We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel Right On the Waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 139 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Palos Verdes
1 review
“Beautiful Hotel Right On the Waterfront”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

We traveled to the Pacific Northwest (wow!...is Portland gorgeous or what!) on a college tour with our teenage boys and were fortunate enough to stay in this beautiful, well appointed hotel right on the water. The Riverplace Hotel exuded warmth and charm from the moment we walked into the front entrance with it's beautiful,inviting stone fireplace and comfortable sofas and chairs. The individual rooms, although a bit on the small side, were nicely furnished and the beds were so comfy and luxerious you didn't want to get out of them. By far the best thing about this hotel (according to our boys who are descriminate travelers) were the 5:00pm freshly baked chocolate chip cookies that appeared at the front desk every evening. We had to plan our schedule around them! And the fully equipped gym that the hotel has an agreement with (1 block down the street) was a major bonus for all of us. A big thank you to the concierge (yes...we know we are writing this review a little late) for recommending the great restaurant and also surprising us with a complimentary appetizer from the hotel. It's the little things that truly make this hotel stand out. Now we just have to work on your weather!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5_PalosVerdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,341
    235
    58
    13
    15
See reviews for
345
783
85
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was our first time in Portland and we found the hotel's location on the Riverwalk excellent.

The rooms were nicely decorated and modern. The restaurant was great and staff even better. The views from the lounge area, with its many windows looking out to the river, were picturesque.

If we return to Portland we will most certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

I have only wonderful things to say about the RiverPlace Hotel, The property is in excellent condition and the staff is ready to accommodate all your needs. The RiverPlace is located on the bank of the Willamette River, providing beautiful views. The wives who attended this meeting with their husbands are shoppers and having downtown easily walkable from the Hotel was ideal. A great time was had by all!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElaineWredberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

We changed our reservation from Heathman to RiverPlace for our first trip to Portland - and we're so glad we did! Located on a cul-de-sac (great for those who are driving, and the valets are terrific) beside the Tom McCall Waterfront Park, we were upgraded to a river view room upon check-in. Room was spacious, quiet, and beautiful.

Easy walk to downtown. We ate at Paley's Place bistro in Burnside, which is an easy drive along Naito Parkway from the hotel. Location proved ideal, and a walk along the river in the morning was a great way to catch some fresh air. Hotel restaurant serves a wonderful breakfast and the service from the entire staff was outstanding.

We loved visiting Portland, and this is going to be the place we return to!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeane00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2010

We were grandparents, parents & children. We all enjoyed the RiverPlace hotel. The ONLY reason I didn't give it total 5's is because it's not luxurious & ever-the-top. Just really realy nice with GREAT value & location! We all enjoyed RiverPlace & would stay again anytime. I totally agree with OcrasParrothead & happynytraveler.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gecko317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orcas Island, WA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

My wife and I were in Portland to see Jimmy Buffett in concert. We were arriving a day early, so I checked out various hotel options in Portland to see which would be best. The location and pictures of the RiverPlace Hotel caught my eye and booked a Parlor Suite. I couldn't have picked a better hotel or location for our stay in Portland. From the moment we arrived, when the valet first welcomed us to the hotel and Portland, until we left when the valet thanked us for our stay, it was incredible. All of the staff are very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about the Portland are, what to see and how to get there. Our Parlor Suite had a great city view yet the hotel was setback enough that no street noise was heard at all.

The location is perfect. Right on the West side of the river, with lots of great little shops, wine bars and places to eat. Right outside the hotel there is a wonderful walking and jogging path along the river and the free streetcar to downtown is only two blocks away.

For location, price, ambiance and incredible service, this is THE place to stay in Portland.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OrcasParrothead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the RiverPlace hotel in a deluxe river view room. The room was lovely and comfortable, and the view was great. Everyone at the hotel was very nice. The check-in experience was smooth and pleasant. We had a delicious lunch in the restaurant there, and from the hostess to the server, all was terrific. The food was delicious. The hotel is in a wonderful location, easy walking distance to the center of town and right on the river. The hotel is clean, attractive, and well maintained. There is Internet access in the room and in the lobby. All in all it was a great stay and we will certainly stay there any time we go to Portland.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happynytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#7 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel deLuxe
#5 of 139 in Portland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,727 reviews
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland - Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing