We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Charm, Updated Surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Heathman Hotel to your Saves list
The Heathman Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1001 SW Broadway @ Salmon, Portland, OR 97205 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 135 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Old Charm, Updated Surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Wow, where to begin with our stay at The Heathman! I had read the other reviews before we checked in but I have to say if there were 10 stars available I would probably have rated this place as a 10!

We opted for one of their Symphony Suites and absolutely LOVED this one bedroom suite. It was so amazingly comfortable that we actually spent a lot of time in the suite when not visiting friends. Every change we had we changed into our PJs and laid around just relaxing. The windows opened in the living room and the bedroom so we had some really nice, fresh air coming in at all times and we slept like a baby!

The housekeepers are superb and ensured we always had what we needed. The bath towels are huge and thirsty. I'm mentioning them because they were one of the items that stood out as far as the suite is concerned. Also, they provide a beautiful french press and hot water kettle along with freshly ground coffee so you can press your own coffee...very tasty! They kept that restocked each of the 4 days we were at the hotel.

There is also a well stocked bar. When we checked in they gave us a little card that paid for the first $10 spent in the bar. Basically enough for one drink but it was a really nice gesture. We bought our own sparkling and still water to keep on hand.

The bed was so comfortable that I didn't want to get out of it. We slept a LOT while we were there and enjoyed every minute of it.

The coffee shop adjacent/hooked to the hotel was divine! They made the usual espresso drinks and sold a HUGE amount of high end chocolates...many I have never seen before. We bought several pieces along with some fresh caramels (which I'm still picking out of my teeth but they were so good). The restaurant in the hotel was SUPER pricey but we had breakfast there one morning and really enjoyed it.

There are plenty of places to eat around the hotel as well as a Nordstrom's, a Banana Republic, movie theater and other things to do.

I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. The rates are more than worth what you get in return. I/We can't WAIT to return!!

Room Tip: Opted for a Symphony Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottyhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear ScottyHouston,

I want to thank you, first and foremost, for your feedback and comments on your experience at The Heathman. We appreciate hearing back from our guests and want you to know that we have shared your comments with the whole staff. The photos you posted were great as well. I am so happy to hear you had such a fabulous stay with us and will be coming again next time you are in Portland. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seattle
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Not one of Portland's hip hotels, the Heathman has a greeter at the door dressed as, what is it, an English royal guard?? We had a great deal on a suite, so we went. My previous impression that the rooms are rather small and dark stays. On the other hand, we had two rooms, elegant and comfortable, spotless and a great bed. Service was efficient and friendly. We hotel hop in this frequent destination(Portland) and will stay here again. We choose among hotels on the www.travelportland.com site. Free parking and simple breakfast is always included, a huge benefit. Parking at the Heathman is $32/night.

Green Features: I think every hotel in Portland, OR is into environmentally friendly. It's Portland!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in another type of room, the largest suite. We will go back to the other suite which can be closed off. There was a magnifying mirror 2-1/2 feet off the ground with no possible way to use it. I moved a table and chair to use as a cosmetic table into the bathroom. Worked great. The bed was comfortable, the service was the best. The drink lounge is the best and the music was wonderful. A great way to end an evening. We'll definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Select the suite that can be closed off the bedroom area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crownpacificgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear CrownPacificGroup,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am happy to hear you had a nice stay with us. I will have someone look at the placement of the mirror in the suite you stayed in; we want it convenient for everyone. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Portland.

Best regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were impressed from the time we pulled up and were greeted so nicely and catered to, the staff was so friendly and accommodating, rooms were just beautiful, cozy and so elegant! The entire hotel was just beautiful and within walking distance to our show. We will definitely be back back and next time for a longer stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaquelChavez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear RaquelChavez,

It was so kind of you to submit such a lovely review. I am so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and for a longer stay. Next time hopefully you can enjoy the wine reception in the evening or listen to some great jazz music in our Tea Court Lounge. Thank you for your comments.

Best regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Beautiful, excellent service of hotel staff. Valet staff are ALWAYS smiling. Nicely decorated rooms. Very perfectly situated in the downtown area. Convenient to the Pearl and Alphabet districts and to the trendy 23rd Street area. Only things to not make our stay perfect was no a/c vents in bedroom or bathroom and the not so perfect restaurant service. We had a beautiful King Suite. Sitting room was only area to have a/c. It sometimes blew out cold air. Most of the time cool air. Restaurants are beautiful and serve gorgeously presented, yummy food but always seem to be short staffed. All in all, it was a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a/c in actual bedroom if reserving a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Benee H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the staff while you were here. I will pass on your comments to the appropriate managers about the restaurant appearing short staffed. I am sorry for this inconvenience. I am happy to know that you did enjoy your meal though. The food is fabulous. Engineering is looking into the issues you mentioned with the air conditioning as we speak. Thank you again for sharing your comments; we love to hear our guest’s feedback. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.

Best regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel was great for my business trip. The hotel was in a great location, had great service and great rooms. The room was a bit tight, but the bathroom was huge (they could've used some of the additional space in the room. Love the L'Occitane bath products. The free internet was a huge bonus! The library was cool - wish I had time to sit up there and browse with a glass of wine (free wine hour from 5pm-6pm). If I have to go up there again, I'll definitely choose the Heathman!

Room Tip: I believe corner rooms are a bit larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
182 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We loved this downtown Portland hotel for its old world charm and modern conveniences. Crystal chandeliers, original artworks, and fantastic book collection show its sophistication and good taste. Great location close to Pioneer Square, easy access to public transportation, with shopping and restaurants nearby make this an excellent choice for travelers wanting an inner city experience. Staff was friendly and most accommodating all our requests. They engaged us in conversation and helped us with our requests for info or reservations. Concierge staff was helpful with trip planning prior to our arrival and had good follow up after we arrived on property. Beds and rooms were quite lovely and well appointed. We took advantage of advance booking and payment and saved a few bucks through their online package options. They have a great website, too. Loved the fireplace room and appreciated the doorman's presence. Dined at Higgins just down the street for an excellent meal. Also enjoyed Portland Art Museum and Farmer's Market, both within easy walking distance. Check out the Goodwill Store just around the corner--this is an upscale boutique with great prices on gently used treasures. And don't miss Huber's for the Spanish Coffees! Enjoy tea in the afternoons (make reservations) and jazz at night in front of the fireplace in the gorgeous lobby.

Room Tip: 605 is a corner deluxe king with windows on two sides, so bright and airy. Located at the end of the...
See more room tips
Green Features: Great sustainable practices. They are trying to be green in many aspects of the hotel operations. Very impressed!
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TripTalkHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear TripTalkHawaii,

What a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to submit one. We really appreciate hearing the feedback from our guests. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed the artwork around the hotel. We have a great collection from many fabulous and talented artists. Sounds like you had a busy itinerary while you were here. I am so happy that you had such a nice time. Hopefully you will be able to come back to Portland soon and see more of our great city and let us pamper you.

Best wishes,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Hotel Monaco Portland - A Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
RiverPlace Hotel, a Kimpton Hotel
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#3 of 135 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Hotel Vintage Portland - a Kimpton Hotel
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 135 in Portland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Address: 1001 SW Broadway @ Salmon, Portland, OR 97205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 135 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heathman Hotel is a member of Preferred Hotels & Resorts Worldwide and Historic Hotels of America. The acclaimed Heathman Hotel is situated downtown in the heart of Portland Oregon's Financial and Cultural Districts. This sophisticated boutique hotel offers luxurious accommodations and award winning service- a refreshing blend of Portland History and Modern hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing