We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, very nice rooms, great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent service, very nice rooms, great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Really, this is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in across the country when you lok at the whole package. This place focuses on customer service and it shines through in everything they do from the turn-down service to the restaurant service. The only reason I rated it 4 stars instead of 5 is because the fitness facility is below standards for a hotel in this price range.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear MidwestGuy37,
Thank you for the great comments. I am so happy to hear that you enjoy the staff so much. I am very proud of our team and the service they provide. I am sorry you did not enjoy the fitness suite. We recently put all new equipment in there, but I know the size of the suite is limited some. We have a large full service fitness center across the street. When you stay again we can give you information on this facility. Thank you again for taking the time to submit a review.

Best regards,
Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,895 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,165
    439
    176
    79
    36
See reviews for
315
796
106
434
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here three nights recently, and it was an overall excellent experience. Our room was well appointed, comfortable and quiet. The only annoyance was the small box of chocolates that was left wrapped with a bow on the dresser as if it was a welcome gift. It was not. Otherwise, the location is very central, easy walks or access to light rail and close to cultural centers. We would definitely stay at the Heathman again next time we are in Portlandia.

Room Tip: Deluxe king rooms have a sofa and seating area and better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pdotmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear pdotmail,

Thank you for your recent review – we appreciate your positive comments and hope to welcome you back again. We offer a variety of welcome gifts, depending on occasion or reason for travel, and the chosen Cacao chocolates for you were one of our welcome gifts – we are sorry they didn’t welcome you as we hoped they would. Please do let us know next time you plan to travel to Portland, we will make sure the visit is even better than the last!

Best regards,
Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Very sexy, comfortable hotel in the heart of downtown. The staff was professional and knowledgeable. The lobby longe and bar areas were fun with nice bar menus. Heathman restaurant one of the best in Portland.

Room Tip: Book driectly to choose the bed typre you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear canegirl,

We appreciate your unique and snazzy review! Thank you! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time and were able to experience the restaurant as well. Our staff prides themselves on being the ‘go to’ for Portland, and NW, knowledge – we are glad you had such nice, and professional, interactions. Feel free to contact us directly, next time you travel this way, and we would be happy to personally assist with your reservation.
Kind regards,
Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for two weekend nights and found this hotel to be extremely comfortable and quiet, and within walking distance of great shopping, sightseeing and restaurants. Everything was clean and very well maintained and the room was very well appointed, right down to the choice of bed that we had! All the staff were super helpful and friendly and we felt well taken care of. Oh, and they provide real coffee in the room from Peet's coffee with a french press. We'd highly recommend this hotel and intend to return when we're next in Portland. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Kim C,

Thank you for taking the time to record your positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Heathman Hotel. We are very proud of the fact that each and every one of our staff knows the importance of making a guest feel welcomed and we are please to see that you experienced the team’s friendliness during your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the coffee, as well – it is one of the unique perks we pride ourselves on!
Should your adventures take you back to Portland, we look forward to welcoming you back!
Thank you,
Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The rooms were great, though nothing particularly outstanding compared to other hotels in this class/range. It was actually a bit on the small side (we had a corner king suite), especially the bathrooms. The beds were very comfortable though and very plush, which we loved. They're pet friendly, which is a big plus! It was also located in the heart of downtown Portland by plenty of shopping, which is perfect if you're just in for a quick trip and don't want to hassle with parking.

Positives: Pet friendly, location, helpful/friendly staff
Negatives:
- Valet took a long time to get our car 15+ min. even when we called down and there wasn't a line (plan accordingly)
- The bathroom we had was actually ridiculously small (you had to strategically position yourself to close the door).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mda1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear mda1209,

Thank you for your comments about The Heathman Hotel. We strive to make each guest feel welcomed and treated with respect and professionalism. We are a popular destination for short get aways, but can also accommodate longer ventures in the city. If you plan to return to Portland please contact us directly to ensure that we help plan your trip to your specifications! We promise to make it unforgettable.
Warm regards,
Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Just a one night stay with my fiance here. The entrance is on a busy street, quite understated and the lobby likewise is quite small. Off the lobby is a lounge area and the restaurant area is streetfront and open to the public. Only two elevators.
The room I booked was excellent. Comfortable bed - as good as Westin's. All the little touches in the room put this as one of the best I've stayed in. From the coffee maker with proper coffee, to the robes, sleep aids, tolietries, water, etc. I really couldn't fault it.

The food was very good as well and not overly expensive. Service was to the level where you believed they really cared about you. Unusual.

Great value, great service

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonstonemoclips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear Moonstonemoclips

Thank you for the review – it sounds like you had a lovely time in Portland. We are so pleased to hear that you had such a nice time! Our lounge and tea court area are delightful, I hope you got to relax with a cup of tea or cocktail! All of the amenities you mentioned are things we offer in every guest room, just to make traveling a bit easier and more convenient. Thank you, again for taking the time to submit this review. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best regards,
Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We just returned from traveling the Northwest. Stayed at The Heathman twice during our vacation. Both times we had a corner room. Both rooms were fantastic. The beds were very comfortable, the rooms and bathrooms were immaculate and in like-new condition. No build up of oils on the tops of towel bars ( as in many hotels where a quick hit-and-miss approach is taken), the nooks and crannies of every square inch were thoroughly maintained and it made us feel so comfortable.
The staff everywhere...front desk, restaurant, bellman, we're friendly and service oriented in their approach.
The rooms are tastefully decorated with a comfortable layout. There were lots of mirrors, surfaces and electrical outlets within the bathroom and bedroom that allowed one to plug in, charge up and generally get ready!
Wonderful L'Occitane products generously provided in the bathroom.
The Restaurant has great food and a great staff.
The location is superb for getting around down-town Portland.
We were provided a welcome gift upon our return a week later. It included fine bottled water, wine and two wonderful truffles. Thanks!
Highly recommend The Heathman. Will return whenever our travels take us near Portland.

Room Tip: Get a corner room...can select a two-bathroom if you prefer. The view towards the clock-tower buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inrbty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeathmanMGR, Guest Relations Manager at The Heathman Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear inrbty,
It is wonderful to hear that your experience was so positive. Wow, thank you for providing all the fantastic feedback. We can’t wait to have you as our guests again in the near future. If you need any assistance planning your next trip to the great Northwest, please let one of our talented concierges assist you. Thank you again.

Best regards,

Linda Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Property: The Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing