We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service in this downtown boutique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heathman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Heathman Hotel
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent service in this downtown boutique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Spent two nights at the Heathman for our company's BOD meeting. Location is good, close to mass transit and a few blocks from the river front. Plenty of good dining options in the area. Parking is valet, there is no onsite parking.

The hotel has a high staff ratio and everyone from the valet, the doormen and the check in concierges were extremely helpful. We had dinner catered in the first night and for a buffet, it was excellent. Cedar plank salmon, roast lamb and prime rib were all available in addition to some very nice sides.

Had breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Price was what you would expect. Quality was very good and so was the service.

I had a room in a corner on the 8th floor. The rooms are small, but not cramped. Beds are firm and comfortable. Small bath, very well appointed. Luxurious, large towels and bathrobes provided. Free wifi throughout the hotel was nice.

The lobby is small, with an adjacent lounge with a fireplace and soft entertainment in the evening. The second floor has the meeting rooms and a library reading area. They had a complimentary wine tasting one evening, but I did not attend. There is also a fitness center.

The only negative was that hallway noise was not buffered at all through the door. Fortunately, it was not very frequent. There was no noticeable city noise, however.

Overall, a great little boutique hotel in the heart of downtown Portland.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyTimeShare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,164
    438
    176
    79
    36
See reviews for
314
796
106
433
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

My husband and I had never been to Portland, so after reading the reviews and doing a lot of research we decided on The Heathman Hotel. From our first contact with the hotel to our final goodbye and check-out, we were treated with great respect and as if we mattered. The front desk staff is knowledgeable and always available with suggestions for activities, dining and directions. The hotel's location is perfect for exploring all that Portland has to offer. Our room was beautifully decorated and the bed and linens were of the highest quality. I really enjoyed the French Press and delicious coffee provided in our room. The nightly turn down service was very appreciated. Housekeeping staff was discreet and did a great job on cleaning the room. One morning we ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant and enjoyed our meal, the comfortable atmosphere and the banter and attentiveness of the charming waiter.
This was an such an enjoyable holiday that we look forward to returning to Portland and definitely staying at The Heathman.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vavia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
188 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

We just returned from a stay at the Heathman to celebrate my husband's birthday. We arrived early in order to join a tour in town and by chance our room was ready for us. We were able to get checked in and settled before our bus arrived. The room was lovely and knowing it is an historic hotel we were not surprised by the size of the room. That is common in a hotel of this age. The room was WELL appointed and there wasn't anything we could think of that wasn't there. The bed was a dream, I couldn have stayed there all day! The location couldn't be better as it is in the center of everything. We highly recommend the Heathman for it's service, location and amenities. You won't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kandjOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

The staff is friendly and eager to be of service. Because it's an historic downtown hotel, the rooms are not particularly large, but they have been remodeled tastefully, with every modern convenience. The hotel restaurant is excellent, and is but one of many choices in this prime Portland location. The upstairs sitting area is beautiful and serene; a great respite for reading or having a quiet chat (in person -- not a on a cell phone.) Highly recommended.

Room Tip: A high floor is recommended since the hotel is in the heart of a busy city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2011

Arriving at The Heathman to check-in mid-day on a Tuesday with our friends the valets were attentive and check-in staff friendly and efficient. The weird thing was that there weren't any bell-hops lingering to assist with our luggage. My thought was "doesn't someone want to make some $$$"??? Not really a problem, but a hotel with a higher level reputation, the lack of bell hops is unusual. The same thing occurred with check-out. No bell hops and self-serve seemed the way to go. When leaving, I questioned the valet. He seemed perplexed and said that the concierges (ie: front desk staff) were in charge of this area. Not very efficient nor evident, but perhaps it's a Portland casual type of thing.

Our corner room was roomy, clean, with 2 sinks (!) in the bathroom. Although noisy since we faced Broadway, but apparently, every room is supplied with earplugs. Our friends' room faced the opposite direction and their room was quiet with similar amenities.

It seems all check-in/out staff serve as concierges and will provide restaurant suggestions, attraction ideas and directions. They were good with restaurant ideas, but do NOT trust their directions. Twice we were lead on wild goose chases for our destination and because we on foot it got frustrating. We had two separate concierges give us wrong directions to the food carts. We only found out where they were by asking a person on the street, scads of blocks from where we were directed to go. You bet we were hungry!

Yes, we would go back since the location is fabulous, staff friendly, beds comfortable and restaurant is good. Now we have a much better idea of Portland's layout and Radio Cab's phone number, thus, putting us in charge of directions. Nice hotel.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger and suites both have the bathrooms with 2 sinks. If sensitive to noise ask t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SonomaDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed here one night for business and really enjoyed it. The location is great - walking distance to downtown shops like the Columbia flagship store. The doormen are accommodating and friendly, and I was checked into my room in less than 5 minutes after I was asked if I preferred a hard or soft bed. The room was decent size, bathroom a bit small, but very clean and well decorated overall. There are nice details throughout - L'Occitane products in the bathroom, a French press and ground coffee with a kettle, turn-down service with a free bottle of water and bucket of ice, and free wireless access. The hotel itself has some cool features - a beautiful sitting room near the check-in area and a superb chocolate store with a friendly, knowledgeable young employee who explained the myriad delicious and unique products from around the world (great gifts to take home). I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kheeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

I've stayed at this wonderful hotel twice, and had an equally great experience both times. Before even entering the lobby, the doormen, dressed in old fashioned top hats and Beefeater attire, are welcoming and helpful, as they valet park the car. The lobby is elegant, rich, and very beautiful. We did have to wait for our room, as it was a busy weekend, but waiting in the ultra gorgeous cocktail/tea area made it completely painless.This hotel is historic, lovely, has excellent service, excellent food, fantastic drinks. There are wood paneled rooms filled with author signed books, and lots of nooks and crannies to cozy up and read or relax. The rooms themselves are plush, large enough, and luxurious enough. The only issue i had with comfort was adjusting the air conditioning- seemed to shut off, despite my turning it down as low as it could go. I could go on and on abou this wonderful place.. but suffice it to say.. I will return! Romantic.. great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrapindreamr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Hotel Lucia
Hotel Lucia
#14 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Paramount Hotel
Paramount Hotel
#8 of 138 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heathman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heathman Hotel

Property: The Heathman Hotel
Address: 1001 SW Broadway, Portland, OR 97205-3004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 138 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Heathman Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's most recognizable historic landmarks, the iconic Heathman Hotel in the heart of downtown Portland blends rich history with a reverent appreciation for the arts. The hotel's library boasts more than 2,700 volumes signed by the authors, while its world-class art collection celebrates the work of contemporary artists. Here, the art of service is alive and well, from the welcoming Beefeater doorman to the attention of your personal concierge. The Heathman has retained AAA's coveted Four Diamond Award for more than 30 years. Whether you are planning a unique Portland wedding venue, reception party, private party, corporate conference or an important business meeting, the historic Heathman is an unforgettable event setting for up to 150 guests. Downtown Portland's premier luxury hotel, the Heathman offers 3,800 square feet of versatile meeting, event and banquet space within eight private function rooms on our Mezzanine Level. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Heathman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing