We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel; Convenient Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
Ranked #62 of 139 Hotels in Portland
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hoboken, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel; Convenient Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2009

I stayed at this hotel for a night in early November. I needed a hotel close to the airport and was very satisfied with this Sheraton. It looks like the lobby has been recently renovated and it is very clean and inviting. They offer the Link@Sheraton service in the lobby, which consists of three computers that can be used to check e-mail and print boarding passes. Free of charge. This is a nice touch. Check in was speedy and the agent was very friendly. My SPG Platinum status was recognized and I was upgraded to a nice suite. The lounge on the Club Floor offered a great breakfast selection including fruit, pastries, juices, coffee, cereal, and more. The lounge was nicely decorated and spacious. The gym and pool were clean and include a sauna in the men's locker room, which was nice to use to unwind after a long day.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again. The price was reasonable and the location is great.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EWRFlyerAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSPA, General Manager at Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel, responded to this review, December 1, 2009
Thank you for your gracious comments regarding our facility and service. We continue to receive many compliments on our recent renovation as well as the special new services offered through The Link by Sheraton. The upgrades to our Fitness Facility have also been well received. As you noted Starwood Preferred Guest members are entitled to special recognition, upgrades as well as frequent stay points redeemable with no black out dates. Thank you again for the outstanding recognition we look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton for future visits
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    233
    145
    84
    33
See reviews for
145
158
90
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

I stayed at this hotel only because every hotel in downtown Portland was booked. I travel every week for work, and this is one of the worst hotels that I've stayed at over the past 3 years. In general, the lobby looks decent, however, you soon discover that a facade can only go so far. The $13 turkey club that I ordered from the hotel restaurant was only "okay" because I was starving. The fitness center boasts broken equipment and posters from 1983. The room doesn't have a flat screen tv. The ceilings have cracks and brown water stains on them. Overall, the room is completely unaesthetic and depressing. If you're used to staying at Super 8 hotels, then you probably won't mind this one.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mira123499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSPA, General Manager at Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit. We are currently in the process of completing a 6 million dollar renovation of our property which will address many of the comments outlined in your review. As part of that process we will be installing 42" HD flat panel television sets in all guest rooms in the near future. I hope that despite the isolated issues you encountered you will give us the opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yellow Springs, OH
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2009

Returning to the airport after a fantastic vacation jaunt through Oregon, we got this hotel for $50 on priceline as did a previous reviewer. It was great value, would have been OK even at its advertised value. The rooms were clean and fresh; the business center in the lobby was great. Beds very comfortable. We went out to eat dinner, but the restaurant looked good. The hotel appeared to be pretty full the Sunday night. It was quiet as a mouse, despite the runways outside the window. The room was plenty spacious IMO.

The weirdess: upon returning to our room, neither of our key cards worked. So we had to wait in line at the front desk to get them reprogrammed. The clerk said if it happened again to call using the phone near the elevator (the clerk was also very helpful on our checkin with airport and dining info). This is more of a negative; the really weird happened the next morning. We were already up at 6 a.m. for an early flight when a loud knock came on the door: "Portland police". They went door-to-door questioning whether anyone had observed anything suspicious over the night. They didn't give us any more details, but there was a large taped-off area of the parking lot in back of the hotel. This of course would have been a huge disruption if we had not been awake already; it was quite a jolt anyway. Neither the police nor the front desk, when we turned in our keys, told us anything about what happened. Still curious to know, but there doesn't seem to be anything in the Portland newspaper about it. Anyway, I'm treating it as a random incident and not one to affect my recommendation of this hotel for airport stays.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trackser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSPA, General Manager at Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2009
Thank you for your positive comments regarding our guestrooms, the business center and room cleanliness. We were pleased to learn that you felt The Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel provided a great value. Regrettably there was an incident where the police mistakenly believed that a car in the parking lot had been involved in a crime. It was later determined to be false claim. We apologize for any inconvenience or disruption that may have occurred as we attempted to help resolve this misunderstanding. Thank you again for your feed back. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed here one night after a long flight arriving late at night. If you are expecting to take the free shuttle make sure to go to the information booth outside baggage claim by the shuttle pickup area and ask them to call the hotel for you.

Checkin was fine, but the room was small and the ceiling in the bathroom obviously had some pretty extensive water damage that was not properly repaired. The smell wasn't too horrible and it was only for 1 night so we didn't bother to complain. \

The pool/workaround area was the highlight of this place.

Got this on priceline for $50.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mccargar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSPA, General Manager at Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2009
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel. We were pleased to learn that you found our pool and work out area to be the highlight of your visit with us.
We regret that your guest room did not meet your complete expectations. We are in the process of completing a 6 million dollar renovation which will address your comments about the suggested bathroom improvements.
Again thank you for your comments; we hope that you will give us the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washougal, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2009

Visited while scouting Portland for relocation. $50 authorized on card when the room was prepaid seemed excessive.
The cramped room was cleaned but there was still old room service outside our door. 4 different cleaning staff members left their carts in the middle of the hallway, making it very difficult to get even a moderately sized suitcase past.
The layout of the hotel is kind of odd, with the pool area directly in front of their banquet halls. I'd suggest changing in the bathroom/shower/sauna areas after coming down to the pool.

The BIG dealbreaker though is the smell of this place. stealthily placed air "fresheners" (using that term loosely) made the entire hotel except for the rooms themselves seem like a cheap perfume factory. Granted people have different smell sensitivity, but both me and my wife thought the sickly sweet smell was actually nauseating. Wouldn't think of returning.

Pros: The beds are comfy.
The showers are very nice.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ragingmutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORSPA, General Manager at Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2009
Thank you for your comments related to our credit card authorization procedures and housekeeping services. I apologize that our staff did not provide a clear explanation for the need of guaranteeing payment of incidental charges even when the room charges have been prepaid. Also I am sorry for the less than exceptional housekeeping services you encountered. I will be reviewing these issues with our staff in an effort to improve our service levels.
I regret that you disliked the Sheraton Signature Scent fragrance as part of our air freshening program. I understand that this feature is subjective and I am sorry that it did not meet your expectations.
Thank you again for your comments I hope that you will give us the opportunity to be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

We always stay at this hotel when flying out of Portland early. It has a nice restaurant and good shuttle service. The bed is very comfortable and they have nice amenaties. Having Starbucks on site is great. The Starbucks brand in your room is great too.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank christyristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level Contributor
91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2009

On our way to Hawaii and back, we needed a convenient hotel near Portland airport and found the Sheraton to be a perfect fit for this need: friendly and helpful staff, convenient location, 24-hour room service, nice restaurant, well-equipped fitness center, complimentary shuttle service at any time of the day. This is not a place to stay for longer than one night, as it is right on the airport grounds; but as a place to sleep while travelling through Portland, I couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarnungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
Hampton Inn Portland-Airport
#35 of 139 in Portland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Airport
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Portland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Portland Airport
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Portland Airport at Cascade Station
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Portland Airport / Cascade Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel

Property: Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel
Address: 8235 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97220
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Green Hotel in Portland
#54 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel is conveniently located just a mile from the airport terminal and is accessible by our 24 hour complimentary shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Portland Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Portland
Portland Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing