We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“complicated decor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #3 of 144 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is a comfy hotel, a step up from corporate hotels but the decor is a bit complicated and not necessarily practical : there is a big mirror in front of which you can stand to check on your outfit because there is a high round table in front of it ! - it feels a bit outdated

Room Tip: view on the marina is fine - thought that 31 dollars for the parking was a bit much
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank roseke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Thanks for the feedback. Most of our rooms do not have a table in front of the mirror. I will try to research what room you stayed in and see if we can't move that mirror to a better location. Sorry you didn't totally dig our new decor. Next time you come visit the valet parking charges are on me.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,759 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a very nice hotel located on the river in Portland. We really enjoyed our stay. The room was quiet, except we could hear the people walking above us a bit. I would recommend asking for the top floor. I wish I did. A higher floor would also maximize the view of the river, which is really pretty. Definitely pay the extra money for the river view. It is well worth it. We also liked the complementary wine served each day in the lobby for happy hour. This is a great touch at all Kimpton hotels. Just be careful that there isn't anything going on in the park next to the hotel. They were preparing for a blues festival when we were there. It would be really loud in the hotel if the park had something going on. They also have a nice porch outside the bar. It looks out over the river and park. It is a great place to sit and enjoy a drink.

Room Tip: Top floor, river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank kwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just returned from a 5 night stay in Portland. The view from the hotel and the location to the water front are outstanding. Our room #322 was a bed room and living area. A very nice room, but too similar to an Embassy Suite room, nearly identical IMHO. Coffee,tea and water are put out in the morning, and a wine tasting is held each evening. Nice if you are a wine person. Also had chocolate chip cookies and a small appetizer each time. It is a short walk to the restaurants on the waterfront and a not too bad walk into downtown Portland. The best experience was the young woman( Ellie,,,hi Ellie :)) who checked us in. She went way out of her way to help us get started, and twice during the stay I saw her getting hi5s from customers. She is a great experience. The food at the hotel is better left there, nice, but with a sometimes nonchalant wait staff ( and we only gave them one chance so maybe we got them on an off day) there are too many outstanding options in Portland. If you travel a lot, you will be pleased but not wowed by Riverplace. I am definitely returning to Portland, but will give some other hotel a try next time. 4****

Room Tip: River view would be nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank b k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Thanks for the feedback! I am going to give Ellie a high five right now!! She is truly amazing. We will address that service you received from the restaurant. Sorry we left out the wow factor on some aspects of your visit, I consider that a challenge. Hope to see you again soon.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband and I just spent a wonderful birthday weekend in Portland and hugely due to the Riverplace Hotel!! This was our first time staying at the Riverplace and from the moment we arrived to leaving it was fantastic! The staff was SO friendly and on point with excellent service. We were magically upgraded to a king suite and the room was so beautiful, clean, and comfortable that it was hard to leave and see the rest of Portland! The bed was great and the decor was nice too. The rest of the hotel was also great and we loved how in the lobby they had fresh coffee in the morning and lemonade in the afternoon for guests. Plus a wine hour in the evenings! Location was beautiful as it was right on the river and was pretty much walking distance to everywhere we wanted to go. My husband said the absolute highlight of his bday wknd was riding bikes (hotel lends to its guests) along the river and park and over the Hawthorne bridge at dusk. Have to say also my fave moment of our entire trip! The valet was always super helpful and informative too. Beautiful hotel and excellent staff! Can't wait to visit Portland again so we can stay at the Riverplace Hotel!! I've never felt sad about leaving a hotel until now!! Thanks Riverplace for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank sparrow74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Truly awesome! Glad we could make the birthday weekend one to remember. We were sad you left too. Come back soon, no need to wait for another birthday. We will come up with a reason for you to celebrate with us!

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

We finished a cruise in Vancouver, WA and had a room reserved here for three nights to meet friends. We got to the hotel early Sunday morning, hoping for a room ready to go. Nope. But the desk clerk was very helpful and stored our bags, and said he'd call us when the room opened up. We flopped in the beautiful lobby in front of a welcoming fireplace, had tea and coffee, got books from their library and settled in nicely. Within a couple of hours (seemed like less as we really enjoyed the fire and the chairs in the lobby), we had our room overlooking the river.

Our room was spacious, clean and very well appointed. Very comfortable mattress. The sheets and towels, mats, etc. were all luxurious. There is a mini-fridge. We had plenty of room to spread out. All the soaps and amenities are excellent quality.

The lobby...if you couldn't tell we liked it! There is a nice coffee, tea and beverage area, plus the occasional trail mix goodies in the afternoon, and if that weren't enough, the manager's reception around 5:00 pm includes wine, beer and a featured drink. The lobby has a lot of artwork and is a pleasing and comfortable place to lounge.

There is a health club located about a block away from the hotel. It's a full service place with towels, locker room, cardio, racquetball, weights, the works. Just get a pass at the front desk and head out. There are also bikes (and helmets) available for the asking. For biking and running/jogging, there are excellent paths that parallel the river.

All the staff were friendly, helpful and cheerful. People are aware of what's going on and they make a real effort to not keep you waiting for anything. I'd say management is doing a great job, because this attitude pervades the whole staff. The entire hotel is clean and the use of attractive textiles, art, carpet and furnishings make this a really pleasing place to stay. The location is great as well with great views of the river, marinas and several nice restaurant choices within easy walking distance.

My wife and I love this hotel, and it is THE place to stay in Portland!

Room Tip: We really like the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwhallgren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Sorry we kept you waiting for your guestroom. I am relieved to hear we were able to get you nice and comfortable while our housekeeping staff performed their magic. From the sound of things everything went lovely with the stay, thanks for the review!

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I can't recommend this jewell of a hotel enough. From the moment we opened the door of the car for the valet parking until we checked out we were treated like royalty. All the employees were knowledgeable and more than happy to help with any of our needs. The room was super clean and more than comfortable. The wife and I consider ourselves foodies (Hate the term but you know what I mean) so we never eat at the hotel restaurants. Well due to a long day in town we decided to get a quick meal at the hotel. We came to find out that these guys take dining seriously.
We had shrimp that was just flown in from the gulf that was iodine free and just fantastic. I could go on and on but I think you can tell that we will go to a Klimpton again and again.

Room Tip: Get River view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Never pass up a Kimpton Hotel restaurant. Our company is unique where we let hoteliers manage the hotels while the restaurants are managed by food and beverage experts and Chef driven menus. Thanks for dining at 3 Degrees.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I just spent two nights here, love the view, ambiance, friendly and helpful staff. However, the room wasn't cleaned very well...light bulbs out in the bathroom, mildew on the shower curtain liner, for example and on the second day there, clean glasses were not put in the room, the hair dryer was not put away, coffee maker was not put away, Kleenex tissues not replaced, etc. and when we asked that the shower curtain liner be replaced, it was, and promptly, but during that process the bath mat was put on the floor and walked on and left on the floor so when we showered we didn't have a clean mat to use. Hopefully these issues will be addressed...I want to be able to return next time I am in Portland!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Wow I am so sorry to hear about your lack of housekeeping service. That isn't like us. I have shared your review with the Executive Housekeeper and these issues will certainly be addressed. I appreciate you bringing them to our attention and rest assure when you do return our service will be flawless.

Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#7 of 144 in Portland
2,867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#6 of 144 in Portland
1,414 reviews
Downtown
The Duniway Portland, a Hilton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#2 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range: $184 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, with complimentary wireless high speed Internet and DVD players. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing