
Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was the third stop on a trip to the Pacific Northwest. Overall I was pleased with the property. There were lots of pleasant surprises that make this hotel unique. Here are a few of the pros and cons:
The pros - great location, tasteful rooms, choice of bed (tempur pedic, pillow top or feather bed), L'Occitane bathroom amenities, in room French press coffee, complimentary wine in the one of a kind library (over 4000 books all signed by the author - most first edition).
The cons - the bathroom is extremely small. Noisy hallways.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Traci_Cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Traci_Cal,
We are so pleased you chose to stay with us on your Pacific Northwest trip. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed about the hotel and that you had a chance to visit the library. I am sorry to hear you felt your guest room was not spacious enough. We do have many different room types of all shapes and sizes. Next time you find yourself in Portland give us a call and I am sure we can find a room that you will be comfortable in. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.
Best regards,
Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Staying at this hotel booked by corporate travel. Nicely located and nicely appointed. The pluses: very old attractive style, rooms nice, very clean. Teapot and french press a nice touch. The negatives: room is as hot as a sauna. Front desk sent a/c guy and all he did was verify temp but I can't sleep it so hot! Bathroom is so small when I turn around my butt [not very large] hits the door. Overall hotel quiet but I was expecting more from the hot spot of "50 shades of gray" main site! A bit disappointing.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Darkside0127,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback about your most recent stay. I am sorry to hear you were not 100% happy with your stay. I am happy to know that you enjoyed the style and cleanliness of your room. I will notify the engineering staff right away to have them look at the room you stayed in. I am sad to know you did not get a good nights rest while you were here do to the temperature in the room. We recently had an extensive HVAC upgrade and rarely get a complaint. We will correct that issue right away. Should you find that you will be in Portland again, I hope you will give us another chance. I am sure we can find a room that you will be comfortable in.

Kind regards,

Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Never having stayed in downtown Portland, we weren't sure which of the many hotels to choose. Thankfully, we went with The Heathman Hotel. It's an old school property, in a prime location. All the rooms have been thoroughly modernized, but they left the lounge and public areas looking like a high end hotel from the 1940's. Live jazz music greeted us one evening and front desk service was excellent. Two blocks from Pioneer Square and footsteps away from some of the area's best restaurants (Raven & Rose and Higgins), makes the Heathman a no-brainer for visiting downtown Portland. The Heathman restaurant has received lots of acclaim as well and we really enjoyed a breakfast there. Next time, we'll make sure to have dinner onsite. Overall an excellent place.

Room Tip: You can choose your bed type: size and mattress! We slept on a feather bed mattress which was extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Victoria S,

I am ecstatic to hear you enjoyed your stay in Portland and at our hotel. It is great to know you enjoyed the ambiance of our lobby and common area. We have been lucky enough to keep so much of the historic charm of this building and it is just amazing. We do have live jazz music Tuesday-Saturday evenings in our fabulous Tea Court lounge. I am happy you had a chance to enjoy this. Thank you for being so kind and submitting your comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We had a random night in Portland and chose the Heathman - lucky us! Personalized service from the moment we drove up, including special attention to our 30th anniversary celebration. What a gem of a hotel! This is our new "go to" spot in Portland.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Melanie W,
I am so pleased to know you had a special 30th Anniversary celebration and we could be a part of that. Helping our guests with their special occasions is the best part of our job. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and posting such a kind review. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Warm regards,
Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed here with my wife and 8 month old son for my wife's birthday. As a present, the baby and I stayed in the hotel while my wife went out to dinner with her friend. I like the coffee in the French Press though it can get a bit messy if you have more than one french press. I also got a burger and 6 pack of beer via room service. The fries were good but the burger left a bit to be desired. The location was great, but the prices were reflective of a more prestigious city. The price was very comparable to other hotels in the area though. It was good, not amazing. It didn't live up to the price tag in my opinion, but my guess is that the other places in the area don't either. Just really shocked at the prices of hotels in Portland. Also, found some old fruit, grapes, when I moved a chair around for the baby's crib. Not a big deal but I don't like paying near 200 bucks for a moldy grape in my room. The furniture should be moved when cleaning between guests. Again, not a huge deal but I would be reprimanded or possibly even fired from my old job working in a state institution if I failed to clean appropriately in a client's room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingSmythes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear TravelingSmythes,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am sorry to hear that you were not 100% satisfied with your stay. I can assure you your experience was not typical of a stay at the Heathman. Please feel free to contact me or our Director of Housekeeping at jwilliams@heathmanhotel.com to discuss this matter further.

Sincerely,

Linda Reagan
lreagan@heathmanhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 146 in Portland
1,450 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,875 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#17 of 146 in Portland
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $172 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city’s most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel’s library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA’s coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland’s premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing