We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #4 of 146 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 20, 2010

This was my first time visiting Portland, and staying at the RiverPlace Hotel helped make it a wonderful vacation. Our room exceeded expectation--great armchair and ottoman for reading, a spacious desk and super comfortable leather desk chair, huge flatscreen TV, refrigerator, and deep tub (great for baths) made our stay very comfortable (you can also order custom pillows). We also enjoyed the pretty courtyard on the second floor and using the free bikes available to ride up and down the river walk. What made this hotel stand out for me in particular, however, was the excellent service. Every staff member we encountered was very friendly and eager to help, coming up with creative solutions to meet our travel needs. I will definitely be coming to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mskathlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,583 - 1,589 of 1,770 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2010

The Waterfront Blues Festival in Portland is one of the largest west of the Mississippi. This is our 18th year staying at the RiverPlace. All our friends stay there too during the Blues Festival. This year we brought our adopted Greyhound, Fran. We were pleased to find out the front desk would pet site for a few hours daily. We found the employees to be excellent and in fact we have visited with several of them over the years. It is nice to always see a friendly face.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tere08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed here while attending the Portland Blues Festival, and it was extremely convenient! The service staff was so helpful in changing our train tickets, along with providing us with food donations for the festival. The bar was fun, and the room quite comfy and lush.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GypsyDjango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Great rooms. Attentive service. Wonderful location. Good restaurant. Free bike availability nice touch

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbmf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

I love that I can come by Amtrak & enjoy a riverside walk to the hotel. With the rail lines only a few minutes' walk away, I can go anywhere in Portland with ease; and the front desk will make sure I have my directions clearly in hand. It's always a great pleasure to return: for leisure or business. Couldn't be better!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judy49Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Everything about this "home away from home" is a "class act". The location is fabulous for walking the river and easy access to the city transit system. Staff members were great resources for recommendations and directions and always inquired if they could help before we asked, There is no doubt; we will return.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ssims49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

My husband and I spent last night at the RiverPlace as the beginning of our 10th Anniversary getaway. When we arrived, we were pleasantly surprised to find out that we were upgraded to a room with a view of the river. The room was comfortable and spacious. After returning from dinner in the Pearl District, we were again pleasantly susprised to find a dessert tray waiting for us in our room, compliments of the general manager, Dave. Unfortunately, we didn't have a chance to thank him person, so in hopes that he reads these reviews regularly, THANK YOU!

It is this type of customer service that encourages us to keep coming back when we visit Portland.

Thank you again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirkland09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 146 in Portland
1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Duniway Portland, a Hilton Hotel
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Pearl
Hampton Inn & Suites Portland-Pearl District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $203 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, with complimentary wireless high speed Internet and DVD players. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing