We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Portland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle
Level Contributor
151 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Portland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed two nights and enjoyed the ambiance and service was great. Room was a bit small but we were out most of time so it didn't matter and it had very nice and very comfortable furnishings. Clearly upgraded from your typical hotel room and the entire hotel has a special feeling of being upscale and low key at the same time. Spent time on the computer in their library area and that was a very nice and comfortable spot. Very good location in the city and easy to get around. Would definitely stay there next time we're in Portland

Room Tip: The tip is to ask for a room in a quiet location...this is in the heart of the city and while our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvtotravel456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Luvtotravel456,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. It is great to hear you had such a lovely time in Portland. I am happy that you had a chance to visit the library area and found it so comfortable. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.

Sincerely,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,165
    439
    176
    79
    36
See reviews for
315
796
106
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Booked three nights through American Express Fine Hotels & Resorts.

We booked an Executive King and were advised at check in that we were upgraded to a Symphony Suite. While the room was comfortable, it was very cluttered. Lots of heavy furniture to maneuver around. We arrived at night so the curtains in the room were drawn. In the morning we saw that the windows face into a brick wall. The Executive King we booked had a city view. I'm really not sure if this is an upgrade. I think it would have been nice to mention brick wall view at check in.

Also regarding check in, the person who registers you at the hotel is also the bell-hop to bring your bags to the room. We were checked in by a nice, young lady who didn't weight more than 100 pounds. I felt odd having her lug our bags up and set them up in the room. Is this sexist on my part, or just gentlemanly?

Breakfast was included in our rate, but only $12 per day, per person. So each morning we went $20 over. Breakfast included?

Having mentioned these rather minor items, we absolutely enjoyed our stay and would come back to The Heathman anytime.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 75xyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear 75xyr,
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and will come back to be our guests again. I do apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. When you make reservations for your next visit we can note that you would like to be in the Executive King room and we will not change this. Typically the Symphony Suite is an upgrade as it is a larger room, but some guests do prefer the Executive King rooms over these rooms for their location.
I would be happy to discuss the other items further with you. You can contact me at lreagan@heathmanhotel.com or 503-241-4100.
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

Kind regards,
Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed there for work, the corprate rate got me a small room with a bad view but no less in service. Also, they have a french press in the room, which I learned to use.

They have nightly turn down with free bottles of water which is a great touch.

I did not partake in High Tea etc, but happened upon the Librarian while I was using Boarding pass Kiosk, she was great and I got a private tour.

Great room service, and food was fantastic!!!

I loved this hotel, I felt like I got 6 star service for my corprate rate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BucklesTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear BucklesTX,
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the service here at the Heathman. We have an excellent staff who truly love their jobs and our guests. I am sorry to hear you were not completely happy with your room. We have rooms of all sizes and shapes, please ask on your next stay and we can show you a few. I feel confident we can find one that you will be comfortable. I am glad you received a tour of our library. It is so unique. We will see you when you make a trip to Portland again.

Thank you,
Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I love this hotel. It is convenient to great restaurants, the Portland Art Museum, the symphony hall, and other attractions downtown. They have a lending library for guests stocked with books signed by the authors that they thoughtfully purchase in advance of the guest/authors' stay (they did this to me, placing the book in my room and asking me to sign it for them). The service, amenities (such as an iPod dock clock radio with fine sound), comfy pillows, and atmosphere (the hotel is filled with fine, real art, and they have an app with an audio tour) are all great. As is the artisan chocolate shop off the lobby. .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yamachaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Yamachaser,
I am so honored to get a review by one of our wonderful authors. We are happy we could add your book to our special collection. It is nice to hear you had a chance to enjoy the fine art we are so lucky to display in our hotel. We look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Best regards,
Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
261 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

I've stayed twice ad it is great. The hotel has great charm. The rooms are nice sizes and very clean. The stay is very friendly and te breakfast is very good. Also, good location in the center of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livinginlondon1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear livinginlondon1344,
It is great to hear you enjoyed the hotel so much. We can’t wait to have you back as our guest the next time you are in Portland.

Kind regards,
Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Heathman in mid September after winning a bid on priceline. Overall, I can say I was pleased as the priceline bid was half the price that the Heathman was publishing. Location is wonderful and you are close to everything. We did not try the restaurant/bar area. As we are in our younger 30's, there definitely was an older crowd/vibe. However, the menu looked fabulous - perfect for all of the foodies out there. We simply did not have time to try it out.

The chocolate shop next door - Cacao was wonderful. Perfect place to pick up a little gift/souvenier to take home.

We neded up getting upgraded to one of their suites with a music theme. Although the upgrade and additional space was nice, it only had a murphy bed. The 'bedroom' portion of the suite was blocked off and I assume sold to another person. While we loved the suite, sleeping 3 nights in a murphy bed really isn't the most comfortable (are any murphy beds comfortable?).

Staff was great and attentive to your every need. This definitely sets this hotel apart from other hotes I have stayed at. I found the bell hops to be the most informed about where to go and what to see.

Lastly, there isn't a lot of quick late night places to go near around. We had to walk a mile to get to the closest bar/restaurant serving late night food. Most delivery places stopped delivering around 9-10. Something to keep in mind.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the Heathman to others as a great place to stay with a definite unique charm and excellent customer service.

Room Tip: The themed suites are wonderful and unlike any other hotel room. Ask if any upgrades are available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katyjoy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Katyjoy32,
It is so great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed our themed suite. There are 4 new suites and they are beautiful. Each one is unique and comfortable. I hope when you stay next time you can stay in one of the other suites. Also we have toppers to place on the bed if you like a softer bed. Please inquire when you make your next reservation. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,
Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

After reading all the reviews on Tripadvisor my husband and I decided to book The Heathman Hotel for our 4 night getaway. Everything about the hotel was perfect from the moment we checked in to the moment we checked out everyone was friendly and professional. We stayed in one of the Symphony suites and were very please with the size of the room, the tasteful decor, the comfort of the bed and all the nice amenities from the robes to the extra large towels. I especially liked having a large bathroom vanity for all my make-up needs plus a second small vanity for my husband. We had breakfast several times in the restaurant and enjoyed their bistro menu and free entertainment at the lounge.
The location is also wonderful, only a couple of blocks from Pioneer Square and walking distance from the river front, Farmer's Market and lots of good shopping.
I would highly recommend this hotel to any one going to Portland.

Room Tip: The difference in price between a room and the symphony suite is not huge and in my opinion well wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Claucat,
It is so wonderful to hear you and your husband had such a nice stay. I am glad you enjoyed the staff, your room and the amenities. The live jazz in the tea court is a nice treat, the music is great and it is so cozy in the tea court. I am so happy you were able to join us for this event. Live jazz is offered Tuesday – Saturday nights. I look forward to having you as our guest soon and thank you for taking the time to leave such a kind review.

Best regards,
Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Property: The Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing