We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mostly, a Great Experience”
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #27 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Our stay at the Heathman was mostly good. The room was on the smallish side but well appointed and made a great use of the space that they did have. The French Press coffee in the room was a nice touch as well. The reason that this did not get an "excellent' vote was the terrible check in process. We arrived at 2:40pm and our room was not ready. We were told to go walk around Portland for a while and return in an hour. We did...it was cold and windy but we did our best to be good sports and walk around but when we returned an hour later, the room was still not ready so we sat in the lobby for another hour. We were disappointed with this because we had booked our room with American Express thinking that we would have some sort of upgraded service. We did have a dining credit, but the 2 hour wait for the room was really poor especially because we were not asking to check in early. The stated check in time was 3pm, and we arrived at 2:40. Had we been offered some sort of snack or tea at the restaurant for our trouble, it would have made things much better, but we were not offered anything and when we returned from our hour long walk the front desk ladies almost seemed annoyed that we were sitting in the lobby waiting. Where else were we to go? Otherwise, our stay was a good one.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank islascaribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,634 - 1,640 of 2,138 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had a magnificient stay at the Heathman while in Portland for the marathon in October. The staff could not have been more charming or helpful. Seriously, from the valet parking attendant to the manager of the hotel, everybody was terrific. The room was excellent, clean and quite. The Heathman will absolutley be my hotel of choice whenever I am in Portland. Truly a wonderful experience, my thanks again to the staff. Pat Simmons

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Pat S,

I am so thrilled to hear you had such a great experience at our hotel and that you enjoyed the staff so much. I will pass on your great comments to the team. We will see you again in the near future. Please don’t hesitate to call if you need any assistance booking your next visit with us. Thank you for submitting a review.

Kind regards,
Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have stayed at the Heathman several times in the past few years -- I can't imagine staying anyplace else in Portland. My experiences with the hotel and restaurant have been flawless, so I expect wonderful things. And once again, they delivered. From quick and enthusiastic response from the doorman, the warm greeting at the desk and the room upgrade on check-in, the initial impression was so positive. The upgrade was to one of their new renaissance suites, a roomy and beautifully appointed room with two bathrooms, located at the corner of the hotel. The location means that the room was super-quiet. There was a personalized welcome back letter and gift package of wine and chocolates waiting for us. After a wonderful dinner and and great night's sleep, the checkout process was as smooth as our entrance.
The hotel is newly refurbished, with everything being tasteful and elegant, but warm and welcoming at the same time. The location in downtown Portland is convenient to shopping, cultural events, the university, and the Pearl District. Parking is not on site, but valet service is very responsive. You probably won't need your car much, though, you can walk to almost everyplace in the central district. Weekends in Portland are always a good idea, and this is definitely the place to stay.

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in the place, but the renaissance suites give you more spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Sue S,
I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so much and were able to get to know the staff. We do have a great staff here, they truly care about our guests. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Portland.
Best regards,
Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed at this hotel before, it's by far my favorite. Some small changes in hotel management, service and food. Would stay there again but instead of an excellent rating, I think they are now "good". The food is still excellent, room service forgot to bring something with every breakfast. We were disappointed that they didn't have a car that could take you to nearby restaurants like several hotels. The grout in the tiled bathroom floor was dirty. The safe in the room didn't work even though they sent up service to fix it. The room was quiet and the bed was excellent.

Room Tip: Select the suite with a separate small room also select one away from the elevator and on a higher f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crownpacificgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Dear Crownpacificgroup,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I apologize that your stay was not a 5 star experience. I have passed on your feedback to the appropriate department managers so we can take steps to resolve these issues. Please feel free to contact me directly to discuss this matter further.

Kind regards,
Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I stayed at the Heathman Hotel for one night on business, using the Fine Hotels and Resorts through my Platinum American Express, the room upgrade was amazing and the dinning credit was well used in their restaurant, loved every minute of being there. The service was beyond spectacular, I will definately be back and frequently too!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank batkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear batakins,

It is such a pleasure to hear you will be coming to stay more often. We love having you as our guest and look forward to seeing you again soon. We will make the Heathman your home away from home. Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

Sincerely,

Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My husband and I spent a long weekend at The Heathman Hotel in late September. We met my son and his wife there who live in Carlsbad, California. They had visited Portland several times and they always enjoy their stay at the Heathman. The room we had was very comfortable for the two of us, the linens were of excellent quality, the room was always cleaned on a convenient schedule, and our every request was met without delay. The library of the hotel is especially noteworthy with many signed, first editions. The location of the hotel is very convenient, allowing guests to walk to many areas of the city. Valet parking is convenient, and our car was always ready soon after we called for it. The staff was extremely pleasant and accommodating. We hope to visit Portland again, and would certainly stay at the Heathman again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler1018_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear traveler1018_8,
I am delighted to hear you had such a great stay with us. The library is a very special library. I am happy to know you enjoyed it so much. We look forward to return visit to Portland and are excited to have you as our guest again. Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

Best regards,
Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We went down to portand after a seahawks game to do a little holiday shopping.
The hotel was fantastic! Service was amazing.
We chose the Heathman so we could be ibn the heart of the city and we were. The door man was wonderful, greating us with an umbrella on a cold rainy night. Check in was smooth. We were given some suggestions for a late dinner.
We stayed in a symphony suite. It was lovely and spacious! The bed was amazing.

They had a little coffe/tea station in the room. Not your standard coffee brew station.
I do have to say the coffee tasted old and stale eventhough it was made fresh with grounds using the french press.

The only negative was the view. It was of a cement wall that had a mural. You felt kind of closed in. Having said that we were in the downtown core and that is to be expected!
We will be back!

Wonderful friendly staff outshines an amazing hotel!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anner35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

Dear anner35,
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the hotel so much. It is so fun to be downtown during the holiday season. There is so much to do in our great city. I apologize that the coffee did not taste fresh. I will have the coffee stock checked right away. We only want the best for our guests. We hope to see you soon on your next trip to Portland.
Kind regards,
Linda Reagan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 144 in Portland
1,403 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#15 of 144 in Portland
1,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 144 in Portland
2,837 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Price Range: $180 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city’s most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel’s library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA’s coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland’s premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing