We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service at its best!”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #25 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Richardson, Texas
1 review
“Service at its best!”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel goes Bose and beyond in their services. To say they are bringing something back to travel that is missing is an understatement. EVERY person working there was exceptional and I would no doubt go back and have told everyone about my time there. Too bad it's only in Portland...

Room Tip: All rooms are exceptional mine faced the downtown area but sound proofing was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pcain13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear pcain13,

Wow, thank you very much for the great review. I love that you feel like every person working here is so great. I am so proud of our team and the service they provide our guests. Thank you for telling everyone about your time here, we appreciate you spreading the word about us. We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,078 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,264
    489
    200
    85
    40
See reviews for
347
867
119
485
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We went to Portland to celebrate an upcoming birthday for the weekend, and lucked out staying at this hotel. It is in a great section of downtown, about 2 blocks from Pioneer Square, but of course everything is walkable in Portland. The room was clean, and spacious (2 doubles) for a smaller historic hotel. They even had turn down service, complete with ear plugs and eye covers. I was shocked, I haven't seen that in years. The towels were big and soft, not the usual hotel towels, these were great. The service of everyone working there was unbelievable, I typically never see this service and they are very happy to help you out with whatever you need. I will definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again. I just need to schedule another trip!!!!!

Room Tip: The double room is much bigger than the king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkinney4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Jkinney4,

What a wonderful review, thank you for leaving such kind comments. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our linen. We take pride in offering top notch linen and amenities for our guests. The staff is the best around and truly love assisting our guests. I am happy to know it shows through their service. Let me know if we can assist you with planning your next trip to Heathman Hotel. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Cedro, CA
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Attention to detail is an understatement, from reservation through check out we were truly impressed with each and every staff person. There is only one other hotel in the world where we experienced similar service (the Observatory in Sydney). We had two rooms for three nights so had a real exposure. My advise...(and I stayed at many of the other Portland hotels)book immediately at the Heathman and don't miss dining there as well. Amazing. For breakfast make sure you order scones. Yum. Now attention to detail, let me share a story. We were celebrating a couple of birthdays and had cake. My granddaughter asked to have 6 plates and a sharp knife sent to our room. The person she asked in lobby was different than person who delivered but he said to her...here is your sharp knife. The doorman in talking to our grandson as he was carrying in his new computer told him he knew he was getting a computer for his bday. I asked him to be careful of the computer 2 days earlier when unloading our car. I was amazed. One small comment and he still remembered us.

Room Tip: The double rooms are more spacious than kings especially the bathroom area. But it s a historic hote...
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent. The leftover food policy (donation) is appreciated as one walks through the more challenging areas of Portland
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qsmamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear qsmamo,

The staff enjoyed getting to know you and your family while you were here. We are thrilled that your special weekend was great. Thank you for taking the time to submit such a kind review. Hopefully you can make this an annual tradition and we will get to see you for the next birthday celebration. Thank you again.

Warm regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyne City, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Talk about service! The staff at the Heathman Hotel know how to treat their guests. Impeccable customer service, fantastic food would be an understatement, and an overall concern for the experience their guests are having.
Thank you for helping us achieve a very successful meeting!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Becky K,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments. We are so happy that you had a successful meeting and a great stay. We look forward seeing you on your next trip to Portland.

Best regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunsmuir, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice place to have dinner. The menu is delicious, with a nice variety, and the ambiance is unsurpassed. To really top off the stay, if you are visiting from out of town, or if you live in the area, and want to treat yourself, stay in one of the very comfortable rooms. Some have fireplaces, and some have jacuzzi tubs, if you really want to go big! They also, with prior arrangement, have a massage therapist, that will come to your room. They have a good location, next to other great restaurants, and shopping. Made it a point to check out the Heathman, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rea_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Rea_12,

Thank you for the kind words. We appreciate hearing your comments and are so happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and your dining experience. Our restaurant is fabulous and hopefully next time you are staying with us you can listen to some great live Jazz in our Tea Court Lounge. We do offer great in room spa services as you mentioned. You can check out our menu on line or ask one of our knowledgeable concierge staff on your next visit. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.

Best regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have, over several years, engaged the Heathman for a small wedding venue, holiday high teas, and happy hours in the bar. Each experience has been most gratifying and full of value. Most recently we've used the happy hour bar location as our "touch base" before theatre, concert, or shopping outings. Thanks, Heathman, for taking such good care of us!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear John L,

We feel so honored to have been a part of so many great special events. Thank you for sharing them with us. We look forward to seeing you very soon.

Sincerely,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Heathman is a great destination in downtown Portland, OR
While the guest rooms are small, they are well appointed and cozy
Great in- room coffee
Staff is friendly and service superb
Food delightful, fresh and great presentation
Sampled food in restaurant and as catered events
Would recommend this location to anyone visiting Portland on business or personal trip

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drpamsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Drpamsm,
It is great to hear that you enjoyed the wonderful coffee that we have biked in each morning and freshly ground everyday. The staff is great and they provide amazing service, I am glad you had a chance to experience this. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with your fellow travelers.
Kind regards,
Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 143 in Portland
1,383 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 143 in Portland
1,412 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 143 in Portland
2,810 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#16 of 143 in Portland
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Property: The Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing