We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The epitome of comfort and hospitality”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #25 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had a marathon week of meetings in Portland last week, complete with 16 hour days and many presentations. The rooms are beautifully appointed, with clean, updated and classic decor. Each night, I was greeted with the comfort and elegance of this unique property, and the extra-special treatment from a fantasic staff. Every employee, from the bellman to the front desk to our waiter in the lounge, provided service with genuine care.

I also didnt have to leave the hotel to experience creative cuisine. I ate in the lounge, the hotel restaurant, and the bar. The mushroom risotto was out of this world, and the happy hour pricing in the lounge made it more than affordable to experience a value at happy hour.

The Heathman is in the heart of downtown business district and several theatres. This is the perfect hotel for both business and a special weekend of leisure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaryG907786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Dear MaryG907786,

It sounds like you had a crazy week. I am so glad we could provide some rest and relaxation for you when you returned each day. I am a huge fan of the mushroom risotto as well, I am happy to hear you enjoyed the food so much. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you again. Hopefully on your next trip you can come and enjoy all the Heathman and Portland has to offer and not have to work. We can assist you with many activities to keep you entertained while on vacation. See you soon!

Best regards,

Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,717 - 1,723 of 2,229 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

I was in Portland for business and had a fantastic experience staying at The Heathman. The staff were helpful and nice. The bed was very comfortable, and the rooms/hotel was extremely clean. It's located in a great spot. I will definitely make sure to stay here on future trips to Portland.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brett H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Brett H,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

My elderly mother and I stayed here for two nights just before Christmas. We booked a corner room so we could enjoy the Christmas lights on Broadway. The room was gorgeous-and I wish reviewers would quit complaining about the size of the rooms. This is an inner city hotel and an historic one at that. If you want large rooms go to one of the more cookie-cutter chains. The Heathman is charming and oh so comfortable. The corner room was well furnished, and well organised. The staff are available to help you with anything. From changing to the duvet to an non-down comforter, opening a bottle of wine, and finding extra coffee (which was delicious). Though everyone raves about the food, I think there are better restaurants in Portland (like the Urban Cafe), but our room service meal was perfectly acceptable and reasonable.

Room Tip: Unless you are from a rural farm, ignored the reviewers who complain about the noise. We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaKayJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear LindaKayJ,

It is so great to hear you had such a lovely stay and we could share in your holiday experience. Thank you for the great comments about your room and amenities. And thank you for taking the time to submit your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Maybe you can make your trip to the Heathman during the holiday season a tradition.

Kind regards,
Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights for business trip for the third time in Portland. We get a corporate rate so I'm biased about the value.

Overall it's fantastic. The rooms are good but not very spacious so share a room with someone you like. The first and second time I stayed here my room had temperpedic beds and I'm not personally a huge fan. This last time I got a featherbed and it was fluffy and dream like.

Their lotions and soaps are top notch - important when your packing is restricted to a carry-on and you value the products you use on a daily basis.

Every member of staff I encountered was overly welcoming which is nice if you're stressed like I was and had helpful tips and tricks to navigating Portland.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Sarah E,

I am so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay, even though you working. It is so important to us that our guests get a great night sleep, I am glad you were so comfortable in the featherbed. We will add that to your profile so you get that bed type every time you stay with us. We will see you again next time you are in Portland.

Kind regards,
Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed a few nights at The Heathman at the start of a west coast road trip. I booked it online as it was the best value - cost under one fifty a night (in august). Great location, very friendly service. Lounge was great although service was a bit slow. There are many great restos in Portland, so I wouldn't stick with this one. Room was fantastic - roomy, nicely finished. Wireless internet seemed a bit slow. Bathroom was great - great personal care products as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nobleea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We are Portlanders so we know this town. Our stay was for New Year's Eve in a Symphony Suite. This hotel often has very good special rates on their site if you book early, which we did. Our room was very nice, fairly small for a suite. Parking was $29 per night. Bathroom ample and fully supplied. One issue, the pillows were absolutely awful and our friends had the same problem. I think they were originally filled with wet cement and had been allowed to dry out. Need to fix it people.
The hotel ambiance is very cosy, old world and service first class. The food is excellent, we often dine there and the bar has a nice atmosphere.

Room Tip: Never mind the room, bring a down pillow !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Worldtreader1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Heathman is a very nice hotel in the middle of downtown. Location is really good. The room is decent size and very nicely done. The staff are really helpful. The valent parking is quite useful, food was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AbhijitRayNoida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear AbhijitRayNoida,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review and for the kind words. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel. I hope to have you as our guest again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 146 in Portland
1,450 reviews
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 146 in Portland
2,875 reviews
Downtown
Benson Hotel
Benson Hotel
#17 of 146 in Portland
2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $172 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city’s most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel’s library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA’s coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland’s premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing