We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful little place. ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Ranked #1 of 143 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A wonderful little place. ”
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

I went back and forth here on my rating because it's not a five star hotel in many ways. The bathroom is only average, and the room decor is pretty tacky. However, the stay was so relaxing and abrasion-free that I have to give it the full five. The staff here is top-notch. The bellman was always on the ready to get our car with a smile on his face. The waitress in the restaurant went above and beyond when she learned that our food was cold, bringing hot food immediately and apologizing profusely. The yoga class my mom took was friendly and good. Literally, everyone we encountered had the same dedication to hospitality, and it made a real impression. Additionally, the Internet here was faster and easier to access than the far more expensive and chichi places we stayed in during this trip -- a real bonus because work continues to exist while we are out of town.

On balance, the hotel earned the full five.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sjgjess1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We certainly appreciate the 5 stars especially coming from a top contributor! Thanks for all the kudos to the staff. I agree they are truly amazing.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,388
    242
    60
    14
    15
See reviews for
355
812
91
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stay here, or don't stay anywhere.

Okay, okay... don't sleep on the street if you can't get a reservation here, but if there's vacancy there's no other hotel you should consider over RiverPlace. It's has the best location, the best accommodations, the best (BEST) staff, and on and on and on.

I've spent 84 nights at RiverPlace over the course of the last year and a half or so due to work travels. These folks will take care of you, and will do anything in their power to ensure that you have a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Marina/River view is the best, but all rooms are pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amiller320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you Mr. Miller for the review! I can tell you that the staff loves you just as much as you love them. Thanks for the loyalty and your sense of humor. You are always a welcome guest here at the RP and I am so glad that we can take a little stress out of all that traveling that you do. I am sure we will see you soon.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Land O Lakes, Florida, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights last week. The room was spotless, roomy, and very comfortable. The lobby staff was very friendly and helpful. We attended the wine reception off of the lobby. The wines we could sample were delicious, and the tips were donated to a book charity for local children. The bellmen were also very friendly and helpful. There were good places to eat nearby, and it was fun to soak up the vibe along the river.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We appreciate the review and appreciate you donating to the Oregon Children Book Bank. Our Care Committee has done a wonderful job of teaming up with some local charities and our generous guest have really made an impact. If anyone is reading this review and coming to the hotel by July 1st it is not too late to donate a few children books at our front desk. All of the books donated go directly to families with children that cannot afford books. We look forward to having you again soon.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I travel to Portland frequently on business and look forward to my stays at the RiverPlace. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and all the rooms I've stayed in have a deep soking tub which I love. Everything is immaculately clean. The staff will bend over backwards to get you anything you need. The location can't be beat - right on the river with a lovely greenbelt for nice long walks or runs. You won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Chris, with comments like those we wouldn't want you to stay anywhere else. Lets do this again soon. Thanks for the awesome feedback.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Great property with fine amenities and a very attentive staff. It is well worth the cost based on the location, rooms, and service. My family stayed in the 2 bedroom suites (room 518), which was very spacious. Yes it is pricier, but was about equivalent to getting 2 rooms for 4 people. We used the 2 bedrooms and the pull out bed from the couch. It could even sleep more with a roll away in the closet. All the beds, even the pullout from the couch were very comfortable and warm. The air conditioning is very responsive and accurate for such a large area. The 2 bathrooms were also handy for 4 people. The full kitchen allowed us to eat simple breakfasts in the room and enjoy the view of the river, the bridge, and the marina. Also, they stock the room with wood and starter, so we made a fire each night and had smores that we ate on the wrap around balcony. With so much space and a table with 8 seats, we were able to host a graduation reception for 16 people without any problem.

The only problem I could see is that the room is right above the grill that happens on the weekend. The smoke from it might put off people, but we closed the windows and ran the air conditioning.

We love the location right on the water as we could access the running path around the bridges and water, which is about 2.5 to 3 miles. Also, it is walking distance to the downtown shopping area around Pioneer Square, the incredible saturday farmer's market at PSU, and the saturday market/bazaar down on the water.

The kids loved the bath robes. As a Kimpton InTouch member, we raided the bar for $10 and had some simple activities for the kids on the counter for us when we came in. Also, we enjoyed the 5 pm reception with complimentary wine, beer and snacks (popcorn and chocolate chip cookies). Lastly, they had free bicycle rentals -- 2 of which were Linus bicycles. We had a great time riding the 2.5 mile loop around the water.

Staff was lovely and very attentive. Parking is based on a valet, but they are very nice and very prompt even when they are busy. Truly kudos to the staff that went out of their way to allow us to check in a little bit earlier -- as soon as they could get the room clean, and allow us to check out a little later.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_otter_1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We stayed at RiverPlace for two nights in one of their condo-style river view 2B suites. While hardly luxurious, the suite was roomy, well-appointed and comfortable with a great view of the river. It is detached from the main hotel, which could be an issue for some guests but was fine for us. You could live in this unit for weeks at a time and be quite comfortable. The price was a great value for the the space, functionality, and location. The only criticism I have of the room itself is that the construction is exceedingly cheap -- hollow doors, etc. No big deal for a short stay and may not be the case in the main hotel rooms.

We found the hotel staff to be very warm, friendly, and approachable -- wonderful ambassadors for the city of Portland. The vibe is casual and active rather than sophisticated and formal. The hotel is located directly on the river along the parkway which makes it feel a little more peaceful than the other downtown hotels, while still being close to the action. The location makes it very easy to hop on one of their bikes to explore to to go for an early morning jog around the river. But, it is a bit of a walk or short drive to the Pearl District and the walkable dining destinations are more limited than what you'd find at a true downtown hotel. Still, I'd choose this hotel again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thanks for review! We are happy you enjoyed the vibe, the service, and the 2 bedroom Marina View Suite. We are currently working on making them a bit more luxurious with adding new sofas, wall covering, and new artwork. We hope you can come back and visit to checkout the changes soon.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

What a great place in downtown Portland. It is on the greenbelt adjacent to the river. It seems like it is a world away from downtown, looking out over the harbor through grass and trees. Reminded me of Central Park. Near some great restaurants (take a cab to "Tasty and Alder" and don't miss Voodoo Doughnuts). The staff is very friendly. The whole hotel (especially the rooms) has unique, beautiful furnishings (check out the website). I have traveled all over the world; this hotel in the middle of Portland really surprised me. I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The river side has the best views, but the other side, which is cheaper, also has a great park like...
See more room tips
Green Features: The whole city of Portland is environmentally friendly. This particular hotel in situated in a well manicured park that, I assume, is kept up by the hotel.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ryan K, General Manager at Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
I agree it does feel like a world away from downtown but don't forget we are only a few minute walk to get into the core of Portland. We are so lucky to be so close but yet so far away. Thanks for the love.

Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portland hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Vintage Portland
Downtown
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Portland
Hotel deLuxe
#3 of 143 in Portland
2,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Nines, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Portland
Downtown
Sentinel
Sentinel
#4 of 143 in Portland
1,383 reviews
Downtown
The Heathman Hotel
The Heathman Hotel
#25 of 143 in Portland
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel

Property: Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel
Address: 1510 SW Harbor Way, Portland, OR 97201-5105 (Formerly RiverPlace Hotel, A Larkspur Collection Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Portland > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Portland
#1 Business Hotel in Portland
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Family Hotel in Portland
#11 Green Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Tranquil. A landmark presence on the riverfront, Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel captures the innovative essence and intimate hospitality of the Pacific Northwest. A haven of warmth and tranquility, RiverPlace is a charming refuge located at the base of Portland's city center. Stay closely connected or blissfully removed - RiverPlace is an immersion in care, comfort and quality. The hotel offers personalized experiences tailored to guest's individual needs and interests, from complimentary wireless high speed Internet, DVD players and complimentary access to the Oregon Athletic Club at RiverPlace. Guests also enjoy our Three Degrees Waterfront Bar & Grill, one of the city's most popular spots. Everything about this restaurant feels welcoming and comfortable - including our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton RiverPlace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Collection Portland
Riverplace Hotel Larkspur Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing